Wszystkie wpisy, których autorem jest admin

Design Deals for the Week

Post pobrano z: Design Deals for the Week

Every week, we’ll give you an overview of the best deals for designers, make sure you don’t miss any by subscribing to our deals feed. You can also follow the recently launched website Type Deals if you are looking for free fonts or font deals.

UX and Sitemap Resource Bundle

This bundle of bundles is perfect for any startup company or project. The UX Web Tiles for Flow Diagrams and Sitemaps easily lets you prototype and UX Design with 150 different Web tiles. The Sketching Templates Bundle lets you grab your favorite drawing instrument and hand sketch your projects user flow no matter the device. And finally, a bonus set of legal documents from client agreements to confidentiality papers rounds out this essential deal.

$24 instead of $466 – Get it now!

Clearance Sale Up to 70%

Awesome discounts up to 70% off on TemplateMonster Marketplace: WordPress themes, eCommerce templates, graphics, assets & plugins. Grab everything for your next project.

Sale starts: 19th of February

60+ Best Selling Fonts from MLKWSN Studio

It’s time for another font-astic deal! From MLKWSN Studio, this gorgeous bundle is stuffed with 62 unique fonts at one super low price! Mix and match styles with these beautiful typefaces that are the perfect answer to any project from logo design to wedding invitations.

$9 instead of $238 – Get it now!

Delight Script Modern Calligraphy Typeface

Delight Script is a beautiful modern calligraphy typeface packed with over 400 unique glyphs. The family consists of 4 fonts (Script, Script Slant, Sans, Sans Slant), each loaded with OpenType features from swashes to alternates. Toss in multi-lingual support and an extended license, and you’ll be delighted at the true flexibility of this find.

$7 instead of $15 – Get it now!

79 Photo-Realistic Packaging Mockups

Showcase your branding and packaging designs in a professional manner with this set of 79 photo-realistic packaging mockups from ZippyPixels. With organized layers, it’s a snap to customize shadows, colors, light effects, backgrounds and your main image. Quickly whip up a perfect presentation on anything from glass jars to drawstring bags.

$17 instead of $39 – Get it now!

Design Deals for the Week

Post pobrano z: Design Deals for the Week

Every week, we’ll give you an overview of the best deals for designers, make sure you don’t miss any by subscribing to our deals feed. You can also follow the recently launched website Type Deals if you are looking for free fonts or font deals.

UX and Sitemap Resource Bundle

This bundle of bundles is perfect for any startup company or project. The UX Web Tiles for Flow Diagrams and Sitemaps easily lets you prototype and UX Design with 150 different Web tiles. The Sketching Templates Bundle lets you grab your favorite drawing instrument and hand sketch your projects user flow no matter the device. And finally, a bonus set of legal documents from client agreements to confidentiality papers rounds out this essential deal.

$24 instead of $466 – Get it now!

Clearance Sale Up to 70%

Awesome discounts up to 70% off on TemplateMonster Marketplace: WordPress themes, eCommerce templates, graphics, assets & plugins. Grab everything for your next project.

Sale starts: 19th of February

60+ Best Selling Fonts from MLKWSN Studio

It’s time for another font-astic deal! From MLKWSN Studio, this gorgeous bundle is stuffed with 62 unique fonts at one super low price! Mix and match styles with these beautiful typefaces that are the perfect answer to any project from logo design to wedding invitations.

$9 instead of $238 – Get it now!

Delight Script Modern Calligraphy Typeface

Delight Script is a beautiful modern calligraphy typeface packed with over 400 unique glyphs. The family consists of 4 fonts (Script, Script Slant, Sans, Sans Slant), each loaded with OpenType features from swashes to alternates. Toss in multi-lingual support and an extended license, and you’ll be delighted at the true flexibility of this find.

$7 instead of $15 – Get it now!

79 Photo-Realistic Packaging Mockups

Showcase your branding and packaging designs in a professional manner with this set of 79 photo-realistic packaging mockups from ZippyPixels. With organized layers, it’s a snap to customize shadows, colors, light effects, backgrounds and your main image. Quickly whip up a perfect presentation on anything from glass jars to drawstring bags.

$17 instead of $39 – Get it now!

CSS Variables + calc() + rgb() = Enforcing High Contrast Colors

Post pobrano z: CSS Variables + calc() + rgb() = Enforcing High Contrast Colors

As you may know, the recent updates and additions to CSS are extremely powerful. From Flexbox to Grid, and — what we’re concerned about here — Custom Properties (aka CSS variables), all of which make robust and dynamic layouts and interfaces easier than ever while opening up many other possibilities we used to only dream of.

The other day, I was thinking that there must be a way to use Custom Properties to color an element’s background while maintaining a contrast with the foreground color that is high enough (using either white or black) to pass WCAG AA accessibility standards.

It’s astonishingly efficient to do this in JavaScript with a few lines of code:

var rgb = [255, 0, 0];

function setForegroundColor() {
  var sum = Math.round(((parseInt(rgb[0]) * 299) + (parseInt(rgb[1]) * 587) + (parseInt(rgb[2]) * 114)) / 1000);
  return (sum > 128) ? 'black' : 'white';
}

This takes the red, green and blue (RGB) values of an element’s background color, multiplies them by some special numbers (299, 587, and 144, respectively), adds them together, then divides the total by 1,000. When that sum is greater than 128, it will return black; otherwise, we’ll get white. Not too bad.

The only problem is, when it comes to recreating this in CSS, we don’t have access to a native if statement to evaluate the sum. So,how can we replicate this in CSS without one?

Luckily, like HTML, CSS can be very forgiving. If we pass a value greater than 255 into the RGB function, it will get capped at 255. Same goes for numbers lower than 0. Even negative integers will get capped at 0. So, instead of testing whether our sum is greater or less than 128, we subtract 128 from our sum, giving us either a positive or negative integer. Then, if we multiply it by a large negative value (e.g. -1,000), we end up with either very large positive or negative values that we can then pass into the RGB function. Like I said earlier, this will get capped to the browser’s desired values.

Here is an example using CSS variables:

:root {
  --red: 28;
  --green: 150;
  --blue: 130;

  --accessible-color: calc(
    (
      (
        (var(--red) * 299) +
        (var(--green) * 587) +
        (var(--blue) * 114) /
        1000
      ) - 128
    ) * -1000
  );
}

.button {
  color:
    rgb(
      var(--accessible-color),
      var(--accessible-color),
      var(--accessible-color)
    );
  background-color:
    rgb(
      var(--red),
      var(--green),
      var(--blue)
    );
}

If my math is correct (and it’s very possible that it’s not) we get a total of 16,758, which is much greater than 255. Pass this total into the rgb() function for all three values, and the browser will set the text color to white.

At this point, everything seems to be working in both Chrome and Firefox, but Safari is a little cranky and gives a different result. At first, I thought this might be because Safari was not capping the large values I was providing in the function, but after some testing, I found that Safari didn’t like the division in my calculation for some reason.

Taking a closer look at the calc() function, I noticed that I could remove the division of 1,000 by increasing the value of 128 to 128,000. Here’s how that looks so far:

:root {
  --red: 28;
  --green: 150;
  --blue: 130;

  --accessible-color: calc(
    (
      (
        (var(--red) * 299) +
        (var(--green) * 587) +
        (var(--blue) * 114)
      ) - 128000 /* HIGHLIGHT */
    ) * -1000
  );
}

.button {
  color:
    rgb(
      var(--accessible-color),
      var(--accessible-color),
      var(--accessible-color)
    );
  background-color:
    rgb(
      var(--red),
      var(--green),
      var(--blue)
    );
}

Throw in a few range sliders to adjust the color values, and there you have it: a dynamic UI element that can swap text color based on its background-color while maintaining a passing grade with WCAG AA.

See the Pen
CSS Only Accessible Button
by Josh Bader (@joshbader)
on CodePen.

Putting this concept to practical use

Below is a Pen showing how this technique can be used to theme a user interface. I have duplicated and moved the --accessible-color variable into the specific CSS rules that require it, and to help ensure backgrounds remain accessible based on their foregrounds, I have multiplied the --accessible-color variable by -1 in several places. The colors can be changed by using the controls located at the bottom-right. Click the cog/gear icon to access them.

See the Pen
CSS Variable Accessible UI
by Josh Bader (@joshbader)
on CodePen.

There are other ways to do this

A little while back, Facundo Corradini explained how to do something very similar in this post. He uses a slightly different calculation in combination with the hsl function. He also goes into detail about some of the issues he was having while coming up with the concept:

Some hues get really problematic (particularly yellows and cyans), as they are displayed way brighter than others (e.g. reds and blues) despite having the same lightness value. In consequence, some colors are treated as dark and given white text despite being extremely bright.

What in the name of CSS is going on?

He goes on to mention that Edge wasn’t capping his large numbers, and during my testing, I noticed that sometimes it was working and other times it was not. If anyone can pinpoint why this might be, feel free to share in the comments.

Further, Ana Tudor explains how using filter + mix-blend-mode can help contrast text against more complex backgrounds. And, when I say complex, I mean complex. She even goes so far as to demonstrate how text color can change as pieces of the background color change — pretty awesome!

Also, Robin Rendle explains how to use mix-blend-mode along with pseudo elements to automatically reverse text colors based on their background-color.

So, count this as yet another approach to throw into the mix. It’s incredibly awesome that Custom Properties open up these sorts of possibilities for us while allowing us to solve the same problem in a variety of ways.

The post CSS Variables + calc() + rgb() = Enforcing High Contrast Colors appeared first on CSS-Tricks.

Writing Animations That Bring Your Site to Life

Post pobrano z: Writing Animations That Bring Your Site to Life

Web animation is one of the factors that can strongly enhance your website’s look and feel. Sadly, unlike mobile apps, there aren’t as many websites using animation to their benefit as you would think. We don’t want to count yours among those, so this article is for you and anyone else looking for ways to use animation for a better user experience! Specifically, we’re going to learn how to make web interactions delightful using CSS animations.

Here’s what we’re going to build together:


Before we move ahead, it’s worth mentioning that I’m going to assume you have at least some familiarity with modern front-end frameworks and a basic understanding of CSS animations. If you don’t, then no fear! CSS-Tricks has a great guides on React and Vue, as well as a thorough almanac post on the CSS animation property.

Good? OK, let’s talk about why we’d want to use animation in the first place and cover some baseline information about CSS animations.

Why would we to animate anything?

We could probably do an entire post on this topic alone. Oh, wait! Sarah Drasner already did that and her points are both poignant and compelling.

But, to sum things up based on my own experiences:

  • Animations enhance the way users interact with an interface. For example, smart animations can reduce cognitive load by giving users better context between page transitions.
  • They can provide clear cues to users, like where we want them to focus attention.
  • Animations serve as another design pattern in and of themselves, helping users to get emotionally attached to and engage with the interface.
  • Another benefit of using animations is that they can create a perception that a site or app loads faster than it actually does.

A couple of house rules with animations

Have you ever bumped into a site that animates all the things? Wow, those can be jarring. So, here’s a couple of things to avoid when working with animations so our app doesn’t fall into the same boat:

  • Avoid animating CSS properties other than transform and opacity. If other properties have to be animated, like width or height, then make sure there aren’t a lot of layout changes happening at the same time. There’s actually a cost to animations and you can see exactly how much by referring to CSS Triggers.
  • Also, just because animations can create perceived performance gains, there’s actually a point of diminishing return when it comes to using them. Animating too many elements at the same time may result in decreased performance.

Now we can get our hands dirty with some code!

Let’s build a music app

We’re going to build the music app we looked at earlier, which is inspired by Aurélien Salomon’s Dribbble shot. I chose this example so that we can focus on animations, not only within a component, but also between different routes. We’ll build this app using Vue and create animations using vanilla (i.e. no framework) CSS.

Animations should go hand-in-hand with UI development. Creating UI before defining their movement is likely to cost much more time. In this case, the Dribbble shot provides that scope for us.

Let’s start with the development.

Step 1: Spin up the app locally

First things first. We need to set up a new Vue project. Again, we’re assuming some base-level understanding of Vue here, so please check out the Learning Vue guide for more info on setting up.

We need a couple of dependencies for our work, notably vue-router for transitioning between views and sass-loader so we can write in Sass and compile to CSS. Here’s a detailed tutorial on using routes and Sass can be installed by pointing the command line at the project directory and using npm install -D sass-loader node-sass.

We have what we need!

Step 2: Setting up routes

For creating routes, we’re first going to create two bare minimum components — Artists.vue and Tracks.vue. We’ll drop a new file in the src folder called router.js and add routes for these components as:

import Vue from 'vue'
import Router from 'vue-router'
import Artists from './components/Artists.vue'
import Tracks from './components/Tracks.vue'

Vue.use(Router)
export default new Router({
	mode: 'history',
	routes: [
		{
			path: '/',
			name: 'artists',
			component: Artists
		},
		{
			path: '/:id',
			name: 'tracks',
			component: Tracks
		}
	]
})

Import router.js into the main.js and inject it to the Vue instance. Lastly, replace the content of your App.vue by <router-view/>.

Step 3: Create the components and content for the music app

We need two components that we’ll transition between with animation. Those are going to be:

  1. Artists.vue: a grid of artists
  2. Tracks.vue: An artist image with a back button

If you wanna jump ahead a bit, here are some assets to work with:

  1. Images and sample data in JSON format.
  2. Content for the components

When all is said and done, the two views will come out to something like this:

Artists.vue (left) and Tracks.vue (right)

Step 4: Animate!

Here we are, the part we’ve really wanted to get to all this time. The most important animation in the app is transitioning from Artists to Tracks when clicking on an artist. It should feel seamless where clicking on an artist image puts that image in focus while transitioning from one view into the next. This is exactly the type of animation that we rarely see in apps but can drastically reduce cognitive load for users.

