When it comes to using mobile ordering to get fast food, Quebecers are behind the rest of Canada—it’s simply not one of their habits. So, McDonald’s wanted to promote its mobile ordering to show how easily a cell phone, via the My McD’s app, allows users to be two clicks away from picking up their favourite fast food. Using a trompe-l’oeil effect, we discover three first-person points of view where a Quarter Pounder, a McMuffin and a McCafé have never been both so real and so virtual at the same time.
Today we look at 29 premium fonts from Envato Elements and GraphicRiver that best capture the heavy metal aesthetic. Check them out and be inspired!
Best Source for Heavy Metal Fonts (Unlimited Downloads)
If you’re looking for high-quality metal fonts, then Envato Elements should be your first stop. It offers a wide selection of terrific metal fonts to suit just about every project.
What’s more, you can download as manyfonts as you want for one low monthly price. And if you’re in the market for other resources like templates, icons, and other graphics, they’re also included under that monthly price.
Let’s take a look at some of the awesome metal lettering fonts you can find at Envato Elements.
What better way to start off our list than with this gorgeous gothic font? Use it to create stunning album covers, posters, or T-shirts. The font includes uppercase, lowercase, punctuation, and international characters.
Looking for a metal lettering font for an album cover or a T-shirt with a bit of a twist? Then check out this tattoo lettering font. It includes uppercase and lowercase characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes, and alternate characters. A great choice for those who want to differentiate themselves from the pack.
Take your project to the next level with this gothic blackletter font. Ideal for signatures, logos, handwritten quotes, product packaging, headers, etc. The font includes uppercase, lowercase and alternative characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, and swashes, giving you loads of options for customising your text to make it look just how you want it to.
This black metal font is inspired by the black metal style crossed with the horror movie genre. It’s an excellent choice for posters, album covers, flyers, merchandise, etc.
Looking for a super cool metal lettering font to grace your new poster? Take a look at this rock and metal inspired typeface with its clever combination of angular shapes and curved edges. It includes uppercase letters, numbers, and punctuation, and you can toggle the caps lock to use the alternate letters.
This gothic blackletter font is a bit of a restrained version of the metal look, but still works well for those looking to capture the spirit of the genre in their work. The font, which also captures elements of old English fonts with its calligraphic style, can be used to create beautiful and eye-catching branding materials, business cards, posters, and more!
This brush and hand-drawn font manages to capture an air of menace with its knife-like pointed edges, making it great for those looking for metal band fonts for their album covers. This energetic font would also work well on T-shirt or poster projects, horror movie titles and credits, and for certain kinds of branding.
If you’re working on a metal-themed design and want to ramp up the gothic twist, try this tattoo lettering font. It would work well for motorbike-themed T-shirt designs, custom tattoo lettering, sports logos, etc.
This gothic blackletter font is a perfect choice for those looking for a metal band font. It combines elements from many different letters and time periods and features wispy terminals, flamboyant caps, and the use of negative space to create contrast and interest. Users of the Cyrillic alphabet will be happy to know that this font includes Cyrillic characters.
This angular tattoo lettering font retains a bit of the gothic touch, making it a great choice for those wanting to bring a bit of the heavy metal font style to their projects.
If you’re in the market for something extra special, then this font, which combines characteristics of gothic blackletter fonts and tattoo lettering fonts, may be the perfect fit. This beautiful, ornate font may not be the easiest to read, but it will get you attention and make you stand apart from the crowd.
Looking for a metal lettering font to use on your album cover or poster? Check out this gothic font with a bit of vintage blackletter vibe. It includes the basic set of uppercase Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
Another gorgeous gothic blackletter font that combines elements of tattoo lettering fonts. Use this typeface sparingly for headings or titles or logos when you want to make a statement. The font includes uppercase Latin characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes, and alternate characters, so that you can create a distinctive look that’s all your own.
This is a bit of a departure from the styles we have featured here so far, but we wanted to give you as many options as possible for creating a metal band font. This font is one that might combine well with one of the others here to be used on labels, clothing, movie titles, etc.
A vintage gothic font that’s an excellent choice for book titles, video games, albums, etc. This solid bold typeface includes basic Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
This gothic font combines elements of old English fonts and tattoo lettering fonts to create a wonderfully dynamic and eye-catching font. The set, which includes upper and lower case letters, also contains over 525 glyphs so that you can create truly unique and interesting text.
This gorgeous typeface, which includes elements of old English fonts, is inspired by the old American advertisement letters. A great metal band font for album covers, tattoos, posters, etc.
The eye-catching typeface would work very well for those looking for death metal fonts or black metal fonts for a new album cover. The set includes uppercase and lowercase characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes and alternate characters, and tons of unique glyphs that allow you to create your own unique text for your next project.
The perfect font for those looking for death metal fonts or black metal fonts for their next project. This bold display font uses the language of the occult to introduce a sense of horror. The font just includes uppercase Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
Whether you’re looking for a heavy metal font or a tattoo lettering font for a movie poster, T-shirt, or album cover, you just can’t go wrong with this terrific vintage-styled typeface. With its beautiful swashes that create a terrific stylised effect, all eyes will be on your text when you use this font.
Add a touch of the old English font style to your heavy metal album when you use this typeface. This handmade font would also look great on posters and can be used for logos, headers, and titles.
Looking for something a bit different? Try this decorative font, which incorporates elements of gothic fonts to create a look that is interesting and unique. Not traditionally what you think of as a heavy metal font, but therein lies its strength. You will certainly set yourself apart from the crowd when you use this font in your projects.
Well, you’ve seen it here first, folks. This is what would happen if blackletter typography and Asian calligraphy had a baby. This intriguing font may raise some eyebrows when you apply it to your metal album cover, but who knows—you may start a trend.
Best Source for Heavy Metal Fonts (Buy One at a Time)
If you’re just interested in purchasing just one heavy metal font instead of experimenting with several, then GraphicRiver may be a better choice for you than Elements. You can download a single font for one-time use for a low fee. Let’s take a look at some of the top-quality offerings there.
One of the most gorgeous fonts featured here, this gothic font is for those who are looking for a typeface to make their text stand out. Mix uppercase and lowercase letters and add ligatures, swashes, and stylistic alternates to create text that is truly one of a kind.
The perfect font for those metal fans looking for death metal fonts and or black metal fonts, this typeface combines elements of gothic fonts and the horror genre to create a font with a high scare factor. The font comes with a full set of upper and lowercase characters, numbers, and punctuation. Use it to create album covers, posters, T-shirts, etc.
This gothic font style has some charming characteristics which you may not at first associate with metal but, styled in the right way, this interesting display font could give your projects that interesting edginess you’re after.
This gothic blackletter font allows you to create unique titles by using a mixture of upper and lowercase characters and alternative glyphs. Keep experimenting with the font until you’ve created a look for your project that is uniquely yours.
Use this tattoo lettering font to create your next poster, T-shirt, or metal band album cover. It’s a bit of an unconventional choice but, as you’ve seen in this list, we rather favour unconventional choices. They potentially add intrigue and surprise to your projects, which is a good thing indeed.
