Wszystkie wpisy, których autorem jest admin

99 Best Advanced Photoshop Tutorials

Post pobrano z: 99 Best Advanced Photoshop Tutorials

Take your expertise to the next level with these advanced Photoshop tutorials.

99 of the Best Advanced Photoshop Tutorials

Photoshop is the tool of choice for many artists. Whether you’re a photographer, a designer, or any kind of creative, there is so much you can do with one program.

So in order to show you how endless the possibilities are, we present you with 99 of the best advanced Photoshop tutorials from around the web. Learn more about photo effects and manipulations, or try out a fun digital painting like those of your favorite artists.

Need a quick challenge? Try our Photoshop in 60 Seconds series to learn quick tips in under a minute!

Enjoy this collection of tutorials curated from Envato Tuts+ and friends.

Photo Effects

Live your life with beautiful filters better than Instagram. Adjust
the brightness and color scheme or just explore more fun tricks for
easier control.

Put your best face forward with these advanced photo effects to transform your images.

  • How to Make Your Photos Look Better Fast Photoshop Tutorial

    How to Make Your Photos Look Better Fast! Photoshop Tutorial

    Enhance your photos with these quick tips! YouTuber Peter McKinnon walks you through his process for editing photos. Learn about Adjustment Layers and more in this helpful video.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How To Create an Infrared Photo Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How To Create an Infrared Photo Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Master your photography skills with this Photoshop tutorial. Learn how
    to enhance your eye for breathtaking photos while tackling extraordinary
    infrared effects. Enjoy this breakdown from Chris Spooner.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Smoke Effect in Photoshop

    How to Create a Smoke Effect in Photoshop

    Learn how to make a beautiful wispy smoke effect with this video. YouTuber LetsGettoIt uses Gradient Maps and more to achieve a fantastic result.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Make Optical Illusion Art in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Make Optical Illusion Art in Adobe Photoshop

    Grabbed from Adobe Creative Cloud’s
    YouTube Channel, this video shows you how to make a dope optical
    illusion using Photoshop. Twist your photos with mind-blowing patterns.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Colored Pencil Sketch Effect Action in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Colored Pencil Sketch Effect Action in Adobe Photoshop

    Create a handmade pencil sketch effect using Photoshop actions. Check out this deconstruction process from , involving amazing brushes and more.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Rubber Stamp Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Rubber Stamp Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Create a realistic rubber stamp effect using Photoshop brushes and textures. shows you how, using shape tools and more.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a 90s Graphical Photo Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a 90s Graphical Photo Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Follow along with as she shows you how to create this colorful and graphic photo effect. Use bold colors and abstract shapes to make your photos stand out.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Color Dust Action in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Color Dust Action in Adobe Photoshop

    Learn how to build a Color Dust Action with this Photoshop tutorial. gives you his process for creating an epic photo effect. Great for posters too!

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create an Awesome Dispersion Action in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create an Awesome Dispersion Action in Adobe Photoshop

    You can create photo effects that are simply out of this world in Photoshop. In this tutorial, uses simple shapes and patterns to create a dispersion effect.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Graffiti Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Graffiti Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Test out a cool graffiti look with this Photoshop tutorial. In this tutorial, shows you how to use filters and adjustments to blend your portraits with graffiti art.

    Visit Tutorial

  • Make a Trendy Double Exposure Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Make a Trendy Double Exposure Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Recreate one of the biggest trends around with this fun double exposure tutorial. Instructor walks you through the process from start to finish. 

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Tous-Les-Memes-Inspired Isometric Scene Effect in Photoshop

    How to Create a Tous-Les-Memes-Inspired, Isometric Scene Effect in Photoshop

    Remake this wicked 3D kaleidoscope effect. Challenge yourself using tips for building the isometric scene.

    Visit Tutorial

  • Manipulate a Portrait Photo to Create a Splatter Paint Effect

    Manipulate a Portrait Photo to Create a Splatter Paint Effect

    Put your manipulation skills to the test with this paint splatter tutorial. Instructor shows you how to recreate traditional paint textures you can apply to any photo.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Shade Black and White Realistically in Digital Painting

    How to Shade Black and White Realistically in Digital Painting

    Follow along with to learn how to paint black and white the realistic way. Learn the tips and tricks to shading with value.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Charcoal Drawing from a Photo With a Photoshop Action

    How to Create a Charcoal Drawing from a Photo (With a Photoshop Action)

    Photoshop Actions help you do more in less time. Create an incredible charcoal effect using this tutorial from .

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Dark Futuristic City in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Dark Futuristic City in Adobe Photoshop

    Step into the future and build a remarkably lit city. This Photoshop tutorial from shows you how to create a Blade Runner effect we’re sure you’ll love.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Rock Blast Effect Action in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Rock Blast Effect Action in Adobe Photoshop

    Transform any ordinary photo with this rock blast effect. breaks down the process using filters and more.

    Visit Tutorial

Photo Manipulations

Think of a photo manipulation like a jigsaw puzzle. Once you find the right images, all you have to do is put the pieces together.

And we have jigsaw puzzles of all types for you to enjoy! Build any fantasy scene or magical composition using these helpful tutorials.

  • How to Create an Intense Composite of a Stone Tiger With Blue Flames

    How to Create an Intense Composite of a Stone Tiger With Blue Flames

    Master a stunning fiery scene with this photo manipulation tutorial.
    Create the initial composite with fire and nature stocks before adding
    amazing effects.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Night Jungle Scenery in Photoshop

    How to Create a Night Jungle Scenery in Photoshop

    Create an enchanting composition with fairies and jungle elements. This
    tutorial shows you how to build the landscape from scratch before painting it with earthy colors.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Big Bear Photo Manipulation

    How to Create a Big Bear Photo Manipulation

    Watch this video by YouTuber Rafy A
    to learn how to create this beautiful bear manipulation. Start with the
    sky and cloud shapes before adding the main subjects. Enjoy this
    incredible treat!

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Make Your Photos Look Better Fast Photoshop Tutorial

    How to Create a Rainy Photo Manipulation

    Build a dark rainy scene in under 15 minutes! In this video, YouTuber Arunz Creation shows you how to make a rainy photo manipulation using Layer Masks.