To make sure we’re all on the same page, we’re going to refer to the first image in the sequence as the “previous” image and the second one as the „current” image. Getting the effect down is relatively easy as long as we know the dimensions and position of the previous image in the transition. We can animate the current image by transforming it as per previous image.

The formula that I’m using is transform: translate(x, y) scale(n), where n is equal to the size of previous image divided by the size of current image. Note that we can use a static value of n since the dimensions are fixed for all the images. For example, the image size in the Artists view is 190x190 and 240x240 in the Tracks view. Thus, we can replace n by 190/240 = 0.791. That means the transform value becomes translate(x, y) scale(0.791) in our equation.

Animating from Artists to Tracks

Next thing is to find x and y. We can get these values though click event in the Artists view as:

const {x, y} = event.target.getBoundingClientRect()

…and then send these values to the Tracks view, all while switching the route. Since we aren’t using any state management library, the two components will communicate via their parent component, which is the top level component, App.vue. In App.vue, let’s create a method that switches the route and sends the image info as params.

gotoTracks(position, artistId) {
	this.$router.push({
		name: 'tracks',
		params: {
			id: artistId,
			position: position
		}
	})
}

Here’s the relevant code from the repo to reference, in case you’re interested.

Since we have received the position and ID of the image in Tracks, we have all the required data to show and animate it. We’ll first fetch artist information (specifically the name and image URL) using artist ID.

To animate the image, we need to calculate the transform value from the image’s starting position. To set the transform value, I’m using CSS custom properties, which can be done with CSS-in-JS techniques as well. Note that the image’s position that we received through props will be relative to window. Therefore we’ll have to subtract some fixed offset caused by the padding of the container <div> to even out our math.

const { x, y } = this.$route.params.position
// padding-left
const offsetLeft = 100
// padding-top
const offsetTop = 30

// Set CSS custom property value
document.documentElement.style.setProperty(
	'--translate', 
	`translate(${x - offsetLeft}px, ${y - offsetTop}px) scale(0.792)`
)

We’ll use this value to create a keyframe animation to move the image:

@keyframes move-image {
	from {
		transform: var(--translate);
	}
}

This gets assigned to the CSS animation:

.image {
	animation: move-image 0.6s;
}

…and it will animate the image from this transform value to its original position on component load.

Transitioning from Artists to Tracks

We can use the same technique when going the opposite direction, Tracks to Artists. As we already have the clicked image’s position stored in the parent component, we can pass it to props for Artists as well.

Transitioning from Tracks to Artists

Step 5: Show the tracks!

It’s great that we can now move between our two views seamlessly, but the Tracks view is pretty sparse at the moment. So let’s add the track list for the selected artist.

We’ll create an empty white box and a new keyframe to slide it upwards on page load. Then we’ll add three subsections to it: Recent Tracks, Popular Tracks, and Playlist. Again, if you want to jump ahead, feel free to either reference or copy the final code from the repo.

The Tracks view with content

Recent Tracks is the row of thumbnails just below the artist image where each thumbnail includes the track name and track length below it. Since we’re covering animations here, we’ll create a scale-up animation, where the image starts invisible (opacity: 0) and a little smaller than it’s natural size (scale(0.7)), then is revealed (opacity: 1 )and scales up to its natural size (transform: none).

.track {
	opacity: 0;
	transform: scale(0.7);
	animation: scale-up 1s ease forwards;
}

@keyframes scale-up {
	to {
		opacity: 1;
		transform: none;
	}
}

The Popular Tracks list and Playlist sit side-by-side below the Recent Tracks, where Popular tracks takes up most of the space. We can slide them up a bit on initial view with another set of keyframes:

.track {
	...
	animation: slide-up 1.5s;
}

@keyframes slide-up {
	from {
		transform: translateY(140px);
	}
}

To make the animation feel more natural, we’ll create a stagger effect so the Recent Tracks lead a little ahead of the Popular Tracks and Playlist using an incremental animation delay to each item.

@for $i from 1 to 5 {
	&:nth-child(#{$i + 1}) {
		animation-delay: #{$i * 0.05}s;
	}
}

The code above is basically looking for each child element, then adding a 0.05 second delay to each element it finds. So, for example, the first child gets a 0.05 second delay, the second child gets a 0.10 second delay and so on.

Check out how nice and natural this all looks:

Bonus: micro-interactions!

One of the fun things about working with animations is thinking through the small details because they’re what tie things together and add delight to the user experience. We call these micro-interactions and they serve a good purpose by providing visual feedback when an action is performed.

Depending on the complexity of the animations, we might need a library like anime.js or GSAP. This example is pretty straightforward, so we can accomplish everything we need by writing some CSS.

First micro-interaction: The volume icon

Let’s first get a volume icon in SVG format (Noun Project and Material Design are good sources). On click, we’ll animate-in and out its path element to show the level of volume. For this, we’ll create a method which switches its CSS class according to the volume level.

<svg @click="changeVolume">
	<g :class="`level-${volumeLevel}`">
		<path d="..."/> <!-- volume level 1 -->
		<path d="..."/> <!-- volume level 2 -->
		<path d="..."/> <!-- volume level 3 -->
		<polygon points="..."/>
	</g>
</svg>

Based on this class, we can show and hide certain path elements as:

path {
	opacity: 0;
	transform-origin: left;
	transform: translateX(-5px) scale(0.6);
	transition: transform 0.25s, opacity 0.2s;
}

.level-1 path:first-child,
.level-2 path:first-child,
.level-2 path:nth-child(2),
.level-3 path {
	opacity: 1;
	transform: none;
}
The animated volume control

Second micro-interaction: The favorite icon

Do you like it when you click on Twitter’s heart button? That’s because it feels unique and special by the way it animates on click. We’ll make something similar but real quick. For this, we first get an SVG heart icon and add it to the the markup. Then we’ll add a bouncy animation to it that’s triggered on click.

@keyframes bounce {
	0%, 100% {
		transform: none;
	}
	30% {
		transform: scale(1.3);
	}
	60% {
		transform: scale(0.9);
	}
}

Another fun thing we can do is add other small heart icons around it with random sizes and positions. Ideally, we’d add a few absolute-positioned HTML elements that a heart as the background. Let’s Arrange each of them as below by setting their left and bottom values.

We’ll also include a fade away effect so the icons appear to dissolve as they move upward by adding a keyframe animation on the same click event.

@keyframes float-upwards {
	0%, 100% {
		opacity: 0;
	}
	50% {
		opacity: 0.7;
	}
	50%, 100% {
		transform: translate(-1px, -5px);
	}
}
The animated favorite button

Summing up

That’s all! I hope you find all this motivating to try animations on your own websites and projects.

While writing this, I also wanted to expand on the fundamental animation principles we glossed over earlier because I believe that they help choose animation durations, and avoid non-meaningful animations. That’s important to discuss because doing animations correctly is better than doing them at all. But this sounds like a whole another topic to be covered in a future article.

The post Writing Animations That Bring Your Site to Life appeared first on CSS-Tricks.

Writing Animations That Bring Your Site to Life

Post pobrano z: Writing Animations That Bring Your Site to Life

Web animation is one of the factors that can strongly enhance your website’s look and feel. Sadly, unlike mobile apps, there aren’t as many websites using animation to their benefit as you would think. We don’t want to count yours among those, so this article is for you and anyone else looking for ways to use animation for a better user experience! Specifically, we’re going to learn how to make web interactions delightful using CSS animations.

Here’s what we’re going to build together:


Before we move ahead, it’s worth mentioning that I’m going to assume you have at least some familiarity with modern front-end frameworks and a basic understanding of CSS animations. If you don’t, then no fear! CSS-Tricks has a great guides on React and Vue, as well as a thorough almanac post on the CSS animation property.

Good? OK, let’s talk about why we’d want to use animation in the first place and cover some baseline information about CSS animations.

Why would we to animate anything?

We could probably do an entire post on this topic alone. Oh, wait! Sarah Drasner already did that and her points are both poignant and compelling.

But, to sum things up based on my own experiences:

  • Animations enhance the way users interact with an interface. For example, smart animations can reduce cognitive load by giving users better context between page transitions.
  • They can provide clear cues to users, like where we want them to focus attention.
  • Animations serve as another design pattern in and of themselves, helping users to get emotionally attached to and engage with the interface.
  • Another benefit of using animations is that they can create a perception that a site or app loads faster than it actually does.

A couple of house rules with animations

Have you ever bumped into a site that animates all the things? Wow, those can be jarring. So, here’s a couple of things to avoid when working with animations so our app doesn’t fall into the same boat:

  • Avoid animating CSS properties other than transform and opacity. If other properties have to be animated, like width or height, then make sure there aren’t a lot of layout changes happening at the same time. There’s actually a cost to animations and you can see exactly how much by referring to CSS Triggers.
  • Also, just because animations can create perceived performance gains, there’s actually a point of diminishing return when it comes to using them. Animating too many elements at the same time may result in decreased performance.

Now we can get our hands dirty with some code!

Let’s build a music app

We’re going to build the music app we looked at earlier, which is inspired by Aurélien Salomon’s Dribbble shot. I chose this example so that we can focus on animations, not only within a component, but also between different routes. We’ll build this app using Vue and create animations using vanilla (i.e. no framework) CSS.

Animations should go hand-in-hand with UI development. Creating UI before defining their movement is likely to cost much more time. In this case, the Dribbble shot provides that scope for us.

Let’s start with the development.

Step 1: Spin up the app locally

First things first. We need to set up a new Vue project. Again, we’re assuming some base-level understanding of Vue here, so please check out the Learning Vue guide for more info on setting up.

We need a couple of dependencies for our work, notably vue-router for transitioning between views and sass-loader so we can write in Sass and compile to CSS. Here’s a detailed tutorial on using routes and Sass can be installed by pointing the command line at the project directory and using npm install -D sass-loader node-sass.

We have what we need!

Step 2: Setting up routes

For creating routes, we’re first going to create two bare minimum components — Artists.vue and Tracks.vue. We’ll drop a new file in the src folder called router.js and add routes for these components as:

import Vue from 'vue'
import Router from 'vue-router'
import Artists from './components/Artists.vue'
import Tracks from './components/Tracks.vue'

Vue.use(Router)
export default new Router({
	mode: 'history',
	routes: [
		{
			path: '/',
			name: 'artists',
			component: Artists
		},
		{
			path: '/:id',
			name: 'tracks',
			component: Tracks
		}
	]
})

Import router.js into the main.js and inject it to the Vue instance. Lastly, replace the content of your App.vue by <router-view/>.

Step 3: Create the components and content for the music app

We need two components that we’ll transition between with animation. Those are going to be:

  1. Artists.vue: a grid of artists
  2. Tracks.vue: An artist image with a back button

If you wanna jump ahead a bit, here are some assets to work with:

  1. Images and sample data in JSON format.
  2. Content for the components

When all is said and done, the two views will come out to something like this:

Artists.vue (left) and Tracks.vue (right)

Step 4: Animate!

Here we are, the part we’ve really wanted to get to all this time. The most important animation in the app is transitioning from Artists to Tracks when clicking on an artist. It should feel seamless where clicking on an artist image puts that image in focus while transitioning from one view into the next. This is exactly the type of animation that we rarely see in apps but can drastically reduce cognitive load for users.

To make sure we’re all on the same page, we’re going to refer to the first image in the sequence as the “previous” image and the second one as the „current” image. Getting the effect down is relatively easy as long as we know the dimensions and position of the previous image in the transition. We can animate the current image by transforming it as per previous image.

The formula that I’m using is transform: translate(x, y) scale(n), where n is equal to the size of previous image divided by the size of current image. Note that we can use a static value of n since the dimensions are fixed for all the images. For example, the image size in the Artists view is 190x190 and 240x240 in the Tracks view. Thus, we can replace n by 190/240 = 0.791. That means the transform value becomes translate(x, y) scale(0.791) in our equation.

Animating from Artists to Tracks

Next thing is to find x and y. We can get these values though click event in the Artists view as:

const {x, y} = event.target.getBoundingClientRect()

…and then send these values to the Tracks view, all while switching the route. Since we aren’t using any state management library, the two components will communicate via their parent component, which is the top level component, App.vue. In App.vue, let’s create a method that switches the route and sends the image info as params.

gotoTracks(position, artistId) {
	this.$router.push({
		name: 'tracks',
		params: {
			id: artistId,
			position: position
		}
	})
}

Here’s the relevant code from the repo to reference, in case you’re interested.

Since we have received the position and ID of the image in Tracks, we have all the required data to show and animate it. We’ll first fetch artist information (specifically the name and image URL) using artist ID.

To animate the image, we need to calculate the transform value from the image’s starting position. To set the transform value, I’m using CSS custom properties, which can be done with CSS-in-JS techniques as well. Note that the image’s position that we received through props will be relative to window. Therefore we’ll have to subtract some fixed offset caused by the padding of the container <div> to even out our math.

const { x, y } = this.$route.params.position
// padding-left
const offsetLeft = 100
// padding-top
const offsetTop = 30

// Set CSS custom property value
document.documentElement.style.setProperty(
	'--translate', 
	`translate(${x - offsetLeft}px, ${y - offsetTop}px) scale(0.792)`
)

We’ll use this value to create a keyframe animation to move the image:

@keyframes move-image {
	from {
		transform: var(--translate);
	}
}

This gets assigned to the CSS animation:

.image {
	animation: move-image 0.6s;
}

…and it will animate the image from this transform value to its original position on component load.

Transitioning from Artists to Tracks

We can use the same technique when going the opposite direction, Tracks to Artists. As we already have the clicked image’s position stored in the parent component, we can pass it to props for Artists as well.

Transitioning from Tracks to Artists

Step 5: Show the tracks!