Choose Your Favourite Heavy Metal Font Today
This is just a small sample of the awesome metal font styles available at Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. So if you haven’t found just the right one for you here, head on over to both sites and have a browse to find one that suits your needs.
By the way, if you’re looking for other cool fonts, check out these great articles on the other kinds of font selections available at both sites:
In this tutorial, you will learn how to create a sparkle overlay effect Photoshop action. I will explain everything in so much detail that everyone can create it, even those who have just opened Photoshop for the first time.
The effect shown above is the one I will show you how to create in this tutorial. If you would like to create the even more advanced magic dust effects below, using just a single click and in only a few minutes, then check out my Magic Dust 2 Photoshop Action.
First, open the photo that you want to work with. To open your photo, go to File > Open, choose your photo, and click Open. Now, before we get started, just check a couple of things:
Your photo should be in RGB Color mode, 8 Bits/Channel. To check this, go to Image > Mode.
For best results, your photo size should be 2000–3000 px wide/high. To check this, go to Image > Image Size.
Your photo should be the Background layer. If it is not, go to Layer > New > Background from Layer.
2. How to Create the Sparkles Brush
Step 1
In this section, we are going to create the brush that we will need for this effect. Choose the Brush Tool (B) and pick a soft brush. Then, go to Window > Brush and in the Brush window use the settings below:
Step 2
Now to define this brush with new settings as a new brush, click on the top right icon in the bottom right corner of the Brush panel, and name it Sparkles.
3. How to Create the Sparkles
Step 1
In this section we are going to create the sparkles. Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Small_1.
Step 2
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 10 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 3
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Small_2. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Small_1 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 4
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 10 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 5
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Medium_1. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Small_2 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 6
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 35 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 7
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Medium_2. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Medium_1 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 8
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 35 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 9
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Large_1. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Medium_2 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 10
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 50 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 11
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Large_1. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Large_1 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 12
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 75 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 13
Select the Sparkles_Small_1 layer, go to Layer > New Fill Layer > Solid Color to create a new solid color fill layer, name it SS_1_Color, and choose the color #eea815 as shown below:
Step 14
Now press Control-Alt-G on your keyboard to create a clipping mask. Then, select the Sparkles_Small_1 layer and change the Blending Mode of this layer to Linear Dodge (Add).
Step 15
Select the SS_1_Color layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, drag this layer just above the Sparkles_Medium_1 layer in the Layers panel. After that, press Control-Alt-G on your keyboard to create a clipping mask.
Step 16
Now name this layer SM_1_Color. Then, select the Sparkles_Medium_1 layer and change the Blending Mode of this layer to Linear Dodge (Add).
Step 17
Select the SM_1_Color layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, drag this layer just above the Sparkles_Large_1 layer in the Layers panel. After that, press Control-Alt-G on your keyboard to create a clipping mask.
Step 18
Now name this layer SL_1_Color. Then, select the Sparkles_Large_1 layer
and change the Blending Mode of this layer to Linear Dodge (Add).
Step 19
Select the SS_1_Color layer and Shift-click on the Sparkles_Large_2 layer to select all layers between. Then, go to Layer > New > Group from Layers to create a new group from the selected layers and name it Sparkles.
4. How to Create the Focus
Step 1
In this section, we are going to create the focus. Select the Background layer, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Levels to create a new levels adjustment layer, and name it Focus_1.
Step 2
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and, in the Properties panel, use the settings below:
Step 3
Choose the Brush Tool (B), pick a soft brush, set the foreground color to #000000, and brush as shown below:
Step 4
Now select the Background layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the Radius to 10 px.
Step 5
Go to Layer > Layer Mask > Reveal All to add a layer mask that reveals the whole layer.
Step 6
Choose the Brush Tool (B), pick a soft brush, set the foreground color to #000000, and brush as shown below:
Step 7
Now name this layer Focus_2.
5. How to Make the Final Adjustments
Step 1
In this section, we are going to make final adjustments to the design. Select the Sparkles folder, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Curves to create a new curves adjustment layer, and name it Color Look.
Step 2
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and in the Properties panel enter the settings below:
Step 3
Press D on your keyboard to reset the swatches. Then, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Gradient Map to create a new gradient map adjustment layer and name it Overall Contrast.
Step 4
Now change the Blending Mode of this layer to Overlay and set the Opacity to 10%.
Step 5
Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Vibrance to create a new vibrance adjustment layer and name it Overall Vibrance/Saturation.
Step 6
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and in the Properties panel, set the Vibrance to +10 and the Saturation to +5.
Step 7
Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Levels to create a new levels adjustment layer and name it Overall Brightness.
Step 8
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and in the Properties panel enter the settings below:
Step 9
Press Control-Alt-Shift-E on your keyboard to make a screenshot, and then press Control-Shift-U to desaturate this layer. Then, go to Filter > Other > High Pass and set the Radius to 2 px.
Step 10
Change the Blending Mode of this layer to Vivid Light and set the Opacity to 50%. Then, name this layer Overall Sharpening.
You Made It!
Congratulations, you have succeeded! Here is our final result:
If you would like to create the even more advanced magic dust effects
below, using just a single click and in only a few minutes, then check
out my Magic Dust 2 Photoshop Action.
The
action works so you simply draw a path over your photo where you want the effect to appear and just
play the action. It’s really that simple! The sparkles remain fully layered, and you have full control over them to customize them—you can move, scale, or rotate them, remove them, or
duplicate them to create even more sparkles! The action
will also create 15 preset color looks that you can choose from.
The action comes with a detailed video tutorial that demonstrates how to use the action and customize the results to get the most out of the effect.
Today we look at 29 premium fonts from Envato Elements and GraphicRiver that best capture the heavy metal aesthetic. Check them out and be inspired!
Best Source for Heavy Metal Fonts (Unlimited Downloads)
If you’re looking for high-quality metal fonts, then Envato Elements should be your first stop. It offers a wide selection of terrific metal fonts to suit just about every project.
What’s more, you can download as manyfonts as you want for one low monthly price. And if you’re in the market for other resources like templates, icons, and other graphics, they’re also included under that monthly price.
Let’s take a look at some of the awesome metal lettering fonts you can find at Envato Elements.
What better way to start off our list than with this gorgeous gothic font? Use it to create stunning album covers, posters, or T-shirts. The font includes uppercase, lowercase, punctuation, and international characters.
Looking for a metal lettering font for an album cover or a T-shirt with a bit of a twist? Then check out this tattoo lettering font. It includes uppercase and lowercase characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes, and alternate characters. A great choice for those who want to differentiate themselves from the pack.
Take your project to the next level with this gothic blackletter font. Ideal for signatures, logos, handwritten quotes, product packaging, headers, etc. The font includes uppercase, lowercase and alternative characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, and swashes, giving you loads of options for customising your text to make it look just how you want it to.
This black metal font is inspired by the black metal style crossed with the horror movie genre. It’s an excellent choice for posters, album covers, flyers, merchandise, etc.
Looking for a super cool metal lettering font to grace your new poster? Take a look at this rock and metal inspired typeface with its clever combination of angular shapes and curved edges. It includes uppercase letters, numbers, and punctuation, and you can toggle the caps lock to use the alternate letters.