    Visit Tutorial

  • Advanced Photo Manipulation Techniques Filters and Adjustments

    Advanced Photo Manipulation Techniques: Filters and Adjustments

    In this free course, learn how to use advanced photo manipulation techniques to create a fiery landscape. Lewis Moorhead shows you how to build the 3D object and landscape first before adding smoke and fire.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Frankensteins Monster Photo Manipulation in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Frankenstein’s Monster Photo Manipulation in Adobe Photoshop

    Master this spooky Frankenstein Monster manipulation from . Learn how to create the menacing expression along with extra tips for working with color.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Cute Baby Dragon Photo Manipulation in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Cute Baby Dragon Photo Manipulation in Adobe Photoshop

    Love dragons? Then try out this cute baby dragon manipulation from . Learn how to create a dragon using lizard stocks and filters.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Pumpkin Coach Photo Manipulation in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Pumpkin Coach Photo Manipulation in Adobe Photoshop

    Create an enchanting scene with this Cinderella-inspired tutorial from . Recreate this manipulation using 3D objects and layer blend modes.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Dreamy Emotional Photo Manipulation Scene With Photoshop

    How to Create a Dreamy, Emotional Photo Manipulation Scene With Photoshop

    Or dive into this dreamy photo manipulation from . Learn how to create beautiful floating flower petals and so much more.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Dragon Landscape Photo Manipulation With Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Dragon Landscape Photo Manipulation With Adobe Photoshop

    will guide you into a beautiful dragon landscape with this Photoshop tutorial. Learn how to create the mountainous landscape and adjust it with dark colors.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Magical Butterfly Photo Manipulation With Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Magical Butterfly Photo Manipulation With Adobe Photoshop

    You can illustrate many beautiful scenes in Photoshop. Take this magical butterfly manipulation, for example. Learn how to master adjustment layers and more with this tutorial from .

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Glamorous Calavera Portrait in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Glamorous Calavera Portrait in Adobe Photoshop

    Celebrate the Day of the Dead with this glamorous Calavera portrait tutorial. walks you through the steps to applying Calavera makeup to a photo.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Mermaid in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Mermaid in Adobe Photoshop

    Create a fantasy mermaid effect with this Photoshop tutorial. Follow along with as she shows you how to create the scales and fin.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create an Emotional Molten Shattered Statue in Photoshop

    How to Create an Emotional, Molten, Shattered Statue in Photoshop

    Or tackle this legendary molten statue manipulation from . Great for advanced users, this tutorial is sure to be a fun challenge.

    Visit Tutorial

Design

Need a new website? Design it first in Photoshop! This next selection of tutorials features great designs for marketing, stationery, and promotional work.

Design a professional resume or your first blockbuster movie poster. Enjoy this next collection of design tutorials.

  • How to Create a Photoshop Website Design

    How to Create a Photoshop Website Design

    Every creative should have a website. Get started with this amazing design. Created by YouTuber Mir Rom, this design features a modern look with sleek office accents.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Resume in Photoshop

    How to Create a Resume in Photoshop

    Design a winning resume in Photoshop. In this video, YouTuber Digital Roni shows you how to build a nice modern design under an hour. Follow along for great design tips.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Make a Movie Poster With Texture Background In Photoshop

    How to Make a Movie Poster With Texture Background In Photoshop

    You
    can rock any design you want, like this legendary movie poster.
    YouTuber Mir Rom shows you how with his step-by-step process using
    simple textures. Enjoy!

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Design a Logo in Photoshop

    How to Design a Logo in Photoshop

    Sometimes designers like to work out their logos in Photoshop before
    transferring to Illustrator. Learn how to build a logo yourself using
    this video tutorial.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Design a Vintage Travel Poster in Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop

    How to Design a Vintage Travel Poster in Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop

    Show off your love of travel with a fun poster project. This tutorial from shows you how to create a vintage-inspired design using Illustrator and Photoshop.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Hand-Lettered Housewarming Poster in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Hand-Lettered Housewarming Poster in Adobe Photoshop

    Spread the love with this heartwarming poster tutorial. Instructor shows you how to create a delightful hand-lettered design with beautiful colors.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Leather Stamp Logo Mockup in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Leather Stamp Logo Mockup in Adobe Photoshop

    Logo mockups help you present your work in a clean, professional way. Learn how to create your own with help from .

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Make Your Photos Look Better Fast Photoshop Tutorial

    How to Create an Isometric Map Mockup Action in Adobe Photoshop

    delivers an awesome Photoshop action to create easier isometric maps. Learn the benefits of using actions to create amazing infographics.

    Visit Tutorial

  • Design a Floral Pattern for Fabric in Adobe Photoshop

    Design a Floral Pattern for Fabric in Adobe Photoshop

    Bring out your passion for pattern design with this tutorial. walks you through the steps of creating a handmade floral pattern.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create and Apply a Tropical Seamless Pattern in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create and Apply a Tropical Seamless Pattern in Adobe Photoshop

    Get tropical with this lovely seamless pattern tutorial by . Learn how to use custom shapes to create colorful flowers and fruit.

    Visit Tutorial

  • Design a Shopify Theme for Handcrafted Goods in Photoshop

    Design a Shopify Theme for Handcrafted Goods in Photoshop

    Launch an online store today! Design a Shopify theme using Adobe Photoshop. Learn more about color theory and proportion with this thorough lesson.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Retro Vintage Badge in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Retro Vintage Badge in Adobe Photoshop

    Or practice your skills with this retro badge design. Add that old vintage touch to your design using tips and tricks from .

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Design a Bollywood-Inspired Poster to Celebrate Hindu New Year

    How to Design a Bollywood-Inspired Poster to Celebrate Hindu New Year

    Try out this poster design featuring an energetic Bollywood theme from . Use it for any major celebration or event. Enjoy!

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create Flat Pirate Icons in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create Flat Pirate Icons in Adobe Photoshop

    This last design tutorial shows you how to make trendy flat icons in Adobe Photoshop. helps you design the pirate theme complete with a treasure-chest icon.

    Visit Tutorial

Text Effects

Text effect tutorials are one of the best ways to get started in Photoshop. But they’re even better for helping you master it. So clear out the cobwebs in your inspiration department and try a realistic text effect!

Step up your game with Layer Styles and design epic typography.

  • How to Create a Splashing Water Text Effect

    How to Create a Splashing Water Text Effect

    Photoshop’s 3D tools are still new to many designers. Try out this splashing water text effect from fellow instructor Rose. Spend the afternoon tinkering away at this lovely design.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create 80s Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create 80s Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Everyone’s lovin’ the 80s again and so are we! Join along with this text
    effect tutorial. A thoroughly broken down lesson, this tutorial will
    introduce you to incredible 3D typography and metallic effects.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Make 3D Text in Photoshop

    How to Make 3D Text in Photoshop

    Video tutorials are a great way to watch the design process unfold right
    before you. Check out this great video from Arunz Creation. Featuring
    3D tools and more, this Photoshop tutorial is one you’ll want to see.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a 3D Rock Text Effect

    How to Create a 3D Rock Text Effect

    Create awesome rock typography with this quick process video. Ismail El haddad shows you how to build the initial rock letters before finalizing it with vibrant plants. Enjoy!