It’s great that we can now move between our two views seamlessly, but the Tracks view is pretty sparse at the moment. So let’s add the track list for the selected artist.

We’ll create an empty white box and a new keyframe to slide it upwards on page load. Then we’ll add three subsections to it: Recent Tracks, Popular Tracks, and Playlist. Again, if you want to jump ahead, feel free to either reference or copy the final code from the repo.

The Tracks view with content

Recent Tracks is the row of thumbnails just below the artist image where each thumbnail includes the track name and track length below it. Since we’re covering animations here, we’ll create a scale-up animation, where the image starts invisible (opacity: 0) and a little smaller than it’s natural size (scale(0.7)), then is revealed (opacity: 1 )and scales up to its natural size (transform: none).

.track {
	opacity: 0;
	transform: scale(0.7);
	animation: scale-up 1s ease forwards;
}

@keyframes scale-up {
	to {
		opacity: 1;
		transform: none;
	}
}

The Popular Tracks list and Playlist sit side-by-side below the Recent Tracks, where Popular tracks takes up most of the space. We can slide them up a bit on initial view with another set of keyframes:

.track {
	...
	animation: slide-up 1.5s;
}

@keyframes slide-up {
	from {
		transform: translateY(140px);
	}
}

To make the animation feel more natural, we’ll create a stagger effect so the Recent Tracks lead a little ahead of the Popular Tracks and Playlist using an incremental animation delay to each item.

@for $i from 1 to 5 {
	&:nth-child(#{$i + 1}) {
		animation-delay: #{$i * 0.05}s;
	}
}

The code above is basically looking for each child element, then adding a 0.05 second delay to each element it finds. So, for example, the first child gets a 0.05 second delay, the second child gets a 0.10 second delay and so on.

Check out how nice and natural this all looks:

Bonus: micro-interactions!

One of the fun things about working with animations is thinking through the small details because they’re what tie things together and add delight to the user experience. We call these micro-interactions and they serve a good purpose by providing visual feedback when an action is performed.

Depending on the complexity of the animations, we might need a library like anime.js or GSAP. This example is pretty straightforward, so we can accomplish everything we need by writing some CSS.

First micro-interaction: The volume icon

Let’s first get a volume icon in SVG format (Noun Project and Material Design are good sources). On click, we’ll animate-in and out its path element to show the level of volume. For this, we’ll create a method which switches its CSS class according to the volume level.

<svg @click="changeVolume">
	<g :class="`level-${volumeLevel}`">
		<path d="..."/> <!-- volume level 1 -->
		<path d="..."/> <!-- volume level 2 -->
		<path d="..."/> <!-- volume level 3 -->
		<polygon points="..."/>
	</g>
</svg>

Based on this class, we can show and hide certain path elements as:

path {
	opacity: 0;
	transform-origin: left;
	transform: translateX(-5px) scale(0.6);
	transition: transform 0.25s, opacity 0.2s;
}

.level-1 path:first-child,
.level-2 path:first-child,
.level-2 path:nth-child(2),
.level-3 path {
	opacity: 1;
	transform: none;
}
The animated volume control

Second micro-interaction: The favorite icon

Do you like it when you click on Twitter’s heart button? That’s because it feels unique and special by the way it animates on click. We’ll make something similar but real quick. For this, we first get an SVG heart icon and add it to the the markup. Then we’ll add a bouncy animation to it that’s triggered on click.

@keyframes bounce {
	0%, 100% {
		transform: none;
	}
	30% {
		transform: scale(1.3);
	}
	60% {
		transform: scale(0.9);
	}
}

Another fun thing we can do is add other small heart icons around it with random sizes and positions. Ideally, we’d add a few absolute-positioned HTML elements that a heart as the background. Let’s Arrange each of them as below by setting their left and bottom values.

We’ll also include a fade away effect so the icons appear to dissolve as they move upward by adding a keyframe animation on the same click event.

@keyframes float-upwards {
	0%, 100% {
		opacity: 0;
	}
	50% {
		opacity: 0.7;
	}
	50%, 100% {
		transform: translate(-1px, -5px);
	}
}
The animated favorite button

Summing up

That’s all! I hope you find all this motivating to try animations on your own websites and projects.

While writing this, I also wanted to expand on the fundamental animation principles we glossed over earlier because I believe that they help choose animation durations, and avoid non-meaningful animations. That’s important to discuss because doing animations correctly is better than doing them at all. But this sounds like a whole another topic to be covered in a future article.

The post Writing Animations That Bring Your Site to Life appeared first on CSS-Tricks.

How to Make a Booklet in InDesign

Post pobrano z: How to Make a Booklet in InDesign

Final product image
What You’ll Be Creating

Ready to take the next step in layout design? In this tutorial, we show you how to create a booklet in InDesign. For this stylish design, we’ll use essential tools for setting up pages that will help you in your future projects.

Booklets are a form of brochure containing more than four pages and not more than 48 pages (the page count should be divisible by four). This non-periodical publication is great for marketing purposes because it allows you or your client to show their business in detail.

In this tutorial, we show you how to make a booklet in InDesign. You can also keep this as a four-page document to create a brochure in InDesign. Regardless of which you choose to do, you will be learning essential tools that will help grow your layout skills. We will be touching on Master Pages, Paragraph Styles, Color Swatches, and many smaller tips and tricks. 

You can use this tutorial to help you set up an InDesign template for distribution to your clients or to keep for yourself. If you are looking for specific tutorials on how to make a brochure in InDesign, we’ve got plenty of that! Scroll down past the tutorial and you’ll find some of our suggestions. 

In a hurry? We’ve got amazing InDesign brochure templates and other InDesign templates over at Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. Go check them out! 

What You Will Need

You’ll need access to Adobe InDesign; if you don’t have the software, you can download a trial from the Adobe website. You’ll also need the following assets:

Download the assets and make sure the font is installed on your system before starting. When you are ready, we can dive in! 

1. How to Create a Booklet in InDesign

Step 1

In InDesign, go to File > New. Name the document Booklet. We will create a letter size newsletter template. Set the file to the following dimensions:

  • Width to 8.5 in
  • Height to 11 in 
  • Orientation to Portrait
  • Units to Inches
  • Pages to 12
  • Check Facing Pages
  • Margins: 0.75 in
  • Bleeds to 0.125 in (it’s best to seek your professional printer’s preference)

Click Create.

Create a new file

Step 2

For this booklet tutorial, we will work with different Layers. Organising layers is an important practice to keep all the elements in the file organised. Bring up the Layers panel by going to Window > Layers. Double-click on Layer 1 and rename it Copy (Back). 

In the Layers panel main menu, select New Layer. Name it Background. Click OK. Create two additional layers named Images and Copy (Front). 

create new layers

Step 3

Head over to Window > Color > Swatches to expand the Swatches panel. Choose New Color Swatch button from the main menu. Set the Swatch Name and values to the following: 

  • Light: C=15 M=35 Y=45 K=0 
  • Medium: C=35 M=80 Y=80 K=40
  • Dark: C=65 M=70 Y=70 K=75

Click Add and OK after you input each of the color values.

create color swatches

Step 4

For this tutorial, we will create a list of Paragraph Styles that we will use to format parts of the booklet. 

Head over to Window > Styles > Paragraph Styles to open the Paragraph Styles panel. In the main menu, select New Paragraph Style, and set the Style Name to Title. Select the Basic Character Formats option from the left side menu. Use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Black Condensed
  • Size: 30 pt
  • Tracking: 25
  • Case: All Caps

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

create paragraph styles

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Deck. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Regular Condensed
  • Size: 18 pt
  • Tracking: 25

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Copy. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Regular Condensed
  • Size: 9 pt
  • Leading: 12 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Indents and Spacing option from menu on the left and set the Space Between Paragraphs Using Same Style: 0.1 in. 

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Dark swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, and set the Style Name to Pull-quote. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Bold Condensed
  • Size: 20 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the [Paper] swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Folio-Page number. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Bold Condensed
  • Size: 8 pt
  • Tracking: 100

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Folio-Section. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Harline Condensed
  • Size: 420 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Light swatch. Click OK.

list of paragraph styles

2. Setting Up Guides and Master Pages for Your Booklet Design

Step 1

On the Pages panel, double-click on the A-Master pages. Head over to Layout > Create Guides. In the Create Guides option window, set the Rows Number to 5 and Gutter to 0. Set the Columns Number to 8 and the Gutter to 0.1875 in. Under Options, select Fit Guides to: Margins. Click OK.

set up guides

Repeat this process on the opposite page.

create guides on both pages

Step 2

On the Layers panel, select the Copy (Front) layer.

Using the Text Tool (T) from the toolbar, create a text box under the bottom left corner margin. Right-click on the text box and select Insert Special Character > Markers > Current Page Number. A letter “A” will represent the page number. On the second line, you can add the title of your booklet. 

add page number

Select the text and head over to the Paragraph Styles panel. Format the text with the Folio-page number style. 

format with paragraph styles

Select the text box and press Command-C to Copy and Command-V to Paste. Place this duplicated text box on the opposite page. Press T to activate the formatting tools on the Control panel. Select the paragraph formatting tool and set the text box to Align Right.

duplicate and place on opposite page

Step 3

On the Layers panel, select the Background layer. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a small rectangle with a Width of 0.7 in and Height of 0.4 in. Using the Swatches panel, set the color to the Medium swatch. 

Place the rectangle on the left side margin of the left page. Duplicate it by pressing Option and drag. Place the newly duplicated element on the right margin of the right page. This is a great anchor for the title.

create rectangles

Step 4

Head over to the Pages panel, right-click on A-Master and select Apply Master to Pages. Under To Pages, type 2-11. Click OK. These are the pages the A-Master page will be applied to.

apply master to pages

3. Creating a Cover of Your Booklet Design

Step 1

On the Layers panel, click on the Background layer. 

Head over to Page 1. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a shape on the top portion of the cover.

While selecting the rectangle, press Command-D to Place the Close up of coffee seeds image. Select the image with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and resize the image on the Control bar to 20%.

add an image to the top of the cover

Create another rectangle of the same size as above. Head over to the Swatches panel, select the Dark swatch and set the Tint to 60%. 

add a rectangle over the image

Step 2

Create a rectangle for the bottom portion of the cover with the Rectangle Tool (M). Using the Swatches panel, set the color to the Dark swatch.

create a rectangle to cover the bottom of the cover

Using the Line Tool (\), create a line that goes across the width of the page. On the Swatches panel, set the stroke color to the Light color swatch. On the Control panel, set the Stroke Weight to 5 pt. 

Place the line between the image and the bottom of the cover. 

create a line across the width of the cover

Step 3

On the Layers panel, lock all the layers and leave the Copy (Front) unlocked. 

Using the Text Tool (T), add a title and a deck to the booklet and place it in the top left corner of the page. 

Open the Character panel (Window > Type & Tables > Character). For the title, set the Font to Bw Modelica Bold Condensed, Size 55 pt, and Leading 50 pt. 

For the deck, set the Font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 18 pt.

add a title and deck Use the paragraph styles to format the text

Step 4

Using the Text Tool (T), add a text box to fit the width of the page and place it over the bottom margin. While selecting the text box, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. Under Columns, set the Number to 3. Click OK. 

add a text frame with 3 columns to the bottom of the cover

Add contact information to the text frame. On the Character panel, set the font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 9 pt. 

add contact information Use the paragraph styles to format the text

4. Creating the Inside Spreads of Your Booklet Design

Step 1

Let’s work on Pages 2-3 of the booklet. On the Layers panel, unlock the Images layer. 

Head over to Page 2 and using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a rectangle that measures 10 in in Width and 11.25 in in Height. This element will go over the gutter of the page. 

Select the rectangle and press Command-D to place the Coffee cup with roasted beans image inside it. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), move the image to find a good placement. 

add an image to the inside spread

To make the page number visible, we need to change the color. Press Shift-Command and click on the page number to unlock it from the Master Page. Using the Swatches panel, change the color of the type to [Paper].

Lock the text frame by pressing Command-L. 

change the color of the page numbers

Step 2

On Page 3, add a text box using the Text Tool (T). Place the text box at the very top of the page, and add a title and a deck. Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the title and the deck with their corresponding styles.

add a title and eck use the paragraph styles to format it

Create a text box using the Text Tool (T) for the bottom portion of the page—this will house the body copy. This text box should take the remaining width of the page. While selecting it, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. Under Columns, set the Number to 2 and the Gutter to 0.1667 in. Click OK.

add a text frame and create two columns

Add content and use the Paragraph Styles panel, to format it to the Copy style.

format the text with the paragraph styles

On the Layers panel, select the Copy (Back) layer (lock all the other layers if necessary). Using the Text Tool (T), draw a text box and add the section number. Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the text box to the Folio-Section style. Place the section number anywhere on the page—I chose to display it near the title and deck. 

Now we can use this spread as a base for the rest of the inside pages.

add a section number

Step 3

For Pages 4-5, we will create a mirrored layout of what we created on Pages 2-3. 

Select all the elements on Pages 2-3, and press Command-C to Copy. Head over to Pages 4-5 and press Shift-Option-Command-V to Paste in Place. 

The elements will be pasted onto one layer, but it’s best to move the elements to their respective layers. You can do so by selecting an element on the page, heading over to the Layers panel, and dragging the square on the right to another layer.

duplicate the elements on the next spread

Using the Selection Tool (V), move the image to the right. Select all the elements on the right side of the page and move them towards the left side.

switch the position of the images and text

Let’s start editing by changing up the image. Select the image and press Command-D to Place the All kinds of coffee on spoons image. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the image followed by R to Rotate the image. 

To add a pull-quote, create a text box using the Text Tool (T). While selecting the text box, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. On the window, set the Inset Spacing to 0.375 in on all sides. Click OK. 

Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the text box with the Pull-quote style. For the quote credit, open the Character panel. Set the Font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 14 pt. 

add a new image and a quote to page 5

Use the Text Tool (T) to add your own copy on Page 4.

To add a pull-quote on the body copy, create a text box with the Text Tool (T). Format the text box on the Character panel, setting the Font to Bw Modelica Bold Condensed, Size 14 pt. 

On the Swatches panel, set the color to Medium. 

On the Text Wrap panel (Window > Text Wrap), select the Wrap around bounding box. Set all the Offset sides to 0.125 in.

add a pull-quote to break up the text

Step 4

For Pages 6-7, we will create a resting spread to give the reader a visual break. 

Press Shift-Command, select both of the rectangles on each side at the top of the page, and press Delete. 

On the Layers panel, select the Background layer. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the spread with a rectangle. Use the Swatches panel to set the color to the Dark swatch. Lock the Background layer on the Layers panel and select the Images layer.

create a background

Press Command-D to add the Experienced barista making coffee and Hot drink warm up images. Feel free to arrange them as you wish—here I placed both on opposite sides of the spread. 

add images to the spread

Copy the pull-quote from Page 5 by pressing Command-C. Paste the element by pressing Command-V on Pages 6-7. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the quotes. 

add quotes to the spread

Step 5

Pages 8-9 will have a different layout than the rest of the booklet. This interview style spread is a good visual contrast to the rest of the layout. 

Press Shift-Command, select the rectangle on Page 9, and press Delete. 

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the spread with a rectangle and make sure this is on the Background layer. Use the Swatches panel to set the color to the Dark swatch. Lock the layer and select the Images layer. 

add a background to the spread

Copy (Command-V) and Paste in Place (Shift-Option-Command-V) the title text box from Page 4 onto Page 8. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the text. Using the Swatches panel, change the color of the text to the Light swatch. 

add a title and change the color

Create a text box using the Text Tool (T). Head over to the Control bar, and set the Width to 2.9 in and the Height to 5.7 in. 

Using the Text Tool (T), add copy and use the Paragraph Styles to format the text to the Copy style. Select the text and change the color on the Swatches panel to Light. 

Select three words from the beginning of the text box, and head over to the Character panel. Set the Font to Bw Modelica Black Condensed. This is a great way to let the reader know where each interview starts.

create a text frame use the paragraph styles to format it Change the color on the swatches panel

Select the Ellipse Tool (L), and click on the document to open the Ellipse option window. Set the Width and Height to 1 in. Click OK. Place the ellipse over the text frame and use the Align panel to Center both elements. 

Using the Text Tool (T), create a small text frame under the ellipse. This will serve as the name/title text. Use the Paragraph Styles to format the text to the Copy style. With the help of the Swatches panel and the Character panel, create your own combination of styles. Don’t forget to show us in the comments below! 

create an ellipse and place a new text frame underneath it

Duplicate the text frame and circle three times by pressing Shift-Option and dragging. Repeat these elements on the opposite page.

Select each circle and press Command-D to Place the following images: A person holding a sign, Portrait of pretty young waitress, Barista cafe, and Attractive business owner. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select each image within the ellipse to move and resize. 

duplicate the elements and add photos into each ellipse

Step 6

For Pages 10-11, we will go back to the initial layout. 

Copy (Command-C) and Paste in Place (Shift-Option-Command-V) the title, deck, section number and copy from Page 4 onto Page 10. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the copy.  

duplicate the elements on page 4 onto page 10

To create a copy that extends to the next page, we will use the threading option. Duplicate the text frame onto Page 11 by pressing Shift-Option and dragging. Delete the text in the new text box. 

duplicate or create a new text frame on the opposite page

Select the text box on Page 10. If you have overflowing text, you will see a red plus symbol on the bottom right. If you don’t have any overflowing text, you’ll see an empty blue box. Click on the red plus symbol or blue box, followed by a click on the empty text box on Page 11. This will allow you to continue the text on the next page or anywhere you are threading the text box. 

thread the text from page 10 to page 11

Press Command-D to place the Coffee image. Place the image in the bottom left corner of Page 10, and make sure it is bleeding out of the page. Head over to the Text Wrap panel (Window > Text Wrap) and select the Wrap around bounding box button. 

add a new image and use the text wrap tool

Press Command-D to place the Barista at work image. This time, place the image in the top right corner of Page 11. Make sure it is bleeding out of the page and covering the first inside column of Page 10. Head over to the Text Wrap panel and select the Wrap around bounding box button. Set the Offset to 0.125 in—this will help with the text frame underneath. 

add an image on the opposite page and use the text wrap tool

Step 7

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the back page. While selecting the rectangle, press Command-D to Place the Coffee beans image.

Create another rectangle of the same size as above. Head over to the Swatches panel, select the Dark swatch and set the Tint to 60%. 

Copy (Command-C) and Paste (Command-V) the contact information from the front cover.

add an image and a rectangle over it on the back cover Re-create contact information from the front cover

5. How to Export a File for Printing

Before exporting a file for printing, it’s useful to take a look around all the edges of the design. This is to make sure all the images and vectors bleeding out are touching the bleeds.

Step 1

To export the file, go to File > Export. Name the file Booklet and choose Adobe PDF (Print) from the Format dropdown menu. Click Save. 

export as a PDF file for print

Step 2

In the Export Adobe PDF window, set the Adobe PDF Preset to Press Quality. Under Pages, select Export As Pages.

select Press quality from the PDF presets and Export as Pages

On the left side of the panel, select Marks and Bleeds. Check All Printer’s Marks and Use Document Bleed Settings. Click Export. You will have a ready-to-print PDF file.

check all the printers marks and document bleed settings

Great Job! You’ve Finished Your Booklet Design!

In this tutorial, we learned how to make a booklet in InDesign. We covered important tools that will help you set up a multi-page InDesign template. If you lowered the page count, you can use this as an InDesign brochure template. Today, we learned to:

  • create a ready-to-print InDesign file
  • set up Master Pages with folios
  • organise Paragraph Styles to format text
  • add Color Swatches 
  • format text boxes into columns
  • use the Text Wrap tool on images and text

If you are new to InDesign and need a booklet templates or promotional marketing templates right away, head over to Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. We’ve got many options to explore! 

If you liked this tutorial, you might like these:

How to Make a Booklet in InDesign

Post pobrano z: How to Make a Booklet in InDesign

Final product image
What You’ll Be Creating

Ready to take the next step in layout design? In this tutorial, we show you how to create a booklet in InDesign. For this stylish design, we’ll use essential tools for setting up pages that will help you in your future projects.

Booklets are a form of brochure containing more than four pages and not more than 48 pages (the page count should be divisible by four). This non-periodical publication is great for marketing purposes because it allows you or your client to show their business in detail.

In this tutorial, we show you how to make a booklet in InDesign. You can also keep this as a four-page document to create a brochure in InDesign. Regardless of which you choose to do, you will be learning essential tools that will help grow your layout skills. We will be touching on Master Pages, Paragraph Styles, Color Swatches, and many smaller tips and tricks. 

You can use this tutorial to help you set up an InDesign template for distribution to your clients or to keep for yourself. If you are looking for specific tutorials on how to make a brochure in InDesign, we’ve got plenty of that! Scroll down past the tutorial and you’ll find some of our suggestions. 

In a hurry? We’ve got amazing InDesign brochure templates and other InDesign templates over at Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. Go check them out! 

What You Will Need

You’ll need access to Adobe InDesign; if you don’t have the software, you can download a trial from the Adobe website. You’ll also need the following assets:

Download the assets and make sure the font is installed on your system before starting. When you are ready, we can dive in! 

1. How to Create a Booklet in InDesign

Step 1

In InDesign, go to File > New. Name the document Booklet. We will create a letter size newsletter template. Set the file to the following dimensions:

  • Width to 8.5 in
  • Height to 11 in 
  • Orientation to Portrait
  • Units to Inches
  • Pages to 12
  • Check Facing Pages
  • Margins: 0.75 in
  • Bleeds to 0.125 in (it’s best to seek your professional printer’s preference)

Click Create.

Create a new file

Step 2

For this booklet tutorial, we will work with different Layers. Organising layers is an important practice to keep all the elements in the file organised. Bring up the Layers panel by going to Window > Layers. Double-click on Layer 1 and rename it Copy (Back). 

In the Layers panel main menu, select New Layer. Name it Background. Click OK. Create two additional layers named Images and Copy (Front). 

create new layers

Step 3

Head over to Window > Color > Swatches to expand the Swatches panel. Choose New Color Swatch button from the main menu. Set the Swatch Name and values to the following: 

  • Light: C=15 M=35 Y=45 K=0 
  • Medium: C=35 M=80 Y=80 K=40
  • Dark: C=65 M=70 Y=70 K=75

Click Add and OK after you input each of the color values.

create color swatches

Step 4

For this tutorial, we will create a list of Paragraph Styles that we will use to format parts of the booklet. 

Head over to Window > Styles > Paragraph Styles to open the Paragraph Styles panel. In the main menu, select New Paragraph Style, and set the Style Name to Title. Select the Basic Character Formats option from the left side menu. Use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Black Condensed
  • Size: 30 pt
  • Tracking: 25
  • Case: All Caps

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

create paragraph styles

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Deck. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Regular Condensed
  • Size: 18 pt
  • Tracking: 25

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Copy. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Regular Condensed
  • Size: 9 pt
  • Leading: 12 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Indents and Spacing option from menu on the left and set the Space Between Paragraphs Using Same Style: 0.1 in. 

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Dark swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, and set the Style Name to Pull-quote. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Bold Condensed
  • Size: 20 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the [Paper] swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Folio-Page number. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Bold Condensed
  • Size: 8 pt
  • Tracking: 100

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Folio-Section. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Harline Condensed
  • Size: 420 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Light swatch. Click OK.

list of paragraph styles

2. Setting Up Guides and Master Pages for Your Booklet Design

Step 1

On the Pages panel, double-click on the A-Master pages. Head over to Layout > Create Guides. In the Create Guides option window, set the Rows Number to 5 and Gutter to 0. Set the Columns Number to 8 and the Gutter to 0.1875 in. Under Options, select Fit Guides to: Margins. Click OK.

set up guides

Repeat this process on the opposite page.

create guides on both pages

Step 2

On the Layers panel, select the Copy (Front) layer.

Using the Text Tool (T) from the toolbar, create a text box under the bottom left corner margin. Right-click on the text box and select Insert Special Character > Markers > Current Page Number. A letter “A” will represent the page number. On the second line, you can add the title of your booklet. 

add page number

Select the text and head over to the Paragraph Styles panel. Format the text with the Folio-page number style. 

format with paragraph styles

Select the text box and press Command-C to Copy and Command-V to Paste. Place this duplicated text box on the opposite page. Press T to activate the formatting tools on the Control panel. Select the paragraph formatting tool and set the text box to Align Right.

duplicate and place on opposite page

Step 3

On the Layers panel, select the Background layer. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a small rectangle with a Width of 0.7 in and Height of 0.4 in. Using the Swatches panel, set the color to the Medium swatch. 

Place the rectangle on the left side margin of the left page. Duplicate it by pressing Option and drag. Place the newly duplicated element on the right margin of the right page. This is a great anchor for the title.

create rectangles

Step 4

Head over to the Pages panel, right-click on A-Master and select Apply Master to Pages. Under To Pages, type 2-11. Click OK. These are the pages the A-Master page will be applied to.

apply master to pages

3. Creating a Cover of Your Booklet Design

Step 1

On the Layers panel, click on the Background layer. 

Head over to Page 1. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a shape on the top portion of the cover.

While selecting the rectangle, press Command-D to Place the Close up of coffee seeds image. Select the image with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and resize the image on the Control bar to 20%.

add an image to the top of the cover

Create another rectangle of the same size as above. Head over to the Swatches panel, select the Dark swatch and set the Tint to 60%. 

add a rectangle over the image

Step 2

Create a rectangle for the bottom portion of the cover with the Rectangle Tool (M). Using the Swatches panel, set the color to the Dark swatch.

create a rectangle to cover the bottom of the cover

Using the Line Tool (\), create a line that goes across the width of the page. On the Swatches panel, set the stroke color to the Light color swatch. On the Control panel, set the Stroke Weight to 5 pt. 

Place the line between the image and the bottom of the cover. 

create a line across the width of the cover

Step 3

On the Layers panel, lock all the layers and leave the Copy (Front) unlocked. 

Using the Text Tool (T), add a title and a deck to the booklet and place it in the top left corner of the page. 

Open the Character panel (Window > Type & Tables > Character). For the title, set the Font to Bw Modelica Bold Condensed, Size 55 pt, and Leading 50 pt. 

For the deck, set the Font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 18 pt.

add a title and deck Use the paragraph styles to format the text

Step 4

Using the Text Tool (T), add a text box to fit the width of the page and place it over the bottom margin. While selecting the text box, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. Under Columns, set the Number to 3. Click OK. 

add a text frame with 3 columns to the bottom of the cover

Add contact information to the text frame. On the Character panel, set the font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 9 pt. 

add contact information Use the paragraph styles to format the text

4. Creating the Inside Spreads of Your Booklet Design

Step 1

Let’s work on Pages 2-3 of the booklet. On the Layers panel, unlock the Images layer. 

Head over to Page 2 and using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a rectangle that measures 10 in in Width and 11.25 in in Height. This element will go over the gutter of the page. 

Select the rectangle and press Command-D to place the Coffee cup with roasted beans image inside it. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), move the image to find a good placement. 

add an image to the inside spread

To make the page number visible, we need to change the color. Press Shift-Command and click on the page number to unlock it from the Master Page. Using the Swatches panel, change the color of the type to [Paper].