This gothic blackletter font is a bit of a restrained version of the metal look, but still works well for those looking to capture the spirit of the genre in their work. The font, which also captures elements of old English fonts with its calligraphic style, can be used to create beautiful and eye-catching branding materials, business cards, posters, and more!
This brush and hand-drawn font manages to capture an air of menace with its knife-like pointed edges, making it great for those looking for metal band fonts for their album covers. This energetic font would also work well on T-shirt or poster projects, horror movie titles and credits, and for certain kinds of branding.
If you’re working on a metal-themed design and want to ramp up the gothic twist, try this tattoo lettering font. It would work well for motorbike-themed T-shirt designs, custom tattoo lettering, sports logos, etc.
This gothic blackletter font is a perfect choice for those looking for a metal band font. It combines elements from many different letters and time periods and features wispy terminals, flamboyant caps, and the use of negative space to create contrast and interest. Users of the Cyrillic alphabet will be happy to know that this font includes Cyrillic characters.
This angular tattoo lettering font retains a bit of the gothic touch, making it a great choice for those wanting to bring a bit of the heavy metal font style to their projects.
If you’re in the market for something extra special, then this font, which combines characteristics of gothic blackletter fonts and tattoo lettering fonts, may be the perfect fit. This beautiful, ornate font may not be the easiest to read, but it will get you attention and make you stand apart from the crowd.
Looking for a metal lettering font to use on your album cover or poster? Check out this gothic font with a bit of vintage blackletter vibe. It includes the basic set of uppercase Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
Another gorgeous gothic blackletter font that combines elements of tattoo lettering fonts. Use this typeface sparingly for headings or titles or logos when you want to make a statement. The font includes uppercase Latin characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes, and alternate characters, so that you can create a distinctive look that’s all your own.
This is a bit of a departure from the styles we have featured here so far, but we wanted to give you as many options as possible for creating a metal band font. This font is one that might combine well with one of the others here to be used on labels, clothing, movie titles, etc.
A vintage gothic font that’s an excellent choice for book titles, video games, albums, etc. This solid bold typeface includes basic Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
This gothic font combines elements of old English fonts and tattoo lettering fonts to create a wonderfully dynamic and eye-catching font. The set, which includes upper and lower case letters, also contains over 525 glyphs so that you can create truly unique and interesting text.
This gorgeous typeface, which includes elements of old English fonts, is inspired by the old American advertisement letters. A great metal band font for album covers, tattoos, posters, etc.
The eye-catching typeface would work very well for those looking for death metal fonts or black metal fonts for a new album cover. The set includes uppercase and lowercase characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes and alternate characters, and tons of unique glyphs that allow you to create your own unique text for your next project.
The perfect font for those looking for death metal fonts or black metal fonts for their next project. This bold display font uses the language of the occult to introduce a sense of horror. The font just includes uppercase Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
Whether you’re looking for a heavy metal font or a tattoo lettering font for a movie poster, T-shirt, or album cover, you just can’t go wrong with this terrific vintage-styled typeface. With its beautiful swashes that create a terrific stylised effect, all eyes will be on your text when you use this font.
Add a touch of the old English font style to your heavy metal album when you use this typeface. This handmade font would also look great on posters and can be used for logos, headers, and titles.
Looking for something a bit different? Try this decorative font, which incorporates elements of gothic fonts to create a look that is interesting and unique. Not traditionally what you think of as a heavy metal font, but therein lies its strength. You will certainly set yourself apart from the crowd when you use this font in your projects.
Well, you’ve seen it here first, folks. This is what would happen if blackletter typography and Asian calligraphy had a baby. This intriguing font may raise some eyebrows when you apply it to your metal album cover, but who knows—you may start a trend.
Best Source for Heavy Metal Fonts (Buy One at a Time)
If you’re just interested in purchasing just one heavy metal font instead of experimenting with several, then GraphicRiver may be a better choice for you than Elements. You can download a single font for one-time use for a low fee. Let’s take a look at some of the top-quality offerings there.
One of the most gorgeous fonts featured here, this gothic font is for those who are looking for a typeface to make their text stand out. Mix uppercase and lowercase letters and add ligatures, swashes, and stylistic alternates to create text that is truly one of a kind.
The perfect font for those metal fans looking for death metal fonts and or black metal fonts, this typeface combines elements of gothic fonts and the horror genre to create a font with a high scare factor. The font comes with a full set of upper and lowercase characters, numbers, and punctuation. Use it to create album covers, posters, T-shirts, etc.
This gothic font style has some charming characteristics which you may not at first associate with metal but, styled in the right way, this interesting display font could give your projects that interesting edginess you’re after.
This gothic blackletter font allows you to create unique titles by using a mixture of upper and lowercase characters and alternative glyphs. Keep experimenting with the font until you’ve created a look for your project that is uniquely yours.
Use this tattoo lettering font to create your next poster, T-shirt, or metal band album cover. It’s a bit of an unconventional choice but, as you’ve seen in this list, we rather favour unconventional choices. They potentially add intrigue and surprise to your projects, which is a good thing indeed.
Choose Your Favourite Heavy Metal Font Today
This is just a small sample of the awesome metal font styles available at Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. So if you haven’t found just the right one for you here, head on over to both sites and have a browse to find one that suits your needs.
By the way, if you’re looking for other cool fonts, check out these great articles on the other kinds of font selections available at both sites:
In this tutorial, you will learn how to create a sparkle overlay effect Photoshop action. I will explain everything in so much detail that everyone can create it, even those who have just opened Photoshop for the first time.
The effect shown above is the one I will show you how to create in this tutorial. If you would like to create the even more advanced magic dust effects below, using just a single click and in only a few minutes, then check out my Magic Dust 2 Photoshop Action.
First, open the photo that you want to work with. To open your photo, go to File > Open, choose your photo, and click Open. Now, before we get started, just check a couple of things:
Your photo should be in RGB Color mode, 8 Bits/Channel. To check this, go to Image > Mode.
For best results, your photo size should be 2000–3000 px wide/high. To check this, go to Image > Image Size.
Your photo should be the Background layer. If it is not, go to Layer > New > Background from Layer.
2. How to Create the Sparkles Brush
Step 1
In this section, we are going to create the brush that we will need for this effect. Choose the Brush Tool (B) and pick a soft brush. Then, go to Window > Brush and in the Brush window use the settings below:
Step 2
Now to define this brush with new settings as a new brush, click on the top right icon in the bottom right corner of the Brush panel, and name it Sparkles.
3. How to Create the Sparkles
Step 1
In this section we are going to create the sparkles. Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Small_1.
Step 2
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 10 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 3
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Small_2. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Small_1 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 4
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 10 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 5
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Medium_1. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Small_2 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 6
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 35 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 7
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Medium_2. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Medium_1 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 8
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 35 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 9
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Large_1. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Medium_2 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 10
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 50 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 11
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Large_1. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Large_1 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 12
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 75 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 13
Select the Sparkles_Small_1 layer, go to Layer > New Fill Layer > Solid Color to create a new solid color fill layer, name it SS_1_Color, and choose the color #eea815 as shown below:
Step 14
Now press Control-Alt-G on your keyboard to create a clipping mask. Then, select the Sparkles_Small_1 layer and change the Blending Mode of this layer to Linear Dodge (Add).