    Visit Tutorial

  •  How to Create a Double Exposure Inspired Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Double Exposure Inspired Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Try out this cool double exposure effect to improve your typography skills. delivers a stunning and modern aesthetic we’re sure you’ll love.

    Visit Tutorial

  • Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop

    Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop

    Challenge yourself with this text effect tutorial. brings you a brilliant effect using fire stocks and filters.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create Stylized Hay Bale Typography in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create Stylized Hay Bale Typography in Adobe Photoshop

    Step out of the box with this stylized hay bale tutorial. helps you create clever typography using Photoshop’s 3D features.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a 3D Chipped Painted Wood Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a 3D Chipped, Painted Wood Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    breaks down her method for this 3D chipped wood effect in this tutorial. Get better acquainted with Photoshop’s 3D features in this detailed lesson.

    Visit Tutorial

  • Create a Marvelously British Scone Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Create a Marvelously British Scone Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Studying food is a great way to practice realism. Create a tasty British scone using this amazing tutorial by .

    Visit Tutorial

  •  How to Create a Fluffy Feathery Ugly Duckling Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Fluffy, Feathery Ugly Duckling Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Achieve amazing realism with this feather-inspired tutorial. guides you through the process using simple textures, modified tips, and more.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Tasty 3D Typographic Illustration in Photoshop

    How to Create a Tasty 3D Typographic Illustration in Photoshop

    We’ve got a mouth-watering treat for you with this typographic illustration. shows you how to complete this tasty, sweet typography using stocks and filters in Photoshop.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Metallic 3D Spiky Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Metallic 3D Spiky Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Channel your inner rocker with this metallic 3D text effect tutorial. Design the spiky effect from scratch using tips from instructor

    Visit Tutorial

  • Create Light Painted Typography From Scratch in Photoshop

    Create Light Painted Typography From Scratch in Photoshop

    Paint beautifully lit typography by hand. With a little patience and a lot of time, you can master this extraordinary effect by .

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a 3D Shiny Inflated Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a 3D, Shiny, Inflated Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Celebrate 10 years of tutorials at Envato Tuts+ with this shiny 3D text effect. creates this stunning design using quality fonts and gradients.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Colorful Explosion Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Colorful Explosion Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    This text effect packs a punch. Create a beautiful colorful explosion using smoke and texture overlays.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Retro 3D Displaced Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Retro 3D Displaced Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Mix 2D and 3D elements to imitate your favorite retro effects. This tutorial shows you how to create vibrant gradients and more.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Galaxy Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Galaxy Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Create an elegant galaxy text effect in this lesson. Learn how to use beautiful stocks to achieve a realistic effect.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Trendy Marble and Rose Gold Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Trendy Marble and Rose Gold Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Make an impact with a marble and rose gold text effect. This trendy style features a popular minimalist design that takes time to perfect. Try it out today!

    Visit Tutorial

Painting and Illustration

Digital art doesn’t have to be so hard. Just search around for tutorials that fit your learning style. These digital painting tutorials offer simple breakdowns for essential techniques.

Even great artists need more practice. Test out your knowledge with these awesome lessons.

  • How to Create a Fantasy Sword in Photoshop

    How to Create a Fantasy Sword in Photoshop

    Explore
    amazing game design techniques with instructor Javier Salas. Follow
    along as he breaks down the process of designing medieval-style swords
    based on animal references. Then give this lesson a try!

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Digitally Paint a Beautiful Animal-headed Portrait

    How to Digitally Paint a Beautiful Animal-Headed Portrait

    Many find animals easier to paint, particularly cats. Do
    you? Their furry faces challenge artists to push themselves and better
    their hone drawing skills. And you can learn how with this painting
    tutorial. 

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create an 80s-Inspired Portrait in Photoshop

    How to Create an 80’s-Inspired Portrait in Photoshop

    Paint
    a gorgeous portrait inspired by 80s design with this fun lesson.
    KittoZutto walks you through her personal steps to delivering a stunning
    digital painting.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Beautiful Bird Illustration

    How to Create a Beautiful Bird Illustration

    Illustrate a gorgeous swan using shadow and texture. This tutorial shows
    you how, along with several extra tips for developing more depth. Enjoy
    this lesson from instructor Andrew Lyons.

    Visit Tutorial

  • Create Stunning Iron Man Fan Art From Scratch in Photosho

    Create Stunning „Iron Man” Fan Art From Scratch in Photoshop

    In order to make digital paintings more realistic, you can incorporate photographic elements. Learn how with this Iron Man painting tutorial.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Sign Language Digital Painting in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Sign Language Digital Painting in Adobe Photoshop

    Spread love with a sign language painting and celebrate others. Learn how to use premium Photoshop brushes to achieve mood and realism with this tutorial by .

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Paint Water Waves and the Ocean in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Paint Water, Waves, and the Ocean in Adobe Photoshop

    Painting water is a painstaking process for many artists. Learn the secret to achieving realistic ripples and shine in this tutorial.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Use Color to Set the Mood in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Use Color to Set the Mood in Adobe Photoshop

    Conquer your fear of color with this digital painting challenge. Use adjustment layers and more to create amazing color effects.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Use Color to Set the Mood in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Use Color to Set the Mood in Adobe Photoshop

    There are a few simple ways to change the mood of your digital paintings. Learn how to use Photoshop’s essential tools to add beautiful filters to your work.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Paint Realistic Skin in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Paint Realistic Skin in Adobe Photoshop

    How do you paint skin in Photoshop? It’s simpler than you think. Follow these thorough steps to paint natural hues and realistic skin tones.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Digitally Paint Faces With Incredible Likeness

    How to Digitally Paint Faces With Incredible Likeness

    Likeness is how much you’re able to capture the person you’re painting. Are the features the same? Do they line up? And how can you improve? Find out in this lesson by .

    Visit Tutorial

  • Sculpt Your Idea How to Quickly Paint a Snow Griffin in Adobe Photoshop

    Sculpt Your Idea: How to Quickly Paint a Snow Griffin in Adobe Photoshop

    Follow along with to paint a beautiful snow griffin in Photoshop. Learn how to sculpt a character using a simple texture brush and a few steps.

    Visit Tutorial

  • An Introduction to Painting Realistic Hair in Adobe Photoshop

    An Introduction to Painting Realistic Hair in Adobe Photoshop

    Paint beautiful, springy hair with this Photoshop tutorial. breaks down what it’s like to paint four different hair styles and textures. Enjoy!