Lock the text frame by pressing Command-L. 

change the color of the page numbers

Step 2

On Page 3, add a text box using the Text Tool (T). Place the text box at the very top of the page, and add a title and a deck. Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the title and the deck with their corresponding styles.

add a title and eck use the paragraph styles to format it

Create a text box using the Text Tool (T) for the bottom portion of the page—this will house the body copy. This text box should take the remaining width of the page. While selecting it, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. Under Columns, set the Number to 2 and the Gutter to 0.1667 in. Click OK.

add a text frame and create two columns

Add content and use the Paragraph Styles panel, to format it to the Copy style.

format the text with the paragraph styles

On the Layers panel, select the Copy (Back) layer (lock all the other layers if necessary). Using the Text Tool (T), draw a text box and add the section number. Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the text box to the Folio-Section style. Place the section number anywhere on the page—I chose to display it near the title and deck. 

Now we can use this spread as a base for the rest of the inside pages.

add a section number

Step 3

For Pages 4-5, we will create a mirrored layout of what we created on Pages 2-3. 

Select all the elements on Pages 2-3, and press Command-C to Copy. Head over to Pages 4-5 and press Shift-Option-Command-V to Paste in Place. 

The elements will be pasted onto one layer, but it’s best to move the elements to their respective layers. You can do so by selecting an element on the page, heading over to the Layers panel, and dragging the square on the right to another layer.

duplicate the elements on the next spread

Using the Selection Tool (V), move the image to the right. Select all the elements on the right side of the page and move them towards the left side.

switch the position of the images and text

Let’s start editing by changing up the image. Select the image and press Command-D to Place the All kinds of coffee on spoons image. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the image followed by R to Rotate the image. 

To add a pull-quote, create a text box using the Text Tool (T). While selecting the text box, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. On the window, set the Inset Spacing to 0.375 in on all sides. Click OK. 

Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the text box with the Pull-quote style. For the quote credit, open the Character panel. Set the Font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 14 pt. 

add a new image and a quote to page 5

Use the Text Tool (T) to add your own copy on Page 4.

To add a pull-quote on the body copy, create a text box with the Text Tool (T). Format the text box on the Character panel, setting the Font to Bw Modelica Bold Condensed, Size 14 pt. 

On the Swatches panel, set the color to Medium. 

On the Text Wrap panel (Window > Text Wrap), select the Wrap around bounding box. Set all the Offset sides to 0.125 in.

add a pull-quote to break up the text

Step 4

For Pages 6-7, we will create a resting spread to give the reader a visual break. 

Press Shift-Command, select both of the rectangles on each side at the top of the page, and press Delete. 

On the Layers panel, select the Background layer. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the spread with a rectangle. Use the Swatches panel to set the color to the Dark swatch. Lock the Background layer on the Layers panel and select the Images layer.

create a background

Press Command-D to add the Experienced barista making coffee and Hot drink warm up images. Feel free to arrange them as you wish—here I placed both on opposite sides of the spread. 

add images to the spread

Copy the pull-quote from Page 5 by pressing Command-C. Paste the element by pressing Command-V on Pages 6-7. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the quotes. 

add quotes to the spread

Step 5

Pages 8-9 will have a different layout than the rest of the booklet. This interview style spread is a good visual contrast to the rest of the layout. 

Press Shift-Command, select the rectangle on Page 9, and press Delete. 

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the spread with a rectangle and make sure this is on the Background layer. Use the Swatches panel to set the color to the Dark swatch. Lock the layer and select the Images layer. 

add a background to the spread

Copy (Command-V) and Paste in Place (Shift-Option-Command-V) the title text box from Page 4 onto Page 8. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the text. Using the Swatches panel, change the color of the text to the Light swatch. 

add a title and change the color

Create a text box using the Text Tool (T). Head over to the Control bar, and set the Width to 2.9 in and the Height to 5.7 in. 

Using the Text Tool (T), add copy and use the Paragraph Styles to format the text to the Copy style. Select the text and change the color on the Swatches panel to Light. 

Select three words from the beginning of the text box, and head over to the Character panel. Set the Font to Bw Modelica Black Condensed. This is a great way to let the reader know where each interview starts.

create a text frame use the paragraph styles to format it Change the color on the swatches panel

Select the Ellipse Tool (L), and click on the document to open the Ellipse option window. Set the Width and Height to 1 in. Click OK. Place the ellipse over the text frame and use the Align panel to Center both elements. 

Using the Text Tool (T), create a small text frame under the ellipse. This will serve as the name/title text. Use the Paragraph Styles to format the text to the Copy style. With the help of the Swatches panel and the Character panel, create your own combination of styles. Don’t forget to show us in the comments below! 

create an ellipse and place a new text frame underneath it

Duplicate the text frame and circle three times by pressing Shift-Option and dragging. Repeat these elements on the opposite page.

Select each circle and press Command-D to Place the following images: A person holding a sign, Portrait of pretty young waitress, Barista cafe, and Attractive business owner. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select each image within the ellipse to move and resize. 

duplicate the elements and add photos into each ellipse

Step 6

For Pages 10-11, we will go back to the initial layout. 

Copy (Command-C) and Paste in Place (Shift-Option-Command-V) the title, deck, section number and copy from Page 4 onto Page 10. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the copy.  

duplicate the elements on page 4 onto page 10

To create a copy that extends to the next page, we will use the threading option. Duplicate the text frame onto Page 11 by pressing Shift-Option and dragging. Delete the text in the new text box. 

duplicate or create a new text frame on the opposite page

Select the text box on Page 10. If you have overflowing text, you will see a red plus symbol on the bottom right. If you don’t have any overflowing text, you’ll see an empty blue box. Click on the red plus symbol or blue box, followed by a click on the empty text box on Page 11. This will allow you to continue the text on the next page or anywhere you are threading the text box. 

thread the text from page 10 to page 11

Press Command-D to place the Coffee image. Place the image in the bottom left corner of Page 10, and make sure it is bleeding out of the page. Head over to the Text Wrap panel (Window > Text Wrap) and select the Wrap around bounding box button. 

add a new image and use the text wrap tool

Press Command-D to place the Barista at work image. This time, place the image in the top right corner of Page 11. Make sure it is bleeding out of the page and covering the first inside column of Page 10. Head over to the Text Wrap panel and select the Wrap around bounding box button. Set the Offset to 0.125 in—this will help with the text frame underneath. 

add an image on the opposite page and use the text wrap tool

Step 7

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the back page. While selecting the rectangle, press Command-D to Place the Coffee beans image.

Create another rectangle of the same size as above. Head over to the Swatches panel, select the Dark swatch and set the Tint to 60%. 

Copy (Command-C) and Paste (Command-V) the contact information from the front cover.

add an image and a rectangle over it on the back cover Re-create contact information from the front cover

5. How to Export a File for Printing

Before exporting a file for printing, it’s useful to take a look around all the edges of the design. This is to make sure all the images and vectors bleeding out are touching the bleeds.

Step 1

To export the file, go to File > Export. Name the file Booklet and choose Adobe PDF (Print) from the Format dropdown menu. Click Save. 

export as a PDF file for print

Step 2

In the Export Adobe PDF window, set the Adobe PDF Preset to Press Quality. Under Pages, select Export As Pages.

select Press quality from the PDF presets and Export as Pages

On the left side of the panel, select Marks and Bleeds. Check All Printer’s Marks and Use Document Bleed Settings. Click Export. You will have a ready-to-print PDF file.

check all the printers marks and document bleed settings

Great Job! You’ve Finished Your Booklet Design!

In this tutorial, we learned how to make a booklet in InDesign. We covered important tools that will help you set up a multi-page InDesign template. If you lowered the page count, you can use this as an InDesign brochure template. Today, we learned to:

  • create a ready-to-print InDesign file
  • set up Master Pages with folios
  • organise Paragraph Styles to format text
  • add Color Swatches 
  • format text boxes into columns
  • use the Text Wrap tool on images and text

If you are new to InDesign and need a booklet templates or promotional marketing templates right away, head over to Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. We’ve got many options to explore! 

If you liked this tutorial, you might like these:

How to Make a Booklet in InDesign

Post pobrano z: How to Make a Booklet in InDesign

Final product image
What You’ll Be Creating

Ready to take the next step in layout design? In this tutorial, we show you how to create a booklet in InDesign. For this stylish design, we’ll use essential tools for setting up pages that will help you in your future projects.

Booklets are a form of brochure containing more than four pages and not more than 48 pages (the page count should be divisible by four). This non-periodical publication is great for marketing purposes because it allows you or your client to show their business in detail.

In this tutorial, we show you how to make a booklet in InDesign. You can also keep this as a four-page document to create a brochure in InDesign. Regardless of which you choose to do, you will be learning essential tools that will help grow your layout skills. We will be touching on Master Pages, Paragraph Styles, Color Swatches, and many smaller tips and tricks. 

You can use this tutorial to help you set up an InDesign template for distribution to your clients or to keep for yourself. If you are looking for specific tutorials on how to make a brochure in InDesign, we’ve got plenty of that! Scroll down past the tutorial and you’ll find some of our suggestions. 

In a hurry? We’ve got amazing InDesign brochure templates and other InDesign templates over at Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. Go check them out! 

What You Will Need

You’ll need access to Adobe InDesign; if you don’t have the software, you can download a trial from the Adobe website. You’ll also need the following assets:

Download the assets and make sure the font is installed on your system before starting. When you are ready, we can dive in! 

1. How to Create a Booklet in InDesign

Step 1

In InDesign, go to File > New. Name the document Booklet. We will create a letter size newsletter template. Set the file to the following dimensions:

  • Width to 8.5 in
  • Height to 11 in 
  • Orientation to Portrait
  • Units to Inches
  • Pages to 12
  • Check Facing Pages
  • Margins: 0.75 in
  • Bleeds to 0.125 in (it’s best to seek your professional printer’s preference)

Click Create.

Create a new file

Step 2

For this booklet tutorial, we will work with different Layers. Organising layers is an important practice to keep all the elements in the file organised. Bring up the Layers panel by going to Window > Layers. Double-click on Layer 1 and rename it Copy (Back). 

In the Layers panel main menu, select New Layer. Name it Background. Click OK. Create two additional layers named Images and Copy (Front). 

create new layers

Step 3

Head over to Window > Color > Swatches to expand the Swatches panel. Choose New Color Swatch button from the main menu. Set the Swatch Name and values to the following: 

  • Light: C=15 M=35 Y=45 K=0 
  • Medium: C=35 M=80 Y=80 K=40
  • Dark: C=65 M=70 Y=70 K=75

Click Add and OK after you input each of the color values.

create color swatches

Step 4

For this tutorial, we will create a list of Paragraph Styles that we will use to format parts of the booklet. 

Head over to Window > Styles > Paragraph Styles to open the Paragraph Styles panel. In the main menu, select New Paragraph Style, and set the Style Name to Title. Select the Basic Character Formats option from the left side menu. Use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Black Condensed
  • Size: 30 pt
  • Tracking: 25
  • Case: All Caps

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

create paragraph styles

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Deck. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Regular Condensed
  • Size: 18 pt
  • Tracking: 25

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Copy. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Regular Condensed
  • Size: 9 pt
  • Leading: 12 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Indents and Spacing option from menu on the left and set the Space Between Paragraphs Using Same Style: 0.1 in. 

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Dark swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, and set the Style Name to Pull-quote. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Bold Condensed
  • Size: 20 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the [Paper] swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Folio-Page number. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Bold Condensed
  • Size: 8 pt
  • Tracking: 100

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Folio-Section. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Harline Condensed
  • Size: 420 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Light swatch. Click OK.

list of paragraph styles

2. Setting Up Guides and Master Pages for Your Booklet Design

Step 1

On the Pages panel, double-click on the A-Master pages. Head over to Layout > Create Guides. In the Create Guides option window, set the Rows Number to 5 and Gutter to 0. Set the Columns Number to 8 and the Gutter to 0.1875 in. Under Options, select Fit Guides to: Margins. Click OK.

set up guides

Repeat this process on the opposite page.

create guides on both pages

Step 2

On the Layers panel, select the Copy (Front) layer.

Using the Text Tool (T) from the toolbar, create a text box under the bottom left corner margin. Right-click on the text box and select Insert Special Character > Markers > Current Page Number. A letter “A” will represent the page number. On the second line, you can add the title of your booklet. 

add page number

Select the text and head over to the Paragraph Styles panel. Format the text with the Folio-page number style. 

format with paragraph styles

Select the text box and press Command-C to Copy and Command-V to Paste. Place this duplicated text box on the opposite page. Press T to activate the formatting tools on the Control panel. Select the paragraph formatting tool and set the text box to Align Right.

duplicate and place on opposite page

Step 3

On the Layers panel, select the Background layer. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a small rectangle with a Width of 0.7 in and Height of 0.4 in. Using the Swatches panel, set the color to the Medium swatch. 

Place the rectangle on the left side margin of the left page. Duplicate it by pressing Option and drag. Place the newly duplicated element on the right margin of the right page. This is a great anchor for the title.

create rectangles

Step 4

Head over to the Pages panel, right-click on A-Master and select Apply Master to Pages. Under To Pages, type 2-11. Click OK. These are the pages the A-Master page will be applied to.

apply master to pages

3. Creating a Cover of Your Booklet Design

Step 1

On the Layers panel, click on the Background layer. 

Head over to Page 1. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a shape on the top portion of the cover.

While selecting the rectangle, press Command-D to Place the Close up of coffee seeds image. Select the image with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and resize the image on the Control bar to 20%.

add an image to the top of the cover

Create another rectangle of the same size as above. Head over to the Swatches panel, select the Dark swatch and set the Tint to 60%. 

add a rectangle over the image

Step 2

Create a rectangle for the bottom portion of the cover with the Rectangle Tool (M). Using the Swatches panel, set the color to the Dark swatch.

create a rectangle to cover the bottom of the cover

Using the Line Tool (\), create a line that goes across the width of the page. On the Swatches panel, set the stroke color to the Light color swatch. On the Control panel, set the Stroke Weight to 5 pt. 