Step 15
Select the SS_1_Color layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, drag this layer just above the Sparkles_Medium_1 layer in the Layers panel. After that, press Control-Alt-G on your keyboard to create a clipping mask.
Step 16
Now name this layer SM_1_Color. Then, select the Sparkles_Medium_1 layer and change the Blending Mode of this layer to Linear Dodge (Add).
Step 17
Select the SM_1_Color layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, drag this layer just above the Sparkles_Large_1 layer in the Layers panel. After that, press Control-Alt-G on your keyboard to create a clipping mask.
Step 18
Now name this layer SL_1_Color. Then, select the Sparkles_Large_1 layer
and change the Blending Mode of this layer to Linear Dodge (Add).
Step 19
Select the SS_1_Color layer and Shift-click on the Sparkles_Large_2 layer to select all layers between. Then, go to Layer > New > Group from Layers to create a new group from the selected layers and name it Sparkles.
4. How to Create the Focus
Step 1
In this section, we are going to create the focus. Select the Background layer, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Levels to create a new levels adjustment layer, and name it Focus_1.
Step 2
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and, in the Properties panel, use the settings below:
Step 3
Choose the Brush Tool (B), pick a soft brush, set the foreground color to #000000, and brush as shown below:
Step 4
Now select the Background layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the Radius to 10 px.
Step 5
Go to Layer > Layer Mask > Reveal All to add a layer mask that reveals the whole layer.
Step 6
Choose the Brush Tool (B), pick a soft brush, set the foreground color to #000000, and brush as shown below:
Step 7
Now name this layer Focus_2.
5. How to Make the Final Adjustments
Step 1
In this section, we are going to make final adjustments to the design. Select the Sparkles folder, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Curves to create a new curves adjustment layer, and name it Color Look.
Step 2
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and in the Properties panel enter the settings below:
Step 3
Press D on your keyboard to reset the swatches. Then, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Gradient Map to create a new gradient map adjustment layer and name it Overall Contrast.
Step 4
Now change the Blending Mode of this layer to Overlay and set the Opacity to 10%.
Step 5
Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Vibrance to create a new vibrance adjustment layer and name it Overall Vibrance/Saturation.
Step 6
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and in the Properties panel, set the Vibrance to +10 and the Saturation to +5.
Step 7
Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Levels to create a new levels adjustment layer and name it Overall Brightness.
Step 8
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and in the Properties panel enter the settings below:
Step 9
Press Control-Alt-Shift-E on your keyboard to make a screenshot, and then press Control-Shift-U to desaturate this layer. Then, go to Filter > Other > High Pass and set the Radius to 2 px.
Step 10
Change the Blending Mode of this layer to Vivid Light and set the Opacity to 50%. Then, name this layer Overall Sharpening.
You Made It!
Congratulations, you have succeeded! Here is our final result:
If you would like to create the even more advanced magic dust effects
below, using just a single click and in only a few minutes, then check
out my Magic Dust 2 Photoshop Action.
The
action works so you simply draw a path over your photo where you want the effect to appear and just
play the action. It’s really that simple! The sparkles remain fully layered, and you have full control over them to customize them—you can move, scale, or rotate them, remove them, or
duplicate them to create even more sparkles! The action
will also create 15 preset color looks that you can choose from.
The action comes with a detailed video tutorial that demonstrates how to use the action and customize the results to get the most out of the effect.
Today we look at 29 premium fonts from Envato Elements and GraphicRiver that best capture the heavy metal aesthetic. Check them out and be inspired!
Best Source for Heavy Metal Fonts (Unlimited Downloads)
If you’re looking for high-quality metal fonts, then Envato Elements should be your first stop. It offers a wide selection of terrific metal fonts to suit just about every project.
What’s more, you can download as manyfonts as you want for one low monthly price. And if you’re in the market for other resources like templates, icons, and other graphics, they’re also included under that monthly price.
Let’s take a look at some of the awesome metal lettering fonts you can find at Envato Elements.
What better way to start off our list than with this gorgeous gothic font? Use it to create stunning album covers, posters, or T-shirts. The font includes uppercase, lowercase, punctuation, and international characters.
Looking for a metal lettering font for an album cover or a T-shirt with a bit of a twist? Then check out this tattoo lettering font. It includes uppercase and lowercase characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes, and alternate characters. A great choice for those who want to differentiate themselves from the pack.
Take your project to the next level with this gothic blackletter font. Ideal for signatures, logos, handwritten quotes, product packaging, headers, etc. The font includes uppercase, lowercase and alternative characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, and swashes, giving you loads of options for customising your text to make it look just how you want it to.
This black metal font is inspired by the black metal style crossed with the horror movie genre. It’s an excellent choice for posters, album covers, flyers, merchandise, etc.
Looking for a super cool metal lettering font to grace your new poster? Take a look at this rock and metal inspired typeface with its clever combination of angular shapes and curved edges. It includes uppercase letters, numbers, and punctuation, and you can toggle the caps lock to use the alternate letters.
This gothic blackletter font is a bit of a restrained version of the metal look, but still works well for those looking to capture the spirit of the genre in their work. The font, which also captures elements of old English fonts with its calligraphic style, can be used to create beautiful and eye-catching branding materials, business cards, posters, and more!
This brush and hand-drawn font manages to capture an air of menace with its knife-like pointed edges, making it great for those looking for metal band fonts for their album covers. This energetic font would also work well on T-shirt or poster projects, horror movie titles and credits, and for certain kinds of branding.
If you’re working on a metal-themed design and want to ramp up the gothic twist, try this tattoo lettering font. It would work well for motorbike-themed T-shirt designs, custom tattoo lettering, sports logos, etc.
This gothic blackletter font is a perfect choice for those looking for a metal band font. It combines elements from many different letters and time periods and features wispy terminals, flamboyant caps, and the use of negative space to create contrast and interest. Users of the Cyrillic alphabet will be happy to know that this font includes Cyrillic characters.
This angular tattoo lettering font retains a bit of the gothic touch, making it a great choice for those wanting to bring a bit of the heavy metal font style to their projects.
If you’re in the market for something extra special, then this font, which combines characteristics of gothic blackletter fonts and tattoo lettering fonts, may be the perfect fit. This beautiful, ornate font may not be the easiest to read, but it will get you attention and make you stand apart from the crowd.
Looking for a metal lettering font to use on your album cover or poster? Check out this gothic font with a bit of vintage blackletter vibe. It includes the basic set of uppercase Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
Another gorgeous gothic blackletter font that combines elements of tattoo lettering fonts. Use this typeface sparingly for headings or titles or logos when you want to make a statement. The font includes uppercase Latin characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes, and alternate characters, so that you can create a distinctive look that’s all your own.
This is a bit of a departure from the styles we have featured here so far, but we wanted to give you as many options as possible for creating a metal band font. This font is one that might combine well with one of the others here to be used on labels, clothing, movie titles, etc.