    Visit Tutorial

  • 7 Exercises to Improve Your Digital Painting Skills

    7 Exercises to Improve Your Digital Painting Skills

    Learn seven essential tips to bring the best out of your work. breaks down a few common things we all go through while trying to master our technique.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Digitally Paint a Superhero Portrait in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Digitally Paint a Superhero Portrait in Adobe Photoshop

    Get inspired by this wicked X-men fan art. Learn how to develop a sketch and background using simple brushes and filters.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create Dramatic Lighting in Your Digital Painting Portraits

    How to Create Dramatic Lighting in Your Digital Painting Portraits

    Stop stressing yourself out about lighting! You know more than you realize. Learn how to use Photoshop’s awesome tools to create dramatic lighting now.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Shade Black and White Realistically in Digital Painting

    How to Shade Black and White Realistically in Digital Painting

    Enhance your photos with these quick tips! YouTuber Peter McKinnon walks you through his process for editing photos. Learn about Adjustment Layers and more in this helpful video.

    Visit Tutorial

Animation

Love animation? Get started on your first cartoon in Photoshop. Take on these new challenges to bring your animations to life.

  • How to Illustrate Animals With 13 Circles

    How to Illustrate Animals With 13 Circles

    In this drawing challenge by Dorota Pankowska, she set out to draw several
    familiar animal designs using just 13 circles. Learn how to create one
    of these amazing animals yourself.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Make Your Pictures Come to Life using a Cinemagraph

    How to Make Your Pictures Come to Life using a Cinemagraph

    Nike said it best, Just do it. And in this awesome video,
    you’ll see Peter McKinnon create a cool cinemagraph effect in Adobe
    Photoshop. If you love photos and animation, you’ll definitely like this
    tutorial.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create an Animated GIF in Photoshop

    How to Create an Animated GIF in Photoshop

    Jump-start your love for animation with this video from Adobe Creative Cloud. Learn how to create simple animations layer by layer in under a minute!

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Draw an Animation in Photoshop

    How to Draw an Animation in Photoshop

    Learn how to draw dynamic movement frame by frame. Now is the time to make your animations come alive! Join YouTuber Finchwing for this Photoshop animation lesson.

    Visit Tutorial

  • Make an Animated Pumpkin Icon Using Pixel Art in Adobe Photoshop

    Make an Animated Pumpkin Icon Using Pixel Art in Adobe Photoshop

    This cute pumpkin will inspire you to get into animation. Join as you learn about pixel art animation techniques.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Selective Animated Glitch Photo Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Selective Animated Glitch Photo Effect in Adobe Photoshop

    Create an incredible animation glitch effect with this tutorial by . Learn how to use the automated Content Aware Fill feature and more great tools.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create an Animated Pixel Art Sprite in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create an Animated Pixel Art Sprite in Adobe Photoshop

    Dive into this animated pixel art tutorial by . Follow closely as you learn how to build and animate your pixel art. Try something new today.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Glitch Animated Gif Action in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Glitch Animated Gif Action in Adobe Photoshop

    Glitch effects can be used on all types of photos for a unique-looking post. Try this tutorial by to learn how to animate this amazing effect from start to finish.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create a Walking Kitten Animation In Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create a Walking Kitten Animation In Adobe Photoshop

    For cat lovers and friends, animate your favorite furry pals with this tutorial. breaks down the steps for a wonderful introduction to animation.

    Visit Tutorial

  • Create an Animated Interface GIF in Adobe Photoshop

    Create an Animated Interface GIF in Adobe Photoshop

    Learn how to design for better business. Create this animated GIF interface using the Timeline panel.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create an Animated Pixel Art Video Game Sprite in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create an Animated Pixel Art Video Game Sprite in Adobe Photoshop

    Run this happy bunny on a loop for a cute animation. shows you his methods for animating in Photoshop.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create Animated Vector Icons in Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop

    How to Create Animated Vector Icons in Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop

    Tackle this super awesome vector icon animation created by . Watch as you take simple icons and turn them into magical animations in Photoshop.

    Visit Tutorial

  • How to Create Animation Assets in Adobe Photoshop

    How to Create Animation Assets in Adobe Photoshop

    Design your own animation assets using this Photoshop tutorial. Instructor guides you step by step through the storyboard and illustration process.

    Visit Tutorial

  • Create a Flight Animation From Scratch in Adobe Photoshop

    Create a Flight Animation From Scratch in Adobe Photoshop

    Take flight with this fascinating animation tutorial from . Draw a realistic bird flapping its wings for a lovely effect.

    Visit Tutorial

Advanced Photoshop Courses

Want to learn more? Get quality, step-by-step videos from our experts. Envato Tuts+ courses offer creatives access to thorough video lessons on your favorite subjects. Conquer Photoshop on your time.

Mastering the Filter Forge Plugin for Adobe Photoshop

Filter Forge is an impressive Photoshop plugin made with quality custom-made textures. In this course, instructor explores the incredible preset and shows you how to master its settings.

 

Digital Portrait Painting in Adobe Photoshop

Some believe that mastering realism takes a lifetime, but you can get pretty close with a few Photoshop tricks. Follow along with my Photoshop course to achieve better likeness and realism in your digital portraits. 

 

Advanced Photo Manipulation Techniques

Learn the best techniques around for fiery photo manipulations! Build a volcanic scene with instructor Lewis Moorhead. In this course, you’ll use patterns and custom textures to create a powerful manipulation.

 

Advanced Photo Manipulation for Advertisements

Follow up with this advanced photo manipulation course for aspiring advertisers. Get the industry information you need to know to design amazing ads. Try out the refreshing design yourself, using pro techniques from .

 

Creative Videos, Creative Media and White Board Video Trends

Post pobrano z: Creative Videos, Creative Media and White Board Video Trends

The development of creative videos is currently an ongoing trend for today’s marketers since the evolution break out of mobile apps for iPods and smartphones. What this means is that an individual’s (i.e., teacher, marketer, consumer or people in general) thoughts, ideas, and expressions through visualization can be developed on creative videos. Creative videos are actually attracting mobile users because videos tend to be convenient and eye-catching than reading just content.

In fact, more and more people are actually watching videos on their smartphones and other mobile devices, like laptops and tablets. With social media sites like Twitter and Linkedin, streaming videos is a smarter way for people to present products and services, and to send their message (e.g., resumes and curriculum vitae) in a much more professional manner. Therefore, it’s no wonder that creative videos for education have become a growing trend for students and teachers with the use of advancing technologies, software programs and mobile apps in both online and traditional classrooms.

For people who own businesses, creative videos for mobile apps brings in more traffic than content ads because consumers prefer visualization rather reading just content, says Jane Wakefield of the Technology Reporter, Feb. 2, 2015.