Place the line between the image and the bottom of the cover. 

create a line across the width of the cover

Step 3

On the Layers panel, lock all the layers and leave the Copy (Front) unlocked. 

Using the Text Tool (T), add a title and a deck to the booklet and place it in the top left corner of the page. 

Open the Character panel (Window > Type & Tables > Character). For the title, set the Font to Bw Modelica Bold Condensed, Size 55 pt, and Leading 50 pt. 

For the deck, set the Font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 18 pt.

add a title and deck Use the paragraph styles to format the text

Step 4

Using the Text Tool (T), add a text box to fit the width of the page and place it over the bottom margin. While selecting the text box, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. Under Columns, set the Number to 3. Click OK. 

add a text frame with 3 columns to the bottom of the cover

Add contact information to the text frame. On the Character panel, set the font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 9 pt. 

add contact information Use the paragraph styles to format the text

4. Creating the Inside Spreads of Your Booklet Design

Step 1

Let’s work on Pages 2-3 of the booklet. On the Layers panel, unlock the Images layer. 

Head over to Page 2 and using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a rectangle that measures 10 in in Width and 11.25 in in Height. This element will go over the gutter of the page. 

Select the rectangle and press Command-D to place the Coffee cup with roasted beans image inside it. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), move the image to find a good placement. 

add an image to the inside spread

To make the page number visible, we need to change the color. Press Shift-Command and click on the page number to unlock it from the Master Page. Using the Swatches panel, change the color of the type to [Paper].

Lock the text frame by pressing Command-L. 

change the color of the page numbers

Step 2

On Page 3, add a text box using the Text Tool (T). Place the text box at the very top of the page, and add a title and a deck. Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the title and the deck with their corresponding styles.

add a title and eck use the paragraph styles to format it

Create a text box using the Text Tool (T) for the bottom portion of the page—this will house the body copy. This text box should take the remaining width of the page. While selecting it, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. Under Columns, set the Number to 2 and the Gutter to 0.1667 in. Click OK.

add a text frame and create two columns

Add content and use the Paragraph Styles panel, to format it to the Copy style.

format the text with the paragraph styles

On the Layers panel, select the Copy (Back) layer (lock all the other layers if necessary). Using the Text Tool (T), draw a text box and add the section number. Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the text box to the Folio-Section style. Place the section number anywhere on the page—I chose to display it near the title and deck. 

Now we can use this spread as a base for the rest of the inside pages.

add a section number

Step 3

For Pages 4-5, we will create a mirrored layout of what we created on Pages 2-3. 

Select all the elements on Pages 2-3, and press Command-C to Copy. Head over to Pages 4-5 and press Shift-Option-Command-V to Paste in Place. 

The elements will be pasted onto one layer, but it’s best to move the elements to their respective layers. You can do so by selecting an element on the page, heading over to the Layers panel, and dragging the square on the right to another layer.

duplicate the elements on the next spread

Using the Selection Tool (V), move the image to the right. Select all the elements on the right side of the page and move them towards the left side.

switch the position of the images and text

Let’s start editing by changing up the image. Select the image and press Command-D to Place the All kinds of coffee on spoons image. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the image followed by R to Rotate the image. 

To add a pull-quote, create a text box using the Text Tool (T). While selecting the text box, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. On the window, set the Inset Spacing to 0.375 in on all sides. Click OK. 

Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the text box with the Pull-quote style. For the quote credit, open the Character panel. Set the Font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 14 pt. 

add a new image and a quote to page 5

Use the Text Tool (T) to add your own copy on Page 4.

To add a pull-quote on the body copy, create a text box with the Text Tool (T). Format the text box on the Character panel, setting the Font to Bw Modelica Bold Condensed, Size 14 pt. 

On the Swatches panel, set the color to Medium. 

On the Text Wrap panel (Window > Text Wrap), select the Wrap around bounding box. Set all the Offset sides to 0.125 in.

add a pull-quote to break up the text

Step 4

For Pages 6-7, we will create a resting spread to give the reader a visual break. 

Press Shift-Command, select both of the rectangles on each side at the top of the page, and press Delete. 

On the Layers panel, select the Background layer. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the spread with a rectangle. Use the Swatches panel to set the color to the Dark swatch. Lock the Background layer on the Layers panel and select the Images layer.

create a background

Press Command-D to add the Experienced barista making coffee and Hot drink warm up images. Feel free to arrange them as you wish—here I placed both on opposite sides of the spread. 

add images to the spread

Copy the pull-quote from Page 5 by pressing Command-C. Paste the element by pressing Command-V on Pages 6-7. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the quotes. 

add quotes to the spread

Step 5

Pages 8-9 will have a different layout than the rest of the booklet. This interview style spread is a good visual contrast to the rest of the layout. 

Press Shift-Command, select the rectangle on Page 9, and press Delete. 

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the spread with a rectangle and make sure this is on the Background layer. Use the Swatches panel to set the color to the Dark swatch. Lock the layer and select the Images layer. 

add a background to the spread

Copy (Command-V) and Paste in Place (Shift-Option-Command-V) the title text box from Page 4 onto Page 8. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the text. Using the Swatches panel, change the color of the text to the Light swatch. 

add a title and change the color

Create a text box using the Text Tool (T). Head over to the Control bar, and set the Width to 2.9 in and the Height to 5.7 in. 

Using the Text Tool (T), add copy and use the Paragraph Styles to format the text to the Copy style. Select the text and change the color on the Swatches panel to Light. 

Select three words from the beginning of the text box, and head over to the Character panel. Set the Font to Bw Modelica Black Condensed. This is a great way to let the reader know where each interview starts.

create a text frame use the paragraph styles to format it Change the color on the swatches panel

Select the Ellipse Tool (L), and click on the document to open the Ellipse option window. Set the Width and Height to 1 in. Click OK. Place the ellipse over the text frame and use the Align panel to Center both elements. 

Using the Text Tool (T), create a small text frame under the ellipse. This will serve as the name/title text. Use the Paragraph Styles to format the text to the Copy style. With the help of the Swatches panel and the Character panel, create your own combination of styles. Don’t forget to show us in the comments below! 

create an ellipse and place a new text frame underneath it

Duplicate the text frame and circle three times by pressing Shift-Option and dragging. Repeat these elements on the opposite page.

Select each circle and press Command-D to Place the following images: A person holding a sign, Portrait of pretty young waitress, Barista cafe, and Attractive business owner. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select each image within the ellipse to move and resize. 

duplicate the elements and add photos into each ellipse

Step 6

For Pages 10-11, we will go back to the initial layout. 

Copy (Command-C) and Paste in Place (Shift-Option-Command-V) the title, deck, section number and copy from Page 4 onto Page 10. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the copy.  

duplicate the elements on page 4 onto page 10

To create a copy that extends to the next page, we will use the threading option. Duplicate the text frame onto Page 11 by pressing Shift-Option and dragging. Delete the text in the new text box. 

duplicate or create a new text frame on the opposite page

Select the text box on Page 10. If you have overflowing text, you will see a red plus symbol on the bottom right. If you don’t have any overflowing text, you’ll see an empty blue box. Click on the red plus symbol or blue box, followed by a click on the empty text box on Page 11. This will allow you to continue the text on the next page or anywhere you are threading the text box. 

thread the text from page 10 to page 11

Press Command-D to place the Coffee image. Place the image in the bottom left corner of Page 10, and make sure it is bleeding out of the page. Head over to the Text Wrap panel (Window > Text Wrap) and select the Wrap around bounding box button. 

add a new image and use the text wrap tool

Press Command-D to place the Barista at work image. This time, place the image in the top right corner of Page 11. Make sure it is bleeding out of the page and covering the first inside column of Page 10. Head over to the Text Wrap panel and select the Wrap around bounding box button. Set the Offset to 0.125 in—this will help with the text frame underneath. 

add an image on the opposite page and use the text wrap tool

Step 7

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the back page. While selecting the rectangle, press Command-D to Place the Coffee beans image.

Create another rectangle of the same size as above. Head over to the Swatches panel, select the Dark swatch and set the Tint to 60%. 

Copy (Command-C) and Paste (Command-V) the contact information from the front cover.

add an image and a rectangle over it on the back cover Re-create contact information from the front cover

5. How to Export a File for Printing

Before exporting a file for printing, it’s useful to take a look around all the edges of the design. This is to make sure all the images and vectors bleeding out are touching the bleeds.

Step 1

To export the file, go to File > Export. Name the file Booklet and choose Adobe PDF (Print) from the Format dropdown menu. Click Save. 

export as a PDF file for print

Step 2

In the Export Adobe PDF window, set the Adobe PDF Preset to Press Quality. Under Pages, select Export As Pages.

select Press quality from the PDF presets and Export as Pages

On the left side of the panel, select Marks and Bleeds. Check All Printer’s Marks and Use Document Bleed Settings. Click Export. You will have a ready-to-print PDF file.

check all the printers marks and document bleed settings

Great Job! You’ve Finished Your Booklet Design!

In this tutorial, we learned how to make a booklet in InDesign. We covered important tools that will help you set up a multi-page InDesign template. If you lowered the page count, you can use this as an InDesign brochure template. Today, we learned to:

  • create a ready-to-print InDesign file
  • set up Master Pages with folios
  • organise Paragraph Styles to format text
  • add Color Swatches 
  • format text boxes into columns
  • use the Text Wrap tool on images and text

If you are new to InDesign and need a booklet templates or promotional marketing templates right away, head over to Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. We’ve got many options to explore! 

If you liked this tutorial, you might like these:

How to Make a Booklet in InDesign

Post pobrano z: How to Make a Booklet in InDesign

Final product image
What You’ll Be Creating

Ready to take the next step in layout design? In this tutorial, we show you how to create a booklet in InDesign. For this stylish design, we’ll use essential tools for setting up pages that will help you in your future projects.

Booklets are a form of brochure containing more than four pages and not more than 48 pages (the page count should be divisible by four). This non-periodical publication is great for marketing purposes because it allows you or your client to show their business in detail.

In this tutorial, we show you how to make a booklet in InDesign. You can also keep this as a four-page document to create a brochure in InDesign. Regardless of which you choose to do, you will be learning essential tools that will help grow your layout skills. We will be touching on Master Pages, Paragraph Styles, Color Swatches, and many smaller tips and tricks. 

You can use this tutorial to help you set up an InDesign template for distribution to your clients or to keep for yourself. If you are looking for specific tutorials on how to make a brochure in InDesign, we’ve got plenty of that! Scroll down past the tutorial and you’ll find some of our suggestions. 

In a hurry? We’ve got amazing InDesign brochure templates and other InDesign templates over at Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. Go check them out! 

What You Will Need

You’ll need access to Adobe InDesign; if you don’t have the software, you can download a trial from the Adobe website. You’ll also need the following assets:

Download the assets and make sure the font is installed on your system before starting. When you are ready, we can dive in! 

1. How to Create a Booklet in InDesign

Step 1

In InDesign, go to File > New. Name the document Booklet. We will create a letter size newsletter template. Set the file to the following dimensions:

  • Width to 8.5 in
  • Height to 11 in 
  • Orientation to Portrait
  • Units to Inches
  • Pages to 12
  • Check Facing Pages
  • Margins: 0.75 in
  • Bleeds to 0.125 in (it’s best to seek your professional printer’s preference)

Click Create.

Create a new file

Step 2

For this booklet tutorial, we will work with different Layers. Organising layers is an important practice to keep all the elements in the file organised. Bring up the Layers panel by going to Window > Layers. Double-click on Layer 1 and rename it Copy (Back). 

In the Layers panel main menu, select New Layer. Name it Background. Click OK. Create two additional layers named Images and Copy (Front). 

create new layers

Step 3

Head over to Window > Color > Swatches to expand the Swatches panel. Choose New Color Swatch button from the main menu. Set the Swatch Name and values to the following: 

  • Light: C=15 M=35 Y=45 K=0 
  • Medium: C=35 M=80 Y=80 K=40
  • Dark: C=65 M=70 Y=70 K=75

Click Add and OK after you input each of the color values.

create color swatches

Step 4

For this tutorial, we will create a list of Paragraph Styles that we will use to format parts of the booklet. 

Head over to Window > Styles > Paragraph Styles to open the Paragraph Styles panel. In the main menu, select New Paragraph Style, and set the Style Name to Title. Select the Basic Character Formats option from the left side menu. Use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Black Condensed
  • Size: 30 pt
  • Tracking: 25
  • Case: All Caps

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

create paragraph styles

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Deck. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Regular Condensed
  • Size: 18 pt
  • Tracking: 25

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Copy. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Regular Condensed
  • Size: 9 pt
  • Leading: 12 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Indents and Spacing option from menu on the left and set the Space Between Paragraphs Using Same Style: 0.1 in. 

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Dark swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, and set the Style Name to Pull-quote. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Bold Condensed
  • Size: 20 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the [Paper] swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Folio-Page number. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Bold Condensed
  • Size: 8 pt
  • Tracking: 100

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Folio-Section. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Harline Condensed
  • Size: 420 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Light swatch. Click OK.

list of paragraph styles

2. Setting Up Guides and Master Pages for Your Booklet Design

Step 1

On the Pages panel, double-click on the A-Master pages. Head over to Layout > Create Guides. In the Create Guides option window, set the Rows Number to 5 and Gutter to 0. Set the Columns Number to 8 and the Gutter to 0.1875 in. Under Options, select Fit Guides to: Margins. Click OK.

set up guides

Repeat this process on the opposite page.

create guides on both pages

Step 2

On the Layers panel, select the Copy (Front) layer.