A vintage gothic font that’s an excellent choice for book titles, video games, albums, etc. This solid bold typeface includes basic Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
This gothic font combines elements of old English fonts and tattoo lettering fonts to create a wonderfully dynamic and eye-catching font. The set, which includes upper and lower case letters, also contains over 525 glyphs so that you can create truly unique and interesting text.
This gorgeous typeface, which includes elements of old English fonts, is inspired by the old American advertisement letters. A great metal band font for album covers, tattoos, posters, etc.
The eye-catching typeface would work very well for those looking for death metal fonts or black metal fonts for a new album cover. The set includes uppercase and lowercase characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes and alternate characters, and tons of unique glyphs that allow you to create your own unique text for your next project.
The perfect font for those looking for death metal fonts or black metal fonts for their next project. This bold display font uses the language of the occult to introduce a sense of horror. The font just includes uppercase Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
Whether you’re looking for a heavy metal font or a tattoo lettering font for a movie poster, T-shirt, or album cover, you just can’t go wrong with this terrific vintage-styled typeface. With its beautiful swashes that create a terrific stylised effect, all eyes will be on your text when you use this font.
Add a touch of the old English font style to your heavy metal album when you use this typeface. This handmade font would also look great on posters and can be used for logos, headers, and titles.
Looking for something a bit different? Try this decorative font, which incorporates elements of gothic fonts to create a look that is interesting and unique. Not traditionally what you think of as a heavy metal font, but therein lies its strength. You will certainly set yourself apart from the crowd when you use this font in your projects.
Well, you’ve seen it here first, folks. This is what would happen if blackletter typography and Asian calligraphy had a baby. This intriguing font may raise some eyebrows when you apply it to your metal album cover, but who knows—you may start a trend.
Best Source for Heavy Metal Fonts (Buy One at a Time)
If you’re just interested in purchasing just one heavy metal font instead of experimenting with several, then GraphicRiver may be a better choice for you than Elements. You can download a single font for one-time use for a low fee. Let’s take a look at some of the top-quality offerings there.
One of the most gorgeous fonts featured here, this gothic font is for those who are looking for a typeface to make their text stand out. Mix uppercase and lowercase letters and add ligatures, swashes, and stylistic alternates to create text that is truly one of a kind.
The perfect font for those metal fans looking for death metal fonts and or black metal fonts, this typeface combines elements of gothic fonts and the horror genre to create a font with a high scare factor. The font comes with a full set of upper and lowercase characters, numbers, and punctuation. Use it to create album covers, posters, T-shirts, etc.
This gothic font style has some charming characteristics which you may not at first associate with metal but, styled in the right way, this interesting display font could give your projects that interesting edginess you’re after.
This gothic blackletter font allows you to create unique titles by using a mixture of upper and lowercase characters and alternative glyphs. Keep experimenting with the font until you’ve created a look for your project that is uniquely yours.
Use this tattoo lettering font to create your next poster, T-shirt, or metal band album cover. It’s a bit of an unconventional choice but, as you’ve seen in this list, we rather favour unconventional choices. They potentially add intrigue and surprise to your projects, which is a good thing indeed.
Choose Your Favourite Heavy Metal Font Today
This is just a small sample of the awesome metal font styles available at Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. So if you haven’t found just the right one for you here, head on over to both sites and have a browse to find one that suits your needs.
By the way, if you’re looking for other cool fonts, check out these great articles on the other kinds of font selections available at both sites:
Today we look at 29 premium fonts from Envato Elements and GraphicRiver that best capture the heavy metal aesthetic. Check them out and be inspired!
Best Source for Heavy Metal Fonts (Unlimited Downloads)
If you’re looking for high-quality metal fonts, then Envato Elements should be your first stop. It offers a wide selection of terrific metal fonts to suit just about every project.
What’s more, you can download as manyfonts as you want for one low monthly price. And if you’re in the market for other resources like templates, icons, and other graphics, they’re also included under that monthly price.
Let’s take a look at some of the awesome metal lettering fonts you can find at Envato Elements.
What better way to start off our list than with this gorgeous gothic font? Use it to create stunning album covers, posters, or T-shirts. The font includes uppercase, lowercase, punctuation, and international characters.
Looking for a metal lettering font for an album cover or a T-shirt with a bit of a twist? Then check out this tattoo lettering font. It includes uppercase and lowercase characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes, and alternate characters. A great choice for those who want to differentiate themselves from the pack.
Take your project to the next level with this gothic blackletter font. Ideal for signatures, logos, handwritten quotes, product packaging, headers, etc. The font includes uppercase, lowercase and alternative characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, and swashes, giving you loads of options for customising your text to make it look just how you want it to.
This black metal font is inspired by the black metal style crossed with the horror movie genre. It’s an excellent choice for posters, album covers, flyers, merchandise, etc.
Looking for a super cool metal lettering font to grace your new poster? Take a look at this rock and metal inspired typeface with its clever combination of angular shapes and curved edges. It includes uppercase letters, numbers, and punctuation, and you can toggle the caps lock to use the alternate letters.
This gothic blackletter font is a bit of a restrained version of the metal look, but still works well for those looking to capture the spirit of the genre in their work. The font, which also captures elements of old English fonts with its calligraphic style, can be used to create beautiful and eye-catching branding materials, business cards, posters, and more!
This brush and hand-drawn font manages to capture an air of menace with its knife-like pointed edges, making it great for those looking for metal band fonts for their album covers. This energetic font would also work well on T-shirt or poster projects, horror movie titles and credits, and for certain kinds of branding.
If you’re working on a metal-themed design and want to ramp up the gothic twist, try this tattoo lettering font. It would work well for motorbike-themed T-shirt designs, custom tattoo lettering, sports logos, etc.
This gothic blackletter font is a perfect choice for those looking for a metal band font. It combines elements from many different letters and time periods and features wispy terminals, flamboyant caps, and the use of negative space to create contrast and interest. Users of the Cyrillic alphabet will be happy to know that this font includes Cyrillic characters.
This angular tattoo lettering font retains a bit of the gothic touch, making it a great choice for those wanting to bring a bit of the heavy metal font style to their projects.
If you’re in the market for something extra special, then this font, which combines characteristics of gothic blackletter fonts and tattoo lettering fonts, may be the perfect fit. This beautiful, ornate font may not be the easiest to read, but it will get you attention and make you stand apart from the crowd.
Looking for a metal lettering font to use on your album cover or poster? Check out this gothic font with a bit of vintage blackletter vibe. It includes the basic set of uppercase Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
Another gorgeous gothic blackletter font that combines elements of tattoo lettering fonts. Use this typeface sparingly for headings or titles or logos when you want to make a statement. The font includes uppercase Latin characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes, and alternate characters, so that you can create a distinctive look that’s all your own.
This is a bit of a departure from the styles we have featured here so far, but we wanted to give you as many options as possible for creating a metal band font. This font is one that might combine well with one of the others here to be used on labels, clothing, movie titles, etc.
A vintage gothic font that’s an excellent choice for book titles, video games, albums, etc. This solid bold typeface includes basic Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
This gothic font combines elements of old English fonts and tattoo lettering fonts to create a wonderfully dynamic and eye-catching font. The set, which includes upper and lower case letters, also contains over 525 glyphs so that you can create truly unique and interesting text.
This gorgeous typeface, which includes elements of old English fonts, is inspired by the old American advertisement letters. A great metal band font for album covers, tattoos, posters, etc.
The eye-catching typeface would work very well for those looking for death metal fonts or black metal fonts for a new album cover. The set includes uppercase and lowercase characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes and alternate characters, and tons of unique glyphs that allow you to create your own unique text for your next project.
The perfect font for those looking for death metal fonts or black metal fonts for their next project. This bold display font uses the language of the occult to introduce a sense of horror. The font just includes uppercase Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
Whether you’re looking for a heavy metal font or a tattoo lettering font for a movie poster, T-shirt, or album cover, you just can’t go wrong with this terrific vintage-styled typeface. With its beautiful swashes that create a terrific stylised effect, all eyes will be on your text when you use this font.
Add a touch of the old English font style to your heavy metal album when you use this typeface. This handmade font would also look great on posters and can be used for logos, headers, and titles.
Looking for something a bit different? Try this decorative font, which incorporates elements of gothic fonts to create a look that is interesting and unique. Not traditionally what you think of as a heavy metal font, but therein lies its strength. You will certainly set yourself apart from the crowd when you use this font in your projects.
Well, you’ve seen it here first, folks. This is what would happen if blackletter typography and Asian calligraphy had a baby. This intriguing font may raise some eyebrows when you apply it to your metal album cover, but who knows—you may start a trend.
Best Source for Heavy Metal Fonts (Buy One at a Time)
If you’re just interested in purchasing just one heavy metal font instead of experimenting with several, then GraphicRiver may be a better choice for you than Elements. You can download a single font for one-time use for a low fee. Let’s take a look at some of the top-quality offerings there.
One of the most gorgeous fonts featured here, this gothic font is for those who are looking for a typeface to make their text stand out. Mix uppercase and lowercase letters and add ligatures, swashes, and stylistic alternates to create text that is truly one of a kind.
The perfect font for those metal fans looking for death metal fonts and or black metal fonts, this typeface combines elements of gothic fonts and the horror genre to create a font with a high scare factor. The font comes with a full set of upper and lowercase characters, numbers, and punctuation. Use it to create album covers, posters, T-shirts, etc.
This gothic font style has some charming characteristics which you may not at first associate with metal but, styled in the right way, this interesting display font could give your projects that interesting edginess you’re after.
This gothic blackletter font allows you to create unique titles by using a mixture of upper and lowercase characters and alternative glyphs. Keep experimenting with the font until you’ve created a look for your project that is uniquely yours.
Use this tattoo lettering font to create your next poster, T-shirt, or metal band album cover. It’s a bit of an unconventional choice but, as you’ve seen in this list, we rather favour unconventional choices. They potentially add intrigue and surprise to your projects, which is a good thing indeed.
Choose Your Favourite Heavy Metal Font Today
This is just a small sample of the awesome metal font styles available at Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. So if you haven’t found just the right one for you here, head on over to both sites and have a browse to find one that suits your needs.
By the way, if you’re looking for other cool fonts, check out these great articles on the other kinds of font selections available at both sites:
Today we look at 29 premium fonts from Envato Elements and GraphicRiver that best capture the heavy metal aesthetic. Check them out and be inspired!
Best Source for Heavy Metal Fonts (Unlimited Downloads)
If you’re looking for high-quality metal fonts, then Envato Elements should be your first stop. It offers a wide selection of terrific metal fonts to suit just about every project.
What’s more, you can download as manyfonts as you want for one low monthly price. And if you’re in the market for other resources like templates, icons, and other graphics, they’re also included under that monthly price.
Let’s take a look at some of the awesome metal lettering fonts you can find at Envato Elements.
What better way to start off our list than with this gorgeous gothic font? Use it to create stunning album covers, posters, or T-shirts. The font includes uppercase, lowercase, punctuation, and international characters.
Looking for a metal lettering font for an album cover or a T-shirt with a bit of a twist? Then check out this tattoo lettering font. It includes uppercase and lowercase characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes, and alternate characters. A great choice for those who want to differentiate themselves from the pack.
Take your project to the next level with this gothic blackletter font. Ideal for signatures, logos, handwritten quotes, product packaging, headers, etc. The font includes uppercase, lowercase and alternative characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, and swashes, giving you loads of options for customising your text to make it look just how you want it to.
This black metal font is inspired by the black metal style crossed with the horror movie genre. It’s an excellent choice for posters, album covers, flyers, merchandise, etc.
Looking for a super cool metal lettering font to grace your new poster? Take a look at this rock and metal inspired typeface with its clever combination of angular shapes and curved edges. It includes uppercase letters, numbers, and punctuation, and you can toggle the caps lock to use the alternate letters.
This gothic blackletter font is a bit of a restrained version of the metal look, but still works well for those looking to capture the spirit of the genre in their work. The font, which also captures elements of old English fonts with its calligraphic style, can be used to create beautiful and eye-catching branding materials, business cards, posters, and more!
This brush and hand-drawn font manages to capture an air of menace with its knife-like pointed edges, making it great for those looking for metal band fonts for their album covers. This energetic font would also work well on T-shirt or poster projects, horror movie titles and credits, and for certain kinds of branding.
If you’re working on a metal-themed design and want to ramp up the gothic twist, try this tattoo lettering font. It would work well for motorbike-themed T-shirt designs, custom tattoo lettering, sports logos, etc.
This gothic blackletter font is a perfect choice for those looking for a metal band font. It combines elements from many different letters and time periods and features wispy terminals, flamboyant caps, and the use of negative space to create contrast and interest. Users of the Cyrillic alphabet will be happy to know that this font includes Cyrillic characters.
This angular tattoo lettering font retains a bit of the gothic touch, making it a great choice for those wanting to bring a bit of the heavy metal font style to their projects.
If you’re in the market for something extra special, then this font, which combines characteristics of gothic blackletter fonts and tattoo lettering fonts, may be the perfect fit. This beautiful, ornate font may not be the easiest to read, but it will get you attention and make you stand apart from the crowd.
Looking for a metal lettering font to use on your album cover or poster? Check out this gothic font with a bit of vintage blackletter vibe. It includes the basic set of uppercase Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
Another gorgeous gothic blackletter font that combines elements of tattoo lettering fonts. Use this typeface sparingly for headings or titles or logos when you want to make a statement. The font includes uppercase Latin characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes, and alternate characters, so that you can create a distinctive look that’s all your own.
This is a bit of a departure from the styles we have featured here so far, but we wanted to give you as many options as possible for creating a metal band font. This font is one that might combine well with one of the others here to be used on labels, clothing, movie titles, etc.
A vintage gothic font that’s an excellent choice for book titles, video games, albums, etc. This solid bold typeface includes basic Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
This gothic font combines elements of old English fonts and tattoo lettering fonts to create a wonderfully dynamic and eye-catching font. The set, which includes upper and lower case letters, also contains over 525 glyphs so that you can create truly unique and interesting text.
This gorgeous typeface, which includes elements of old English fonts, is inspired by the old American advertisement letters. A great metal band font for album covers, tattoos, posters, etc.
The eye-catching typeface would work very well for those looking for death metal fonts or black metal fonts for a new album cover. The set includes uppercase and lowercase characters, numbers, punctuation, multilingual symbols, swashes and alternate characters, and tons of unique glyphs that allow you to create your own unique text for your next project.
The perfect font for those looking for death metal fonts or black metal fonts for their next project. This bold display font uses the language of the occult to introduce a sense of horror. The font just includes uppercase Latin characters, numbers, and punctuation.
Whether you’re looking for a heavy metal font or a tattoo lettering font for a movie poster, T-shirt, or album cover, you just can’t go wrong with this terrific vintage-styled typeface. With its beautiful swashes that create a terrific stylised effect, all eyes will be on your text when you use this font.
Add a touch of the old English font style to your heavy metal album when you use this typeface. This handmade font would also look great on posters and can be used for logos, headers, and titles.
Looking for something a bit different? Try this decorative font, which incorporates elements of gothic fonts to create a look that is interesting and unique. Not traditionally what you think of as a heavy metal font, but therein lies its strength. You will certainly set yourself apart from the crowd when you use this font in your projects.
Well, you’ve seen it here first, folks. This is what would happen if blackletter typography and Asian calligraphy had a baby. This intriguing font may raise some eyebrows when you apply it to your metal album cover, but who knows—you may start a trend.
Best Source for Heavy Metal Fonts (Buy One at a Time)
If you’re just interested in purchasing just one heavy metal font instead of experimenting with several, then GraphicRiver may be a better choice for you than Elements. You can download a single font for one-time use for a low fee. Let’s take a look at some of the top-quality offerings there.
One of the most gorgeous fonts featured here, this gothic font is for those who are looking for a typeface to make their text stand out. Mix uppercase and lowercase letters and add ligatures, swashes, and stylistic alternates to create text that is truly one of a kind.
The perfect font for those metal fans looking for death metal fonts and or black metal fonts, this typeface combines elements of gothic fonts and the horror genre to create a font with a high scare factor. The font comes with a full set of upper and lowercase characters, numbers, and punctuation. Use it to create album covers, posters, T-shirts, etc.
This gothic font style has some charming characteristics which you may not at first associate with metal but, styled in the right way, this interesting display font could give your projects that interesting edginess you’re after.
This gothic blackletter font allows you to create unique titles by using a mixture of upper and lowercase characters and alternative glyphs. Keep experimenting with the font until you’ve created a look for your project that is uniquely yours.
Use this tattoo lettering font to create your next poster, T-shirt, or metal band album cover. It’s a bit of an unconventional choice but, as you’ve seen in this list, we rather favour unconventional choices. They potentially add intrigue and surprise to your projects, which is a good thing indeed.
Choose Your Favourite Heavy Metal Font Today
This is just a small sample of the awesome metal font styles available at Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. So if you haven’t found just the right one for you here, head on over to both sites and have a browse to find one that suits your needs.
By the way, if you’re looking for other cool fonts, check out these great articles on the other kinds of font selections available at both sites:
In this tutorial, you will learn how to create a sparkle overlay effect Photoshop action. I will explain everything in so much detail that everyone can create it, even those who have just opened Photoshop for the first time.
The effect shown above is the one I will show you how to create in this tutorial. If you would like to create the even more advanced magic dust effects below, using just a single click and in only a few minutes, then check out my Magic Dust 2 Photoshop Action.
First, open the photo that you want to work with. To open your photo, go to File > Open, choose your photo, and click Open. Now, before we get started, just check a couple of things:
Your photo should be in RGB Color mode, 8 Bits/Channel. To check this, go to Image > Mode.
For best results, your photo size should be 2000–3000 px wide/high. To check this, go to Image > Image Size.
Your photo should be the Background layer. If it is not, go to Layer > New > Background from Layer.
2. How to Create the Sparkles Brush
Step 1
In this section, we are going to create the brush that we will need for this effect. Choose the Brush Tool (B) and pick a soft brush. Then, go to Window > Brush and in the Brush window use the settings below:
Step 2
Now to define this brush with new settings as a new brush, click on the top right icon in the bottom right corner of the Brush panel, and name it Sparkles.
3. How to Create the Sparkles
Step 1
In this section we are going to create the sparkles. Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Small_1.
Step 2
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 10 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 3
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Small_2. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Small_1 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 4
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 10 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 5
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Medium_1. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Small_2 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 6
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 35 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 7
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Medium_2. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Medium_1 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 8
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 35 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 9
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Large_1. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Medium_2 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 10
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 50 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 11
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Large_1. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Large_1 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 12
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 75 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 13
Select the Sparkles_Small_1 layer, go to Layer > New Fill Layer > Solid Color to create a new solid color fill layer, name it SS_1_Color, and choose the color #eea815 as shown below:
Step 14
Now press Control-Alt-G on your keyboard to create a clipping mask. Then, select the Sparkles_Small_1 layer and change the Blending Mode of this layer to Linear Dodge (Add).
Step 15
Select the SS_1_Color layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, drag this layer just above the Sparkles_Medium_1 layer in the Layers panel. After that, press Control-Alt-G on your keyboard to create a clipping mask.
Step 16
Now name this layer SM_1_Color. Then, select the Sparkles_Medium_1 layer and change the Blending Mode of this layer to Linear Dodge (Add).
Step 17
Select the SM_1_Color layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, drag this layer just above the Sparkles_Large_1 layer in the Layers panel. After that, press Control-Alt-G on your keyboard to create a clipping mask.
Step 18
Now name this layer SL_1_Color. Then, select the Sparkles_Large_1 layer
and change the Blending Mode of this layer to Linear Dodge (Add).
Step 19
Select the SS_1_Color layer and Shift-click on the Sparkles_Large_2 layer to select all layers between. Then, go to Layer > New > Group from Layers to create a new group from the selected layers and name it Sparkles.
4. How to Create the Focus
Step 1
In this section, we are going to create the focus. Select the Background layer, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Levels to create a new levels adjustment layer, and name it Focus_1.
Step 2
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and, in the Properties panel, use the settings below:
Step 3
Choose the Brush Tool (B), pick a soft brush, set the foreground color to #000000, and brush as shown below:
Step 4
Now select the Background layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the Radius to 10 px.
Step 5
Go to Layer > Layer Mask > Reveal All to add a layer mask that reveals the whole layer.
Step 6
Choose the Brush Tool (B), pick a soft brush, set the foreground color to #000000, and brush as shown below:
Step 7
Now name this layer Focus_2.
5. How to Make the Final Adjustments
Step 1
In this section, we are going to make final adjustments to the design. Select the Sparkles folder, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Curves to create a new curves adjustment layer, and name it Color Look.
Step 2
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and in the Properties panel enter the settings below:
Step 3
Press D on your keyboard to reset the swatches. Then, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Gradient Map to create a new gradient map adjustment layer and name it Overall Contrast.
Step 4
Now change the Blending Mode of this layer to Overlay and set the Opacity to 10%.
Step 5
Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Vibrance to create a new vibrance adjustment layer and name it Overall Vibrance/Saturation.
Step 6
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and in the Properties panel, set the Vibrance to +10 and the Saturation to +5.
Step 7
Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Levels to create a new levels adjustment layer and name it Overall Brightness.
Step 8
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and in the Properties panel enter the settings below:
Step 9
Press Control-Alt-Shift-E on your keyboard to make a screenshot, and then press Control-Shift-U to desaturate this layer. Then, go to Filter > Other > High Pass and set the Radius to 2 px.
Step 10
Change the Blending Mode of this layer to Vivid Light and set the Opacity to 50%. Then, name this layer Overall Sharpening.
You Made It!
Congratulations, you have succeeded! Here is our final result:
If you would like to create the even more advanced magic dust effects
below, using just a single click and in only a few minutes, then check
out my Magic Dust 2 Photoshop Action.
The
action works so you simply draw a path over your photo where you want the effect to appear and just
play the action. It’s really that simple! The sparkles remain fully layered, and you have full control over them to customize them—you can move, scale, or rotate them, remove them, or
duplicate them to create even more sparkles! The action
will also create 15 preset color looks that you can choose from.
The action comes with a detailed video tutorial that demonstrates how to use the action and customize the results to get the most out of the effect.
In this tutorial, you will learn how to create a sparkle overlay effect Photoshop action. I will explain everything in so much detail that everyone can create it, even those who have just opened Photoshop for the first time.
The effect shown above is the one I will show you how to create in this tutorial. If you would like to create the even more advanced magic dust effects below, using just a single click and in only a few minutes, then check out my Magic Dust 2 Photoshop Action.
First, open the photo that you want to work with. To open your photo, go to File > Open, choose your photo, and click Open. Now, before we get started, just check a couple of things:
Your photo should be in RGB Color mode, 8 Bits/Channel. To check this, go to Image > Mode.
For best results, your photo size should be 2000–3000 px wide/high. To check this, go to Image > Image Size.
Your photo should be the Background layer. If it is not, go to Layer > New > Background from Layer.
2. How to Create the Sparkles Brush
Step 1
In this section, we are going to create the brush that we will need for this effect. Choose the Brush Tool (B) and pick a soft brush. Then, go to Window > Brush and in the Brush window use the settings below:
Step 2
Now to define this brush with new settings as a new brush, click on the top right icon in the bottom right corner of the Brush panel, and name it Sparkles.
3. How to Create the Sparkles
Step 1
In this section we are going to create the sparkles. Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Small_1.
Step 2
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 10 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 3
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Small_2. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Small_1 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 4
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 10 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 5
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Medium_1. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Small_2 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 6
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 35 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 7
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Medium_2. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Medium_1 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 8
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 35 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 9
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Large_1. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Medium_2 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 10
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 50 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 11
Go to Layer > New > Layer to create a new layer and name it Sparkles_Large_1. Then, drag this layer just below the Sparkles_Large_1 layer in the Layers panel.
Step 12
Now choose the Brush Tool (B), select the Sparkles brush, and set the Diameter of the brush to around 75 px. Then, set the foreground color to #ffffff and brush as shown below (decrease the Diameter of the brush as you brush from the edges of the photo towards the center):
Step 13
Select the Sparkles_Small_1 layer, go to Layer > New Fill Layer > Solid Color to create a new solid color fill layer, name it SS_1_Color, and choose the color #eea815 as shown below:
Step 14
Now press Control-Alt-G on your keyboard to create a clipping mask. Then, select the Sparkles_Small_1 layer and change the Blending Mode of this layer to Linear Dodge (Add).
Step 15
Select the SS_1_Color layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, drag this layer just above the Sparkles_Medium_1 layer in the Layers panel. After that, press Control-Alt-G on your keyboard to create a clipping mask.
Step 16
Now name this layer SM_1_Color. Then, select the Sparkles_Medium_1 layer and change the Blending Mode of this layer to Linear Dodge (Add).
Step 17
Select the SM_1_Color layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, drag this layer just above the Sparkles_Large_1 layer in the Layers panel. After that, press Control-Alt-G on your keyboard to create a clipping mask.
Step 18
Now name this layer SL_1_Color. Then, select the Sparkles_Large_1 layer
and change the Blending Mode of this layer to Linear Dodge (Add).
Step 19
Select the SS_1_Color layer and Shift-click on the Sparkles_Large_2 layer to select all layers between. Then, go to Layer > New > Group from Layers to create a new group from the selected layers and name it Sparkles.
4. How to Create the Focus
Step 1
In this section, we are going to create the focus. Select the Background layer, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Levels to create a new levels adjustment layer, and name it Focus_1.
Step 2
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and, in the Properties panel, use the settings below:
Step 3
Choose the Brush Tool (B), pick a soft brush, set the foreground color to #000000, and brush as shown below:
Step 4
Now select the Background layer and press Control-J on your keyboard to duplicate it. Then, go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the Radius to 10 px.
Step 5
Go to Layer > Layer Mask > Reveal All to add a layer mask that reveals the whole layer.
Step 6
Choose the Brush Tool (B), pick a soft brush, set the foreground color to #000000, and brush as shown below:
Step 7
Now name this layer Focus_2.
5. How to Make the Final Adjustments
Step 1
In this section, we are going to make final adjustments to the design. Select the Sparkles folder, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Curves to create a new curves adjustment layer, and name it Color Look.
Step 2
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and in the Properties panel enter the settings below:
Step 3
Press D on your keyboard to reset the swatches. Then, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Gradient Map to create a new gradient map adjustment layer and name it Overall Contrast.
Step 4
Now change the Blending Mode of this layer to Overlay and set the Opacity to 10%.
Step 5
Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Vibrance to create a new vibrance adjustment layer and name it Overall Vibrance/Saturation.
Step 6
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and in the Properties panel, set the Vibrance to +10 and the Saturation to +5.
Step 7
Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Levels to create a new levels adjustment layer and name it Overall Brightness.
Step 8
Now Double-click on this layer thumbnail and in the Properties panel enter the settings below:
Step 9
Press Control-Alt-Shift-E on your keyboard to make a screenshot, and then press Control-Shift-U to desaturate this layer. Then, go to Filter > Other > High Pass and set the Radius to 2 px.
Step 10
Change the Blending Mode of this layer to Vivid Light and set the Opacity to 50%. Then, name this layer Overall Sharpening.
You Made It!
Congratulations, you have succeeded! Here is our final result:
If you would like to create the even more advanced magic dust effects
below, using just a single click and in only a few minutes, then check
out my Magic Dust 2 Photoshop Action.
The
action works so you simply draw a path over your photo where you want the effect to appear and just
play the action. It’s really that simple! The sparkles remain fully layered, and you have full control over them to customize them—you can move, scale, or rotate them, remove them, or
duplicate them to create even more sparkles! The action
will also create 15 preset color looks that you can choose from.
The action comes with a detailed video tutorial that demonstrates how to use the action and customize the results to get the most out of the effect.