Whiteboard videos (i.e., explainer video or sketched video), for example, are developed as creative videos for educational purposes to help students learn and comprehend subjects in a more creative, innovative and fun way. In addition, these types of sketched videos are being developed for employee training in today’s learning organizations. Because video presentations are effective, organizations are developing videos to explain their mission and vision (business plan) to stakeholders. Other reasons businesses create cartoon animation and design whiteboard videos are to able to explain new product development using easy understandable sketches and illustrations to educate employees and stakeholders.
Photo by Jonathan Velasquez on Unsplash

Teachers, therefore, can create a whiteboard video to help motivate students to want to learn subjects in school in a more smarter and cooler way. Audio is a great feature as well when developing explainer/sketch videos for learning, explaining and presenting any type of subjects step-by-step. Below are just nine simple steps in developing a whiteboard video effectively to meet the intended objective and purpose for presenting a subject matter:

  • You first need a well-written script to define the message that you want your audience to take away.
  • Hire a professional voice-over artist, especially if the explainer video is being presented to top executives and stakeholders in organizations and educational institutions.
  • Define and sketching the imagery.
  • Revise and arrange the imagery into an impressive and fun illustration to keep the audience’s attention to want to watch the video to the end.
  • Draw and create guidelines for eye-catching contrast effects throughout your sketch video.
  • Record the video by drawing illustrations on camera.
  • Sync the audio and video after shooting after the audio is complete.
  • Add music, but be sure to seek proper licensing of music if developing your explainer video for commercial purposes.
  • Test, and then export, present and share your whiteboard video to your audience.

“Universities, schools, other educational establishments, and even museums are realizing the potential of whiteboard animation as a teaching aid,” says Paul Lewis of eLearning Industry online, May 2, 2017. He states that most people enjoy the visualization in explainer/sketch videos because it gets the message across effectively and because visuals are entertaining. “Viewers will retain your message – which is paramount,” says Lewis.

Creative media, on the other hand, involves being able to have creative writing, game media (i.e., game design) and/or interaction design (e.g., digital sounds, images and motion, and involves people interacting and working together) skills. Other creative media skills include film and video or even art and design competencies to build and share creative works on social media sites like Facebook and Instagram. With continuous trends of creative videos and creative media, e-marketers are drawing the attention of consumers through video ads.

Featured image: By rawpixel.com on Unsplash

A Reasonable Approach for Getting Comfortable With Command Line

Post pobrano z: A Reasonable Approach for Getting Comfortable With Command Line

Considering how much the command line is an integral part of the developer’s workflow, it should not be thought overly difficult or tedious to learn.

At one time I avoided it myself, but one day began teaching myself ways to make the difficult as easy as it should be. I got over the hurdle, and you can too. It was worth investing my time to increase my command line comfort-level, and I am going to share a few tips and resources that I found helpful in this post.

The intended reader is the type who typically avoids the command line, or perhaps uses it occasionally but not as a regular or essential tool.

Tip #1: Maintain a Pragmatic Mindset

The way to get more comfortable with the command line is this: practice. You practice, and you get better. There is no secret trick to this; study and repetition of skills will turn into understanding and mastery. There is no use in the mindset that you cannot do this; it will only keep you from your goal. You may as well discard such thoughts and get down to it.

Tip #2: Keep a Cheat sheet

Don’t be afraid to keep a cheat sheet. I find that a thin, spiral-bound notebook kept next to my keyboard is perfect; writing the command down helps commit it to memory; having it in a place where I can refer to it while I am typing is convenient to the process. Do not permit yourself merely to copy and paste; you will not learn this way. Until you know the command, make yourself type it out.

Tip #3: Peruse languages outside of the one(s) you normally use

  1. Spend time looking at commands in various languages, looking at the commands even if you don’t immediately absorb, use, or remember them. It is worth it to invest a bit of time regularly, looking at these commands; patterns will eventually emerge. Some of them may even come back to you at an unexpected time and give you an extra eureka moment!
  2. Skimming through books with lots of CLI commands can prove interestingly useful for recognizing patterns in commands. I even take this one step further by getting my favorites spiral-bound. I am a big fan of spiral binding; a place like FedEx offers coil binding services at a surprisingly low cost.

Tip #4: Practice… safely

When I am advising someone who is new to contributing to open source, they are inevitably a bit nervous about it. I think this is perfectly natural if only to comfort myself that my own nervousness about it was perfectly natural. A good way to practice, though, is to set up your own repository for a project and regularly commit to it. Simply using common Git commands in a terminal window to commit inconsequential changes to a project of your own, will establish the „muscle memory” so that when it does come time to actually commit code of consequence, you won’t be held back by still being nervous about the commands themselves.

These are the commands I have noticed most common to use in the practical day-to-day of development. It’s perfectly acceptable to expect yourself to learn these and to be able to do any of them without a second thought. Do not use a GUI tool (they make weird merge choices). Learn how to write these commands yourself.

  • Check status
  • Create a new branch and switch to it
  • Add files
    • Add all the changes
    • Just add one of the changes
  • Commit
  • Push to a remote branch
  • Get a list of your branches
  • Checkout a branch
  • Delete a branch
  • Delete a branch even if there are changes
  • Fetch and merge the changes to a branch

Syncing a fork took longer to learn- I don’t often spend my work hours writing code for a repository that I don’t have access to. While contributing to open source software, however, I had to learn how to do this. The GitHub article about the topic is sufficient; even now I still have it bookmarked.

Tip #5: Level Up!

I really enjoy using Digital Ocean to level up my skills. Their step-by-step guides are really useful, and for $5 USD per month, „Droplets” are a cost-effective way to do so.

Here’s a suggested self-learning path (which, feel free to choose your own adventure! There are over 1700 tutorials in the Digital Ocean community):

  1. Create a Droplet with Ghost pre-installed. There is a little command line work to finalize the installation, which makes it a good candidate. It’s not completely done for you but there’s not so much to do that it’s overwhelming. There’s even an excellent tutorial already written by Melissa Anderson.
  2. Set up a GitHub repo to work on a little theming for Ghost, making small changes and practice your command line work.

It would be remiss of me to write any guide without mentioning Ember, as the ember-cli is undoubtedly one of the strongest there is. Feel free to head over to the docs and read that list!

Conclusion

There may be some that find this brief guide too simplistic. However, as famously said by S. Thompson in Calculus Made Easy- „What one fool can do, other fools can do also.” Don’t let anyone else make you think that using the command line is horribly difficult, or that they are a genius because they can. With practice, you will be able to do it, and it will soon be a simple thing.


A Reasonable Approach for Getting Comfortable With Command Line is a post from CSS-Tricks

Southern California’s Signature Architectural Styles

Post pobrano z: Southern California’s Signature Architectural Styles

Southern California is the epitome of architectural variation. Consisting of a heavily urbanized environment, the southern cities have attracted people of various backgrounds and heritages throughout history and continues to do so. From its car, architectural fusion with Jet futurism to many other forms of Googie styles, it has presumably made this modern form of art its signature style. Googie designs first appeared in California’s architectural style after WWII, when car transportation became the dominant mode of transport. Influences from the vehicle industry led entrepreneurs to incorporate such designs as a marketing gimmick to entice customers to walk into their food franchises, cafes, gas stations etc.

But this isn’t all there is to SoCal’s art of construction. In this article, we explore the residential home decor and the combination of various cultures, which is the reason behind such enormous architectural practices and progress in this state. California’s frequently changing landscape is a result of its growing diversity, just checking out Laguna Beach real estate will prove the wild diversity of the architecture even in one of the state’s most crowded areas. Apart from the commercial designs and ultra development, a traveler will find residential architecture ranging from adobe homes of Spaniards to glitzy homes of Hollywood celebs to breakthrough modernist architecture to stunning amusement park buildings to Googie structures aforementioned to historic bridges. These interesting and eye-catching sights are found in the following dominant areas of SoCal: Orange County, Los Angeles, Riverside-San Bernardino and San Diego.

Various Types of Architecture that manifests itself in SoCal Cities

Suffice to say is that these designs reflect the region’s development that spans well over 100s of years. It is the rich history from which these cities get most of their art marvel. Of course, the famous Hollywood’s influence and expansion is another major factor that shapes the increasingly modern constructive development.

Adobe Homes

Adobe homes are spread throughout Cali. made from organic materials like brick, it is also known as mud-brick homes. The structure basically resembles cob and rammed-earth buildings, even though adobe homes appear in varied fashion across the region. Adobe building material can be dated back to thousands of years when it was used by the locals of America.

Ranch

Ranch homes go by several names. One of the popular names is Californian Ranch. Originated in the US, Ranch homes are unique for their lengthy and dense ground structure with minimum interior and exterior decor. It is a simple style that first became popular during the war period and later at some point lost popularity to neo-eclectic house styles.

Bungalow

The year 1880 marked the popularity of bungalows in America which have Indian origins. They were originally found during the English colonial period in India. After they found its way into America, it was Southern Cali that made it the most renowned in the history of American housing styles with its large detached housing structure, a triangular roof with dormer windows, and a front porch. Today, bungalows have been innovated to reflect one of the finest art exhibitions.

Spaniard

The Spaniard architectural construction is completely reminiscent of their culture. Despite the south being a British colony in the 17th century, most of the inhabitants there were Spaniards; hence they built buildings and homes the way they were built in their motherland. The Spaniard home design has been adopted and innovated many times over and is popular across SoCal.

Colonial

The colonial housing style evolving from European influences began in the 1600s with the arrival of European immigrants. Colonial homes were originally two stories and resembled wider building structures but would have only one room on each floor. Today, these houses exist with multiple stories and several rooms on each floor.

Contemporary

Contemporary styled homes saw their rise between the 1960s and 1970 era. These houses have large plate glass windows. They use wood and stones in form of geometrical shapes and incorporate style into them. Contemporary designs are asymmetrical and designed to allow sunlight slip through the large windows and sliding doors. It has large doors with a plain interior. The style is a classic modern design which is added to from time to time but still remains an ever-changing one.

These are just a handful of the many housing decors found in these cities. Southern Cali’s climate is hot, droughty and sunny. It is a typical Mediterranean climate and this is why you’ll see many balconies and outdoor pool facilities in the front and backyards. There’s also a great deal of ultra-modern development in pool designs in residential settings. In summary, Cali is home to tremendous styles and trends in all capacities.

Welti-Furrer: Makes your move easier

Post pobrano z: Welti-Furrer: Makes your move easier
Print
Welti-Furrer

Makes your move easier.

Welti-Furrer is Switzerland’s leading moving and transport company. It’s expertise is grounded in a long tradition that goes back to the 19th century.

Advertising Agency:Ruf Lanz, Zurich, Switzerland
Creative Directors:Danielle Lanz, Markus Ruf
Art Director:Isabelle Hauser
Copywriter:Florian Birkner
Photographer:Jonathan Heyer
Cgi:Tobias Stierli, Simone Vogel
Account Executive:Linda Egloff

How to Create and Edit Gradients in Adobe Illustrator

Post pobrano z: How to Create and Edit Gradients in Adobe Illustrator

If you need a simple beginner’s introduction to working with gradients, watch this quick video from my course on Mastering Logo Design in Adobe Illustrator. I’ll show you how to create different types of gradients and change various options such as the colours, position, and opacity. 

By the end, you’ll be clear about how to create various different types of gradients and edit them to get the exact look you want.

How to Create and Edit Gradients in Adobe Illustrator

 

How to Create a Simple Gradient

Start by using the Rectangle Tool to create a simple rectangle to work on. Then you can open the Gradient panel by clicking the icon in the toolbar or by going to Window > Gradient.

Gradient panel in Adobe Illustrator

Clicking anywhere on the gradient slider will create a default black-to-white gradient. And the Reverse Gradient icon just above it lets you reverse the direction, going from left to right or right to left. Or you can manually adjust the angle of the gradient by typing a value in the box. 

Default gradient

There are also lots of presets, so you can go from top to bottom or left to right, and you can apply the gradient either to the fill or the stroke. And if you change the Type from Linear to Radial, it will emanate from the center towards the edges (and, of course, that can also be reversed).

Radial gradient

How to Change the Colours of the Gradient

You can adjust the starting point for each colour as well. So if you want more black, you can drag the arrow below the slider over to the right. And, if I bring the white in from the right hand side, you can see it creates a very, very harsh divide. 

Gradient with a harsh divide

So for a softer gradient, it’s always better to move these colour swatches apart. 

Now, for any gradient, you’ve got to have a minimum of two colours, because you have to have one colour that graduates into another. However, when you hover over the slider, a plus icon appears, and you can add more swatches. You can then double-click a swatch and pick a colour. 

Adding a colour to a gradient

So go ahead and add some more colours there. If you use global swatches, you can go into the Swatches panel and change the global swatch, and it will update it in every instance, including gradients.

Changing the global swatch

How to Change the Location and Opacity of a Gradient

To delete a swatch, just click and drag it off—you can do that with the black one on the left.

Gradient with black deleted

Then you can extend the other colours out by dragging the swatches, or you can also be more precise and type in a Location value. For the orange one, you can type 50% to get it right in the middle.

Of course, you can adjust the Opacity of any swatch by selecting it and choosing a value from the dropdown menu or typing a value in.

Changing gradient opacity

Between each individual swatch, you can adjust the position using the little diamond icon on the top of the slider. It’s very similar to moving the swatch itself—you can introduce a bit more of one colour and a bit less of another just by adjusting the break point within the gradient. 

Changing the position of each colour

And they also have Location percentages, so you can enter precise values if you prefer.

Watch the Full Course

In the full course, Mastering Logo Design in Adobe Illustrator, you’ll learn the essential tools you need to create a logo in Adobe Illustrator. As I did in this video with gradients, I’ll go through some important tools and techniques in Illustrator, and then at the end, we’ll apply everything we’ve learned in a practical project to create a complete logo design.

You can take this course straight away with a subscription to Envato Elements. For a single low monthly fee, you get access not only to this course, but also to our growing library of over 1,000 video courses and industry-leading eBooks on Envato Tuts+. 

Plus you now get unlimited downloads from the huge Envato Elements library of 300,000+ creative assets. Create with unique fonts, photos, graphics and templates, and deliver better projects faster.

How to Create a Brain Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

Post pobrano z: How to Create a Brain Text Effect in Adobe Photoshop

Final product image
What You’ll Be Creating

It’s almost Halloween! In this tutorial I will show you how to create a brain text effect in Adobe Photoshop. 

This effect is a part of my Halloween Text Effects on GraphicRiver.

GraphicRiver Item

Tutorial Assets

The following assets will be used during this tutorial:

Before you start, download and install these assets. It will help you to get the same result.

Introduction

If you are a beginner and are not good at painting, you can download and install the pattern, and skip the next part of the tutorial. To do that, go to Edit > Presets > Preset Manager. Change Preset Type to Patterns.

Load Pattern

After that, click on the Load button, find our pattern file on your device, and press Load. That’s all—now the patterns have been added. Also, you can drag and drop the pattern file to Photoshop.

1. How to Create the Brain Pattern

First of all we need to create the brain pattern. It will be the base of our text effect.

Step 1

Open Photoshop (I use Photoshop CS6), go to File > New, and create a new 314 x 374 px document.

Create New Document

Step 2

Rename the layer as Background. Fill this one using #d88364 color.

Fill Background

Step 3

Create a New Layer (Layer > New > Layer) with the name Lines. Move it above the Background.

Create Lines Layer

Step 4

Pick the Brush Tool (B), select a Hard Round brush, and go to Window > Brush to change some settings:

  • Size: 8 px
  • Spacing: 7%

If you are working with a graphics tablet, also check the Transfer and make sure that Opacity Jitter and Flow Jitter are controlled by Pen Pressure.

Brush Settings

Step 5

Set the Foreground Color to #7f2b16. Make sure you are on the Lines layer. Let’s start drawing the lines of the convolutions. You can use Eraser Tool (E) to clean or delete part of the image. My result:

Simple Lines

Step 6

Duplicate the Lines layer. Change the layer name to Shadow. This layer should be between Background and Lines.

Shadow Layer

Step 7

Right-click the Lines layer and choose Blending Options to create the Layer Style.

Add an Outer Glow:

  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 34%
  • Noise: 0%
  • Color: #7f2b16
  • Technique: Softer
  • Spread: 0%
  • Size: 4 px
  • Contour: Linear
  • Uncheck Anti-aliased
  • Range: 50%
  • Jitter: 0%

Step 8

Right-click the Shadow layer and choose Blending Options to create the Layer Style.

Add an Outer Glow:

  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 100%
  • Noise: 0%
  • Color: #c05648
  • Technique: Softer
  • Spread: 34%
  • Size: 16 px
  • Contour: Linear
  • Uncheck Anti-aliased
  • Range: 100%
  • Jitter: 0%
Outer Glow of Shadow Layer

Step 9

Create a New Layer (Layer > New > Layer) with the name Highlight. Move it between the Lines and Shadow layers. Set the Blending Mode for the layer to Vivid Light. Pick the Brush Tool (B) and draw the highlights using #e9a186 color. If your result doesn’t look smooth, go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the Radius to 3 px.

Highlight Layer

Step 10

Now we need to make sure that our image works as a pattern. To do that, stay on the Lines layer, go to Select > All (Control-A) to select the picture, go to Edit > Copy Merged to copy all layers as one, and go to Edit > Paste (Control-V) to paste this layer as a new one. Rename it Pattern. Now select this layer, and go to Layer > Smart Objects > Convert to Smart Object (or right-click on the layer and choose Convert to Smart Object).

Convert to Smart Object

Step 11

Pick this Smart Object, go to Filter > Other > Offset, and set these values:

Offset

Step 12

As you can see, our future pattern has some issues. To fix it, create a New Layer (Layer > New > Layer), pick the Brush Tool (B), change the Hardness to 30%, and paint over it using the Eyedropper Tool (I) to pick the colors. Result:

Fix Issues

Step 13

Create a new Hue/Saturation adjustment layer and decrease the Saturation to -20.

Change Saturation

Step 14

Our image is ready, and all you need to do is to create a pattern. Go to Edit > Define Pattern. Type Brain Pattern in the Name field.

New Pattern

2. How to Create the Text Smart Object

The main goal of this part is the creation of a Smart Object with a text layer inside. It will help you to make fast changes in the future.

Step 1

Set the Foreground Color to #454545. After that, pick Switch Foreground and Background Colors (X).

Create a new 4000 x 1420 px document with resolution of 300 pixels/inch. Set Background Content as Background Color.

New Document

Step 2

Pick the Type Tool (T) and select the Rounds Black font. Set the Font Size around 250 pt and Font Color #ffa81f. Write „BRAIN” in capital letters.

Brain Text

Step 3

Select the Brain layer, press Control-A, pick the Move Tool, and press Align vertical center and Align horizontal center to move the layer to the center of the document.

Align Text

Step 4

Go to Layer > Smart Objects > Convert to Smart Object to convert the text layer to a Smart Object (or right-click on the layer and choose Convert to Smart Object).

Convert to Smart Object

Step 5

Double-click with your mouse on the layer icon to open the Smart Object.

Go to Edit > Transform Free Path (Control-T) and change some settings of the text layer:

  • X: 2012 px
  • Y: 483 px
  • W: 93%
  • H: 111%
Transform Text

Step 6

Create the stain effect of the text using the Pen Tool (P). As you can see, I have filled the background with gray color to differentiate better. This layer is temporary and will be deleted before closing. My result:

Create Shapes

Now you need to save it. Go to File > Save (or press Control-S) to do it and File > Close to close this file. After that, you will get an updated Smart Object with a new word.

Step 7

Pick this Smart Object and duplicate it four times. As a result, there will be five copies of the Smart Object. I suggest renaming each layer from the top to the bottom using the following names: 

  • Volume
  • Pattern
  • Stroke
  • Shadow
  • Outer Stroke
List of Layers

It will help you to navigate the document during the following steps.

3. How to Create the Volume Layer Style

Step 1

Change the Fill of the layer to 0. Double-click with your mouse on the Volume layer to apply the following layer styles. Add a Bevel & Emboss using the following values:

  • Style: Inner Bevel
  • Technique: Smooth
  • Depth: 103%
  • Direction: Up
  • Size: 103 px
  • Soften: 16 px
  • Uncheck the Use Global Light box before setting an Angle: 120°
  • Altitude: 60°
  • Gloss Contour: Linear
  • Uncheck the Anti-aliased
  • Highlight Mode: Color Dodge
  • Highlight Color: #ffffff
  • Opacity: 65%
  • Shadow Mode: Color Dodge
  • Shadow Color: #ffffff
  • Opacity: 87%
Part Three - Bevel and Emboss

Step 2

Add a Contour:

  • Contour: Half Round
  • Uncheck Anti-aliased
  • Range: 73%
Part Three - Contour

Step 3

Add an Inner Shadow with these settings:

  • Blend Mode: Difference
  • Color: #7adafa
  • Uncheck the Use Global Light box before setting an Angle: -60°
  • Distance: 29 px
  • Choke: 20%
  • Size: 125 px
  • Contour: Linear
  • Uncheck the Anti-aliased
  • Noise: 2%
Part Three - Inner Shadow

Step 4

Now add an Inner Glow:

  • Blend Mode: Overlay
  • Opacity: 72%
  • Noise: 0%
  • Color: #ffffff
  • Technique: Softer
  • Source: Edge
  • Choke: 4%
  • Size: 33 px
  • Uncheck the Anti-aliased
  • Range: 55%
  • Jitter: 0%
Part Three - Inner Glow

Step 5

Add a Satin style using these settings:

  • Blend Mode: Multiply
  • Color: #000000
  • Opacity: 36%
  • Angle: 0°
  • Distance: 25 px
  • Size: 66 px
  • Contour: Linear
  • Uncheck the Anti-aliased and Invert
Part Three - Satin

Step 6

Add an Outer Glow:

  • Blend Mode: Multiply
  • Opacity: 57%
  • Noise: 0%
  • Color: #000000
  • Technique: Softer
  • Spread: 0%
  • Size: 25 px
  • Contour: Linear
  • Uncheck Anti-aliased
  • Range: 100%
  • Jitter: 0%
Part Three - Outer Glow

Step 7

Don’t forget about a Drop Shadow:

  • Blending Mode: Multiply
  • Color: #000000
  • Opacity: 41%
  • Uncheck the Use Global Light box before setting an Angle: 120°
  • Distance: 25 px
  • Spread: 0%
  • Size: 25 px
Part Three - Drop Shadow

As a result, you will have the following image:

Result of the Part Three

4. How to Create the Pattern Layer Style

Step 1

Double-click on the Pattern layer to apply the Layer Styles. Add a Stroke:

  • Size: 2 px
  • Position: Outside
  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 100%
  • Fill Type: Color
  • Color: #a8262d
Part Four - Stroke

Step 2

Now add an Inner Glow:

  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 100%
  • Noise: 0%
  • Color: #f15d62
  • Technique: Softer
  • Source: Edge
  • Choke: 100%
  • Size: 10 px
  • Uncheck the Anti-aliased
  • Range: 100%
  • Jitter: 0%
Part Four - Inner Glow

Step 3

Also add a Color Overlay with these settings:

  • Blend Mode: Soft Light
  • Color: #f59088
  • Opacity: 100%
Part Four - Color Overlay

Step 4

Add a Pattern Overlay:

  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 80%
  • Click on Pattern and select the pattern that we created earlier
  • Scale: 240% 
Part Four - Pattern Overlay

As a result, you will have the following image:

Result of the Part Four

5. How to Create the Stroke Layer Style

This is a simple step. All you need to do is to add a Stroke with these settings:

  • Size: 20 px
  • Position: Outside
  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 100%
  • Fill Type: Color
  • Color: #fb705c
Part Five - Stroke

As a result, you have the following image:

Result of the Part Five

6. How to Create the Shadow Layer Style

Step 1

Double-click on Shadow layer to apply the following layer styles. Add a Bevel & Emboss using the following values:

  • Style: Outer Bevel
  • Technique: Smooth
  • Depth: 1000%
  • Direction: Up
  • Size: 21 px
  • Soften: 0 px
  • Uncheck the Use Global Light box before setting an Angle: 90°
  • Altitude: 30°
  • Gloss Contour: Linear
  • Uncheck the Anti-aliased
  • Highlight Mode: Normal
  • Highlight Color: #ffffff
  • Opacity: 0%
  • Shadow Mode: Multiply
  • Shadow Color: #000000
  • Opacity: 50%
Part Six - Bevel and Emboss

Step 2

Add a Stroke with these settings:

  • Size: 20 px
  • Position: Outside
  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 100%
  • Fill Type: Gradient
  • Gradient: from #c88206 to #753104
  • Style: Linear
  • Angle: -90°
  • Scale: 100%
  • Uncheck Reverse and Dither
  • Check Align with Layer
Part Six - Stroke

Step 3

Add a Drop Shadow:

  • Blending Mode: Normal
  • Color: #000000
  • Opacity: 75%
  • Uncheck the Use Global Light box before setting an Angle: 90°
  • Distance: 11 px
  • Spread: 47%
  • Size: 38 px
Part Six - Drop Shadow

As a result, you will have the following image:

Result of the Part Six

7. How to Create the Outer Stroke Layer Style

Add a Stroke with these settings:

  • Size: 30 px
  • Position: Outside
  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 100%
  • Fill Type: Gradient
  • Gradient: from #bc1526 to #c72435
  • Style: Linear
  • Angle: 90°
  • Scale: 100%
  • Uncheck Reverse and Dither
  • Check Align with Layer
Part Seven - Stroke

As a result, you will have the following image:

Result of the Part Seven

Congratulations, You’re Done!

The brain text effect is ready. Here is the final image. I hope you enjoyed the tutorial.

Final Result

Don’t forget to share your result with us.

By the way, if you want to change the text, double-click on the Smart Object icon, and Photoshop will open a new PSB file. Change the text, go to File > Save to save changes and File > Close to close this file. After that, you will get an updated file with a new word.

You can purchase this effect as a part of my Halloween Text Effects on GraphicRiver.

Style Pack