Using the Text Tool (T) from the toolbar, create a text box under the bottom left corner margin. Right-click on the text box and select Insert Special Character > Markers > Current Page Number. A letter “A” will represent the page number. On the second line, you can add the title of your booklet. 

add page number

Select the text and head over to the Paragraph Styles panel. Format the text with the Folio-page number style. 

format with paragraph styles

Select the text box and press Command-C to Copy and Command-V to Paste. Place this duplicated text box on the opposite page. Press T to activate the formatting tools on the Control panel. Select the paragraph formatting tool and set the text box to Align Right.

duplicate and place on opposite page

Step 3

On the Layers panel, select the Background layer. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a small rectangle with a Width of 0.7 in and Height of 0.4 in. Using the Swatches panel, set the color to the Medium swatch. 

Place the rectangle on the left side margin of the left page. Duplicate it by pressing Option and drag. Place the newly duplicated element on the right margin of the right page. This is a great anchor for the title.

create rectangles

Step 4

Head over to the Pages panel, right-click on A-Master and select Apply Master to Pages. Under To Pages, type 2-11. Click OK. These are the pages the A-Master page will be applied to.

apply master to pages

3. Creating a Cover of Your Booklet Design

Step 1

On the Layers panel, click on the Background layer. 

Head over to Page 1. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a shape on the top portion of the cover.

While selecting the rectangle, press Command-D to Place the Close up of coffee seeds image. Select the image with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and resize the image on the Control bar to 20%.

add an image to the top of the cover

Create another rectangle of the same size as above. Head over to the Swatches panel, select the Dark swatch and set the Tint to 60%. 

add a rectangle over the image

Step 2

Create a rectangle for the bottom portion of the cover with the Rectangle Tool (M). Using the Swatches panel, set the color to the Dark swatch.

create a rectangle to cover the bottom of the cover

Using the Line Tool (\), create a line that goes across the width of the page. On the Swatches panel, set the stroke color to the Light color swatch. On the Control panel, set the Stroke Weight to 5 pt. 

Place the line between the image and the bottom of the cover. 

create a line across the width of the cover

Step 3

On the Layers panel, lock all the layers and leave the Copy (Front) unlocked. 

Using the Text Tool (T), add a title and a deck to the booklet and place it in the top left corner of the page. 

Open the Character panel (Window > Type & Tables > Character). For the title, set the Font to Bw Modelica Bold Condensed, Size 55 pt, and Leading 50 pt. 

For the deck, set the Font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 18 pt.

add a title and deck Use the paragraph styles to format the text

Step 4

Using the Text Tool (T), add a text box to fit the width of the page and place it over the bottom margin. While selecting the text box, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. Under Columns, set the Number to 3. Click OK. 

add a text frame with 3 columns to the bottom of the cover

Add contact information to the text frame. On the Character panel, set the font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 9 pt. 

add contact information Use the paragraph styles to format the text

4. Creating the Inside Spreads of Your Booklet Design

Step 1

Let’s work on Pages 2-3 of the booklet. On the Layers panel, unlock the Images layer. 

Head over to Page 2 and using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a rectangle that measures 10 in in Width and 11.25 in in Height. This element will go over the gutter of the page. 

Select the rectangle and press Command-D to place the Coffee cup with roasted beans image inside it. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), move the image to find a good placement. 

add an image to the inside spread

To make the page number visible, we need to change the color. Press Shift-Command and click on the page number to unlock it from the Master Page. Using the Swatches panel, change the color of the type to [Paper].

Lock the text frame by pressing Command-L. 

change the color of the page numbers

Step 2

On Page 3, add a text box using the Text Tool (T). Place the text box at the very top of the page, and add a title and a deck. Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the title and the deck with their corresponding styles.

add a title and eck use the paragraph styles to format it

Create a text box using the Text Tool (T) for the bottom portion of the page—this will house the body copy. This text box should take the remaining width of the page. While selecting it, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. Under Columns, set the Number to 2 and the Gutter to 0.1667 in. Click OK.

add a text frame and create two columns

Add content and use the Paragraph Styles panel, to format it to the Copy style.

format the text with the paragraph styles

On the Layers panel, select the Copy (Back) layer (lock all the other layers if necessary). Using the Text Tool (T), draw a text box and add the section number. Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the text box to the Folio-Section style. Place the section number anywhere on the page—I chose to display it near the title and deck. 

Now we can use this spread as a base for the rest of the inside pages.

add a section number

Step 3

For Pages 4-5, we will create a mirrored layout of what we created on Pages 2-3. 

Select all the elements on Pages 2-3, and press Command-C to Copy. Head over to Pages 4-5 and press Shift-Option-Command-V to Paste in Place. 

The elements will be pasted onto one layer, but it’s best to move the elements to their respective layers. You can do so by selecting an element on the page, heading over to the Layers panel, and dragging the square on the right to another layer.

duplicate the elements on the next spread

Using the Selection Tool (V), move the image to the right. Select all the elements on the right side of the page and move them towards the left side.

switch the position of the images and text

Let’s start editing by changing up the image. Select the image and press Command-D to Place the All kinds of coffee on spoons image. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the image followed by R to Rotate the image. 

To add a pull-quote, create a text box using the Text Tool (T). While selecting the text box, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. On the window, set the Inset Spacing to 0.375 in on all sides. Click OK. 

Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the text box with the Pull-quote style. For the quote credit, open the Character panel. Set the Font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 14 pt. 

add a new image and a quote to page 5

Use the Text Tool (T) to add your own copy on Page 4.

To add a pull-quote on the body copy, create a text box with the Text Tool (T). Format the text box on the Character panel, setting the Font to Bw Modelica Bold Condensed, Size 14 pt. 

On the Swatches panel, set the color to Medium. 

On the Text Wrap panel (Window > Text Wrap), select the Wrap around bounding box. Set all the Offset sides to 0.125 in.

add a pull-quote to break up the text

Step 4

For Pages 6-7, we will create a resting spread to give the reader a visual break. 

Press Shift-Command, select both of the rectangles on each side at the top of the page, and press Delete. 

On the Layers panel, select the Background layer. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the spread with a rectangle. Use the Swatches panel to set the color to the Dark swatch. Lock the Background layer on the Layers panel and select the Images layer.

create a background

Press Command-D to add the Experienced barista making coffee and Hot drink warm up images. Feel free to arrange them as you wish—here I placed both on opposite sides of the spread. 

add images to the spread

Copy the pull-quote from Page 5 by pressing Command-C. Paste the element by pressing Command-V on Pages 6-7. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the quotes. 

add quotes to the spread

Step 5

Pages 8-9 will have a different layout than the rest of the booklet. This interview style spread is a good visual contrast to the rest of the layout. 

Press Shift-Command, select the rectangle on Page 9, and press Delete. 

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the spread with a rectangle and make sure this is on the Background layer. Use the Swatches panel to set the color to the Dark swatch. Lock the layer and select the Images layer. 

add a background to the spread

Copy (Command-V) and Paste in Place (Shift-Option-Command-V) the title text box from Page 4 onto Page 8. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the text. Using the Swatches panel, change the color of the text to the Light swatch. 

add a title and change the color

Create a text box using the Text Tool (T). Head over to the Control bar, and set the Width to 2.9 in and the Height to 5.7 in. 

Using the Text Tool (T), add copy and use the Paragraph Styles to format the text to the Copy style. Select the text and change the color on the Swatches panel to Light. 

Select three words from the beginning of the text box, and head over to the Character panel. Set the Font to Bw Modelica Black Condensed. This is a great way to let the reader know where each interview starts.

create a text frame use the paragraph styles to format it Change the color on the swatches panel

Select the Ellipse Tool (L), and click on the document to open the Ellipse option window. Set the Width and Height to 1 in. Click OK. Place the ellipse over the text frame and use the Align panel to Center both elements. 

Using the Text Tool (T), create a small text frame under the ellipse. This will serve as the name/title text. Use the Paragraph Styles to format the text to the Copy style. With the help of the Swatches panel and the Character panel, create your own combination of styles. Don’t forget to show us in the comments below! 

create an ellipse and place a new text frame underneath it

Duplicate the text frame and circle three times by pressing Shift-Option and dragging. Repeat these elements on the opposite page.

Select each circle and press Command-D to Place the following images: A person holding a sign, Portrait of pretty young waitress, Barista cafe, and Attractive business owner. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select each image within the ellipse to move and resize. 

duplicate the elements and add photos into each ellipse

Step 6

For Pages 10-11, we will go back to the initial layout. 

Copy (Command-C) and Paste in Place (Shift-Option-Command-V) the title, deck, section number and copy from Page 4 onto Page 10. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the copy.  

duplicate the elements on page 4 onto page 10

To create a copy that extends to the next page, we will use the threading option. Duplicate the text frame onto Page 11 by pressing Shift-Option and dragging. Delete the text in the new text box. 

duplicate or create a new text frame on the opposite page

Select the text box on Page 10. If you have overflowing text, you will see a red plus symbol on the bottom right. If you don’t have any overflowing text, you’ll see an empty blue box. Click on the red plus symbol or blue box, followed by a click on the empty text box on Page 11. This will allow you to continue the text on the next page or anywhere you are threading the text box. 

thread the text from page 10 to page 11

Press Command-D to place the Coffee image. Place the image in the bottom left corner of Page 10, and make sure it is bleeding out of the page. Head over to the Text Wrap panel (Window > Text Wrap) and select the Wrap around bounding box button. 

add a new image and use the text wrap tool

Press Command-D to place the Barista at work image. This time, place the image in the top right corner of Page 11. Make sure it is bleeding out of the page and covering the first inside column of Page 10. Head over to the Text Wrap panel and select the Wrap around bounding box button. Set the Offset to 0.125 in—this will help with the text frame underneath. 

add an image on the opposite page and use the text wrap tool

Step 7

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the back page. While selecting the rectangle, press Command-D to Place the Coffee beans image.

Create another rectangle of the same size as above. Head over to the Swatches panel, select the Dark swatch and set the Tint to 60%. 

Copy (Command-C) and Paste (Command-V) the contact information from the front cover.

add an image and a rectangle over it on the back cover Re-create contact information from the front cover

5. How to Export a File for Printing

Before exporting a file for printing, it’s useful to take a look around all the edges of the design. This is to make sure all the images and vectors bleeding out are touching the bleeds.

Step 1

To export the file, go to File > Export. Name the file Booklet and choose Adobe PDF (Print) from the Format dropdown menu. Click Save. 

export as a PDF file for print

Step 2

In the Export Adobe PDF window, set the Adobe PDF Preset to Press Quality. Under Pages, select Export As Pages.

select Press quality from the PDF presets and Export as Pages

On the left side of the panel, select Marks and Bleeds. Check All Printer’s Marks and Use Document Bleed Settings. Click Export. You will have a ready-to-print PDF file.

check all the printers marks and document bleed settings

Great Job! You’ve Finished Your Booklet Design!

In this tutorial, we learned how to make a booklet in InDesign. We covered important tools that will help you set up a multi-page InDesign template. If you lowered the page count, you can use this as an InDesign brochure template. Today, we learned to:

  • create a ready-to-print InDesign file
  • set up Master Pages with folios
  • organise Paragraph Styles to format text
  • add Color Swatches 
  • format text boxes into columns
  • use the Text Wrap tool on images and text

If you are new to InDesign and need a booklet templates or promotional marketing templates right away, head over to Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. We’ve got many options to explore! 

If you liked this tutorial, you might like these:

How to Make a Booklet in InDesign

Post pobrano z: How to Make a Booklet in InDesign

Final product image
What You’ll Be Creating

Ready to take the next step in layout design? In this tutorial, we show you how to create a booklet in InDesign. For this stylish design, we’ll use essential tools for setting up pages that will help you in your future projects.

Booklets are a form of brochure containing more than four pages and not more than 48 pages (the page count should be divisible by four). This non-periodical publication is great for marketing purposes because it allows you or your client to show their business in detail.

In this tutorial, we show you how to make a booklet in InDesign. You can also keep this as a four-page document to create a brochure in InDesign. Regardless of which you choose to do, you will be learning essential tools that will help grow your layout skills. We will be touching on Master Pages, Paragraph Styles, Color Swatches, and many smaller tips and tricks. 

You can use this tutorial to help you set up an InDesign template for distribution to your clients or to keep for yourself. If you are looking for specific tutorials on how to make a brochure in InDesign, we’ve got plenty of that! Scroll down past the tutorial and you’ll find some of our suggestions. 

In a hurry? We’ve got amazing InDesign brochure templates and other InDesign templates over at Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. Go check them out! 

What You Will Need

You’ll need access to Adobe InDesign; if you don’t have the software, you can download a trial from the Adobe website. You’ll also need the following assets:

Download the assets and make sure the font is installed on your system before starting. When you are ready, we can dive in! 

1. How to Create a Booklet in InDesign

Step 1

In InDesign, go to File > New. Name the document Booklet. We will create a letter size newsletter template. Set the file to the following dimensions:

  • Width to 8.5 in
  • Height to 11 in 
  • Orientation to Portrait
  • Units to Inches
  • Pages to 12
  • Check Facing Pages
  • Margins: 0.75 in
  • Bleeds to 0.125 in (it’s best to seek your professional printer’s preference)

Click Create.

Create a new file

Step 2

For this booklet tutorial, we will work with different Layers. Organising layers is an important practice to keep all the elements in the file organised. Bring up the Layers panel by going to Window > Layers. Double-click on Layer 1 and rename it Copy (Back). 

In the Layers panel main menu, select New Layer. Name it Background. Click OK. Create two additional layers named Images and Copy (Front). 

create new layers

Step 3

Head over to Window > Color > Swatches to expand the Swatches panel. Choose New Color Swatch button from the main menu. Set the Swatch Name and values to the following: 

  • Light: C=15 M=35 Y=45 K=0 
  • Medium: C=35 M=80 Y=80 K=40
  • Dark: C=65 M=70 Y=70 K=75

Click Add and OK after you input each of the color values.

create color swatches

Step 4

For this tutorial, we will create a list of Paragraph Styles that we will use to format parts of the booklet. 

Head over to Window > Styles > Paragraph Styles to open the Paragraph Styles panel. In the main menu, select New Paragraph Style, and set the Style Name to Title. Select the Basic Character Formats option from the left side menu. Use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Black Condensed
  • Size: 30 pt
  • Tracking: 25
  • Case: All Caps

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

create paragraph styles

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Deck. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Regular Condensed
  • Size: 18 pt
  • Tracking: 25

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Copy. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Regular Condensed
  • Size: 9 pt
  • Leading: 12 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Indents and Spacing option from menu on the left and set the Space Between Paragraphs Using Same Style: 0.1 in. 

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Dark swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, and set the Style Name to Pull-quote. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Bold Condensed
  • Size: 20 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the [Paper] swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Folio-Page number. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Bold Condensed
  • Size: 8 pt
  • Tracking: 100

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Medium swatch. Click OK.

Create a New Paragraph Style, set the Style Name to Folio-Section. In the Basic Character Formats option, use the following settings:

  • Font Family: Bw Modelica
  • Font Style: Harline Condensed
  • Size: 420 pt
  • Tracking: 10

Select the Character Color option from the left side menu. Set the color to the Light swatch. Click OK.

list of paragraph styles

2. Setting Up Guides and Master Pages for Your Booklet Design

Step 1

On the Pages panel, double-click on the A-Master pages. Head over to Layout > Create Guides. In the Create Guides option window, set the Rows Number to 5 and Gutter to 0. Set the Columns Number to 8 and the Gutter to 0.1875 in. Under Options, select Fit Guides to: Margins. Click OK.

set up guides

Repeat this process on the opposite page.

create guides on both pages

Step 2

On the Layers panel, select the Copy (Front) layer.

Using the Text Tool (T) from the toolbar, create a text box under the bottom left corner margin. Right-click on the text box and select Insert Special Character > Markers > Current Page Number. A letter “A” will represent the page number. On the second line, you can add the title of your booklet. 

add page number

Select the text and head over to the Paragraph Styles panel. Format the text with the Folio-page number style. 

format with paragraph styles

Select the text box and press Command-C to Copy and Command-V to Paste. Place this duplicated text box on the opposite page. Press T to activate the formatting tools on the Control panel. Select the paragraph formatting tool and set the text box to Align Right.

duplicate and place on opposite page

Step 3

On the Layers panel, select the Background layer. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a small rectangle with a Width of 0.7 in and Height of 0.4 in. Using the Swatches panel, set the color to the Medium swatch. 

Place the rectangle on the left side margin of the left page. Duplicate it by pressing Option and drag. Place the newly duplicated element on the right margin of the right page. This is a great anchor for the title.

create rectangles

Step 4

Head over to the Pages panel, right-click on A-Master and select Apply Master to Pages. Under To Pages, type 2-11. Click OK. These are the pages the A-Master page will be applied to.

apply master to pages

3. Creating a Cover of Your Booklet Design

Step 1

On the Layers panel, click on the Background layer. 

Head over to Page 1. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a shape on the top portion of the cover.

While selecting the rectangle, press Command-D to Place the Close up of coffee seeds image. Select the image with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and resize the image on the Control bar to 20%.

add an image to the top of the cover

Create another rectangle of the same size as above. Head over to the Swatches panel, select the Dark swatch and set the Tint to 60%. 

add a rectangle over the image

Step 2

Create a rectangle for the bottom portion of the cover with the Rectangle Tool (M). Using the Swatches panel, set the color to the Dark swatch.

create a rectangle to cover the bottom of the cover

Using the Line Tool (\), create a line that goes across the width of the page. On the Swatches panel, set the stroke color to the Light color swatch. On the Control panel, set the Stroke Weight to 5 pt. 

Place the line between the image and the bottom of the cover. 

create a line across the width of the cover

Step 3

On the Layers panel, lock all the layers and leave the Copy (Front) unlocked. 

Using the Text Tool (T), add a title and a deck to the booklet and place it in the top left corner of the page. 

Open the Character panel (Window > Type & Tables > Character). For the title, set the Font to Bw Modelica Bold Condensed, Size 55 pt, and Leading 50 pt. 

For the deck, set the Font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 18 pt.

add a title and deck Use the paragraph styles to format the text

Step 4

Using the Text Tool (T), add a text box to fit the width of the page and place it over the bottom margin. While selecting the text box, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. Under Columns, set the Number to 3. Click OK. 

add a text frame with 3 columns to the bottom of the cover

Add contact information to the text frame. On the Character panel, set the font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 9 pt. 

add contact information Use the paragraph styles to format the text

4. Creating the Inside Spreads of Your Booklet Design

Step 1

Let’s work on Pages 2-3 of the booklet. On the Layers panel, unlock the Images layer. 

Head over to Page 2 and using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a rectangle that measures 10 in in Width and 11.25 in in Height. This element will go over the gutter of the page. 

Select the rectangle and press Command-D to place the Coffee cup with roasted beans image inside it. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), move the image to find a good placement. 

add an image to the inside spread

To make the page number visible, we need to change the color. Press Shift-Command and click on the page number to unlock it from the Master Page. Using the Swatches panel, change the color of the type to [Paper].

Lock the text frame by pressing Command-L. 

change the color of the page numbers

Step 2

On Page 3, add a text box using the Text Tool (T). Place the text box at the very top of the page, and add a title and a deck. Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the title and the deck with their corresponding styles.

add a title and eck use the paragraph styles to format it

Create a text box using the Text Tool (T) for the bottom portion of the page—this will house the body copy. This text box should take the remaining width of the page. While selecting it, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. Under Columns, set the Number to 2 and the Gutter to 0.1667 in. Click OK.

add a text frame and create two columns

Add content and use the Paragraph Styles panel, to format it to the Copy style.

format the text with the paragraph styles

On the Layers panel, select the Copy (Back) layer (lock all the other layers if necessary). Using the Text Tool (T), draw a text box and add the section number. Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the text box to the Folio-Section style. Place the section number anywhere on the page—I chose to display it near the title and deck. 

Now we can use this spread as a base for the rest of the inside pages.

add a section number

Step 3

For Pages 4-5, we will create a mirrored layout of what we created on Pages 2-3. 

Select all the elements on Pages 2-3, and press Command-C to Copy. Head over to Pages 4-5 and press Shift-Option-Command-V to Paste in Place. 

The elements will be pasted onto one layer, but it’s best to move the elements to their respective layers. You can do so by selecting an element on the page, heading over to the Layers panel, and dragging the square on the right to another layer.

duplicate the elements on the next spread

Using the Selection Tool (V), move the image to the right. Select all the elements on the right side of the page and move them towards the left side.

switch the position of the images and text

Let’s start editing by changing up the image. Select the image and press Command-D to Place the All kinds of coffee on spoons image. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the image followed by R to Rotate the image. 

To add a pull-quote, create a text box using the Text Tool (T). While selecting the text box, press Command-B to open the Text Frame Options window. On the window, set the Inset Spacing to 0.375 in on all sides. Click OK. 

Using the Paragraph Styles panel, format the text box with the Pull-quote style. For the quote credit, open the Character panel. Set the Font to Bw Modelica Light Condensed and Size 14 pt. 

add a new image and a quote to page 5

Use the Text Tool (T) to add your own copy on Page 4.

To add a pull-quote on the body copy, create a text box with the Text Tool (T). Format the text box on the Character panel, setting the Font to Bw Modelica Bold Condensed, Size 14 pt. 

On the Swatches panel, set the color to Medium. 

On the Text Wrap panel (Window > Text Wrap), select the Wrap around bounding box. Set all the Offset sides to 0.125 in.

add a pull-quote to break up the text

Step 4

For Pages 6-7, we will create a resting spread to give the reader a visual break. 

Press Shift-Command, select both of the rectangles on each side at the top of the page, and press Delete. 

On the Layers panel, select the Background layer. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the spread with a rectangle. Use the Swatches panel to set the color to the Dark swatch. Lock the Background layer on the Layers panel and select the Images layer.

create a background

Press Command-D to add the Experienced barista making coffee and Hot drink warm up images. Feel free to arrange them as you wish—here I placed both on opposite sides of the spread. 

add images to the spread

Copy the pull-quote from Page 5 by pressing Command-C. Paste the element by pressing Command-V on Pages 6-7. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the quotes. 

add quotes to the spread

Step 5

Pages 8-9 will have a different layout than the rest of the booklet. This interview style spread is a good visual contrast to the rest of the layout. 

Press Shift-Command, select the rectangle on Page 9, and press Delete. 

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the spread with a rectangle and make sure this is on the Background layer. Use the Swatches panel to set the color to the Dark swatch. Lock the layer and select the Images layer. 

add a background to the spread

Copy (Command-V) and Paste in Place (Shift-Option-Command-V) the title text box from Page 4 onto Page 8. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the text. Using the Swatches panel, change the color of the text to the Light swatch. 

add a title and change the color

Create a text box using the Text Tool (T). Head over to the Control bar, and set the Width to 2.9 in and the Height to 5.7 in. 

Using the Text Tool (T), add copy and use the Paragraph Styles to format the text to the Copy style. Select the text and change the color on the Swatches panel to Light. 

Select three words from the beginning of the text box, and head over to the Character panel. Set the Font to Bw Modelica Black Condensed. This is a great way to let the reader know where each interview starts.

create a text frame use the paragraph styles to format it Change the color on the swatches panel

Select the Ellipse Tool (L), and click on the document to open the Ellipse option window. Set the Width and Height to 1 in. Click OK. Place the ellipse over the text frame and use the Align panel to Center both elements. 

Using the Text Tool (T), create a small text frame under the ellipse. This will serve as the name/title text. Use the Paragraph Styles to format the text to the Copy style. With the help of the Swatches panel and the Character panel, create your own combination of styles. Don’t forget to show us in the comments below! 

create an ellipse and place a new text frame underneath it

Duplicate the text frame and circle three times by pressing Shift-Option and dragging. Repeat these elements on the opposite page.

Select each circle and press Command-D to Place the following images: A person holding a sign, Portrait of pretty young waitress, Barista cafe, and Attractive business owner. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select each image within the ellipse to move and resize. 

duplicate the elements and add photos into each ellipse

Step 6

For Pages 10-11, we will go back to the initial layout. 

Copy (Command-C) and Paste in Place (Shift-Option-Command-V) the title, deck, section number and copy from Page 4 onto Page 10. Use the Text Tool (T) to edit the copy.  

duplicate the elements on page 4 onto page 10

To create a copy that extends to the next page, we will use the threading option. Duplicate the text frame onto Page 11 by pressing Shift-Option and dragging. Delete the text in the new text box. 

duplicate or create a new text frame on the opposite page

Select the text box on Page 10. If you have overflowing text, you will see a red plus symbol on the bottom right. If you don’t have any overflowing text, you’ll see an empty blue box. Click on the red plus symbol or blue box, followed by a click on the empty text box on Page 11. This will allow you to continue the text on the next page or anywhere you are threading the text box. 

thread the text from page 10 to page 11

Press Command-D to place the Coffee image. Place the image in the bottom left corner of Page 10, and make sure it is bleeding out of the page. Head over to the Text Wrap panel (Window > Text Wrap) and select the Wrap around bounding box button. 

add a new image and use the text wrap tool

Press Command-D to place the Barista at work image. This time, place the image in the top right corner of Page 11. Make sure it is bleeding out of the page and covering the first inside column of Page 10. Head over to the Text Wrap panel and select the Wrap around bounding box button. Set the Offset to 0.125 in—this will help with the text frame underneath. 

add an image on the opposite page and use the text wrap tool

Step 7

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), cover the back page. While selecting the rectangle, press Command-D to Place the Coffee beans image.

Create another rectangle of the same size as above. Head over to the Swatches panel, select the Dark swatch and set the Tint to 60%. 

Copy (Command-C) and Paste (Command-V) the contact information from the front cover.

add an image and a rectangle over it on the back cover Re-create contact information from the front cover

5. How to Export a File for Printing

Before exporting a file for printing, it’s useful to take a look around all the edges of the design. This is to make sure all the images and vectors bleeding out are touching the bleeds.

Step 1

To export the file, go to File > Export. Name the file Booklet and choose Adobe PDF (Print) from the Format dropdown menu. Click Save. 

export as a PDF file for print

Step 2

In the Export Adobe PDF window, set the Adobe PDF Preset to Press Quality. Under Pages, select Export As Pages.

select Press quality from the PDF presets and Export as Pages

On the left side of the panel, select Marks and Bleeds. Check All Printer’s Marks and Use Document Bleed Settings. Click Export. You will have a ready-to-print PDF file.

check all the printers marks and document bleed settings

Great Job! You’ve Finished Your Booklet Design!

In this tutorial, we learned how to make a booklet in InDesign. We covered important tools that will help you set up a multi-page InDesign template. If you lowered the page count, you can use this as an InDesign brochure template. Today, we learned to:

  • create a ready-to-print InDesign file
  • set up Master Pages with folios
  • organise Paragraph Styles to format text
  • add Color Swatches 
  • format text boxes into columns
  • use the Text Wrap tool on images and text

If you are new to InDesign and need a booklet templates or promotional marketing templates right away, head over to Envato Elements and GraphicRiver. We’ve got many options to explore! 

If you liked this tutorial, you might like these: