Wszystkie wpisy, których autorem jest admin

Jamstack News!

Post pobrano z: Jamstack News!

I totally forgot that the Jamstack Conf was this week but thankfully they’ve already published the talks on the Jamstack YouTube channel. I’m really looking forward to sitting down with these over a coffee while I also check out Netlify’s other big release today: Build Plugins.

These are plugins that run whenever your site is building. One example is the A11y plugin that will fail a build if accessibility failures are detected. Another minifies HTML and there’s even one that inlines critical CSS. What’s exciting is that these build plugins are kinda making complex Gulp/Grunt environments the stuff of legend. Instead of going through the hassle of config stuff, build plugins let Netlify figure it all out for you. And that’s pretty neat.

Also, our very own Sarah Drasner wrote just about how to create your first Netlify Build Plugin. So, if you have an idea for something that you could share with the community, then that may be the best place to start.

Direct Link to Article — Permalink

The post Jamstack News! appeared first on CSS-Tricks.

25 Best Photo to Pencil Drawing Effect Actions for Photoshop

Post pobrano z: 25 Best Photo to Pencil Drawing Effect Actions for Photoshop

Learn how to make photo drawing effects using Photoshop actions! Check out this awesome resource list below.

How do you draw a person? A building? Or the sky? These simple questions open the floodgates to different design and art theories, but often people get intimidated by them.

That’s why you should always take advantage of different mediums to explore your creative thoughts. Photoshop line drawing actions can deliver promising, expert-level results by transforming any photo into a realistic pencil drawing.

Drawing Effect Photoshop Action
Get this stunning action to convert photos to sketch in Photoshop in a few clicks

Explore varying textures and more, with exciting actions perfect for any art enthusiast. Enjoy this selection of amazing hand-picked sketch art Photoshop actions from Envato Elements and fantastic PS drawing effects from GraphicRiver, and see how easily you can convert a photo to a sketch.

Envato Elements: Get the Best Photoshop Effects (With Unlimited Use) 

To get you started on the art of converting your photos to hand-drawn sketches, Envato Elements has a great, all-inclusive offer you can’t ignore.

Sign up for Envato Elements and get access to thousands of creative graphics and templates (with unlimited use), from stunning Photoshop actions to professional resume designs and more. All for one low monthly fee.

best pencil sketches from Envato Elements
Envato Elements has the best pencil sketches and photo effects for you 

Envato Elements saves you both the time and energy needed when you’re designing from scratch. That’s a key benefit you can’t miss from our offer.

15 Best Photoshop Sketch Filters to Download From Envato Elements

To show you what I’m talking about, I’ve gathered 15 of the best drawing filters and actions for sketches from Envato Elements. You’ll be able to convert a picture to a drawing in just a few clicks!

1. Sketch Art Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN)

Sketch Art Potoshop Action

For a little texture, this is a great photo to sketch converter. I went with this pretty Sketch Art action for Adobe Photoshop. Easily make your photos into gifts, packages, or souvenirs with this quick and effective action.

2. Concept Sketch – Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Concept Sketch - Photoshop Action

This sketch effect action for Photoshop will convert any picture to a drawing in seconds. Use this PS drawing action for any kind of engineering or architectural design and save yourself hours of work!

3. Sketch Action Photoshop effect (ATN)

Sketch Action Photoshop effect

This is a great Photoshop sketch filter to download from Envato Elements. Try this PS drawing action to convert a picture to a drawing in a matter of clicks, and get a very realistic result. 

4. Da Vinci Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Da Vinci Sketch Photoshop Action

This is one of our best pencil sketch effects. This drawing filter will give you artworks in the style of the great Renaissance painter, Leonardo da Vinci. The photo to hand drawing converter works best with portraits and inanimate objects and other photos.

5. Vintage Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Vintage Sketch Photoshop Action

Ever wanted to convert any photo to a sketch? You can do it quickly with this photo to sketch converter and give your portraits a unique vintage look. Get this Photoshop sketch filter and download it from Envato Elements to impress your friends.

6. Pencil Sketch – Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

This is a fantastic Photoshop line drawing action for any logo. You can convert any photo to a pencil sketch in Photoshop very easily. Apply this photo filter as many times as you wish, and get a different result every time. Don’t miss out on this action sketch and turn any photo into a pen and ink drawing.

7. Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN)

Sketch Photoshop Action

Dedicate a special portrait to your furry friend with this amazing photo filter. This features a Photoshop line drawing action, with accompanying brush textures to complete the look! It’s been tested on Photoshop CS3 and above, so make sure to try it out with recent versions!

8. Graphitum – Charcoal Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Graphitum - Charcoal Sketch Photoshop Action

Charcoal is another great medium many artists enjoy. And now you can convert a photo to a pencil sketch with Photoshop. Explore these dramatic tones with this fun action sketch. Included in this pack is one main Photoshop action with access to ten colorful presets for more options. Check it out!

9. Tech Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Tech Sketch Photoshop Action

Design the tech you’ve always wanted with this brilliant Photoshop action to help you convert photos to drawings. Try it out on amazing car concepts and more for fantastic tech-inspired drawings. Save countless hours with this simple Photoshop line drawing action packed with well-organized layers.

10. Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action

No matter your subject, Photoshop effects create jaw-dropping images that will wow your audience. And this pencil sketch action is no different. Create a realistic pencil sketch with Photoshop actions that you can easily apply color effects to. Keep it monochromatic for a traditional look, or just add color. 

11. Architectum – Sketch Draft Photoshop Action (ATN)

Architectum - Sketch Draft Photoshop Action

Need a new way to display your product photos? Try this wicked sketch Photoshop action. Featuring a fantastic, realistic look, this photo effect creates drawings that look as if they just left your drafting table. Simply pick the photo you want, and then play the action for great effects to convert a picture to a drawing!

12. Architectum 2 – Sketch Tools Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Architectum 2 - Sketch Tools Photoshop Action

A sequel to the original Architectum action, this is a photo to hand drawing converter you don’t want to miss! Add varying straight and diagonal lines for more dynamic energy in your work. Apply this realistic pencil sketch Photoshop action to objects, places, or transportation. Check it out!

13. Archi Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Archi Sketch Photoshop Action

Architects are known for bringing their work to life with traditional pencil sketches. Now you can get the same look with your favorite architectural imagery and convert a photo to a drawing. Perfect for exteriors, interiors, and other types of building design, this sketch art Photoshop action is highly effective and easy to use.

14. Pen Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pen Sketch Photoshop Action

Get clean crosshatching lines with this realistic pencil sketch Photoshop action. Optimized specifically for Photoshop CS3 and above, this Photoshop effect helps you enjoy a phenomenal pen sketch look without all the fuss. Use this ink sketch Photoshop action on posters, collages, and more for different effects.

15. ModernArt Photoshop Action (ATN)

ModernArt Photoshop Action

Highlight your family photos with this charming sketch effect action for Photoshop. The ModernArt action comes with one Photoshop action to quickly convert your work. Save the original background or upload your own textures for more variety. Try this photo to illustration converter!

GraphicRiver: Best Source for Photoshop Effects (Get One at a Time)

Are you looking for great action sketches for single purchase? GraphicRiver is the best digital market to buy single-use graphics and creative assets. It’s part of the Envato Market suite of online marketplaces that cater to many creative digital asset needs.

best pencil sketches from Graphicriver
The best photo sketch effects for single purchase are on GraphicRiver

While Envato Elements is a fantastic option, if you prefer to buy just one drawing filter (instead of getting unlimited access to hundreds of digital assets), check out the selection from our Envato Market below.

10 Best Sketch Photoshop Actions From GraphicRiver

Now, get ready to check out some of the best photo sketches for single purchase we have on GraphicRiver. Now it’s very easy to convert a photo to a pencil sketch in Photoshop and save a lot of time with these incredible photo effects.

1. Engraved Photo Sketch Effect (ABR, PAT)

Engraved Photo Sketch Effect

Let’s start with this fantastic photo to illustration converter. This ink sketch Photoshop action will turn your images into engraved works of art. Use this pics to sketch converter to give your photos a sophisticated, eye-catching look. 

It’s one of our best pencil sketches, and it works better with portraits, but you can try it on any other kind of picture.

2. Sketch Effect PS Drawing Filter (ATN)

Sketch Effect PS Drawing Filter

Here’s a pics to sketch converter that will turn your images into a fine drawing with a couple of clicks. It’s especially good in the architectural and design fields, but you can use this Photoshop effect on any other type of project. Don’t hesitate to check this ink sketch Photoshop action!

3. Mixed Ink Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Mixed Ink Sketch Photoshop Action

Use a photo to pen and ink drawing photo filter like this to help update your space! This ink sketch Photoshop action combines ink and pencil textures for an abstract, modern painting. This photo to illustration converter has been tested on dozens of photos with quality results and creates stunning images you’ll want to hang up. Try it out!

4. Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action

Discover the beauty of hatching and crosshatching pencil marks with this sketch Photoshop action. Convert a photo to a drawing with a two-step process. First, create a new layer dedicated to the pencil details, and then brush over your image. Press the action and presto! You’ve got a stunning result. This is one of the best photo sketch actions we have to offer!

5. Scribble Pen Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Scribble Pen Sketch Photoshop Action

Some artists are so talented that they can create epic drawings with pens! Now you can too with this incredible photo to pen and ink drawing effect. Dedicate a new layer to the areas where you want the most details, and then play the action. Within a matter of moments, you’ll get a cool drawing like the one above with this sketch art Photoshop action.

6. Pencil Sketch vs Camera Photo Effect Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

 Pencil Sketch vs Camera Photo Effect Photoshop Action

Easily change your landscapes into dramatic pencil sketches with this realistic pencil sketch Photoshop action. This photo effect simulates a person holding a torn drawing over a real-life scene. Inspired by the photo artist Ben Heine, this action creates a high-quality image we’re sure you’ll love. This is one of the best pencil sketches out there.

7. Art Pen Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Art Pen Photoshop Action

Make your photography even more beautiful with this photo to illustration converter. A photo to pen and ink drawing effect designed to combine two traditional textures into one, this action is highly effective. Play around with different looks by jumping into the folders section and experimenting with texture. Check this drawing filter out!

8. Pencil Print Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pencil Print Photoshop Action

Design epic prints with traditional pencil textures and convert any photo to a pencil sketch with Photoshop. This new photo filter brings you phenomenal results with simple instructions. As with most actions, you’ll need to follow the initial steps of preparing your photo before playing the photo to sketch converter. Pair this design with posters, prints, and more. 

9. Construct Photoshop Action (ATN, PAT)

Construct Photoshop Action

Construct a clean and dynamic composition with this helpful PS drawing action. Specifically made for design images and architecture-friendly content, this photo filter is super simple to master. Try out the colored pencil effect by itself or add more color to match your brand and convert a photo to pencil sketch with Photoshop.

10. Vintage Sketch 2 Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Vintage Sketch 2 Photoshop Action

Mix and match vintage styles and textures with beautiful color presets with this sketch effect action for Photoshop. This amazing photo effect is inspired by vintage drawings and even places your photo on weathered paper. Customize your result by playing with different brushes to make your work unique with this photo to hand drawing converter.

Learn More About Sketch Effect Actions

Learning how to convert photos to drawings and how to create your own sketch effect actions in Photoshop can be a little challenging at first. But don’t worry. We’ve got you covered. Check this tutorial we’ve made for you on this topic.

Also, don’t forget to follow along with us over on our Envato Tuts+ YouTube channel! We’ve got many more interesting and useful videos for you.

Show Us Your Sketch Effects!

Tried any of these pics to sketch converters? Let us know! Tell us your favorite Photoshop sketch effects in the comments below.

Or make your own! Convert any photo to a sketch using the following tutorials:

Conclusion

This has been a collection of premium resources perfect for the avid designer and photographer. For more cool Photoshop sketch actions and great PS drawing effects, check out Envato Elements and GraphicRiver, or enlist the help of our talented professionals at Envato Studio. Happy designing!

25 Best Photo to Pencil Drawing Effect Actions for Photoshop

Post pobrano z: 25 Best Photo to Pencil Drawing Effect Actions for Photoshop

Learn how to make photo drawing effects using Photoshop actions! Check out this awesome resource list below.

How do you draw a person? A building? Or the sky? These simple questions open the floodgates to different design and art theories, but often people get intimidated by them.

That’s why you should always take advantage of different mediums to explore your creative thoughts. Photoshop line drawing actions can deliver promising, expert-level results by transforming any photo into a realistic pencil drawing.

Drawing Effect Photoshop Action
Get this stunning action to convert photos to sketch in Photoshop in a few clicks

Explore varying textures and more, with exciting actions perfect for any art enthusiast. Enjoy this selection of amazing hand-picked sketch art Photoshop actions from Envato Elements and fantastic PS drawing effects from GraphicRiver, and see how easily you can convert a photo to a sketch.

Envato Elements: Get the Best Photoshop Effects (With Unlimited Use) 

To get you started on the art of converting your photos to hand-drawn sketches, Envato Elements has a great, all-inclusive offer you can’t ignore.

Sign up for Envato Elements and get access to thousands of creative graphics and templates (with unlimited use), from stunning Photoshop actions to professional resume designs and more. All for one low monthly fee.

best pencil sketches from Envato Elements
Envato Elements has the best pencil sketches and photo effects for you 

Envato Elements saves you both the time and energy needed when you’re designing from scratch. That’s a key benefit you can’t miss from our offer.

15 Best Photoshop Sketch Filters to Download From Envato Elements

To show you what I’m talking about, I’ve gathered 15 of the best drawing filters and actions for sketches from Envato Elements. You’ll be able to convert a picture to a drawing in just a few clicks!

1. Sketch Art Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN)

Sketch Art Potoshop Action

For a little texture, this is a great photo to sketch converter. I went with this pretty Sketch Art action for Adobe Photoshop. Easily make your photos into gifts, packages, or souvenirs with this quick and effective action.

2. Concept Sketch – Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Concept Sketch - Photoshop Action

This sketch effect action for Photoshop will convert any picture to a drawing in seconds. Use this PS drawing action for any kind of engineering or architectural design and save yourself hours of work!

3. Sketch Action Photoshop effect (ATN)

Sketch Action Photoshop effect

This is a great Photoshop sketch filter to download from Envato Elements. Try this PS drawing action to convert a picture to a drawing in a matter of clicks, and get a very realistic result. 

4. Da Vinci Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Da Vinci Sketch Photoshop Action

This is one of our best pencil sketch effects. This drawing filter will give you artworks in the style of the great Renaissance painter, Leonardo da Vinci. The photo to hand drawing converter works best with portraits and inanimate objects and other photos.

5. Vintage Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Vintage Sketch Photoshop Action

Ever wanted to convert any photo to a sketch? You can do it quickly with this photo to sketch converter and give your portraits a unique vintage look. Get this Photoshop sketch filter and download it from Envato Elements to impress your friends.

6. Pencil Sketch – Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

This is a fantastic Photoshop line drawing action for any logo. You can convert any photo to a pencil sketch in Photoshop very easily. Apply this photo filter as many times as you wish, and get a different result every time. Don’t miss out on this action sketch and turn any photo into a pen and ink drawing.

7. Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN)

Sketch Photoshop Action

Dedicate a special portrait to your furry friend with this amazing photo filter. This features a Photoshop line drawing action, with accompanying brush textures to complete the look! It’s been tested on Photoshop CS3 and above, so make sure to try it out with recent versions!

8. Graphitum – Charcoal Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Graphitum - Charcoal Sketch Photoshop Action

Charcoal is another great medium many artists enjoy. And now you can convert a photo to a pencil sketch with Photoshop. Explore these dramatic tones with this fun action sketch. Included in this pack is one main Photoshop action with access to ten colorful presets for more options. Check it out!

9. Tech Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Tech Sketch Photoshop Action

Design the tech you’ve always wanted with this brilliant Photoshop action to help you convert photos to drawings. Try it out on amazing car concepts and more for fantastic tech-inspired drawings. Save countless hours with this simple Photoshop line drawing action packed with well-organized layers.

10. Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action

No matter your subject, Photoshop effects create jaw-dropping images that will wow your audience. And this pencil sketch action is no different. Create a realistic pencil sketch with Photoshop actions that you can easily apply color effects to. Keep it monochromatic for a traditional look, or just add color. 

11. Architectum – Sketch Draft Photoshop Action (ATN)

Architectum - Sketch Draft Photoshop Action

Need a new way to display your product photos? Try this wicked sketch Photoshop action. Featuring a fantastic, realistic look, this photo effect creates drawings that look as if they just left your drafting table. Simply pick the photo you want, and then play the action for great effects to convert a picture to a drawing!

12. Architectum 2 – Sketch Tools Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Architectum 2 - Sketch Tools Photoshop Action

A sequel to the original Architectum action, this is a photo to hand drawing converter you don’t want to miss! Add varying straight and diagonal lines for more dynamic energy in your work. Apply this realistic pencil sketch Photoshop action to objects, places, or transportation. Check it out!

13. Archi Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Archi Sketch Photoshop Action

Architects are known for bringing their work to life with traditional pencil sketches. Now you can get the same look with your favorite architectural imagery and convert a photo to a drawing. Perfect for exteriors, interiors, and other types of building design, this sketch art Photoshop action is highly effective and easy to use.

14. Pen Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pen Sketch Photoshop Action

Get clean crosshatching lines with this realistic pencil sketch Photoshop action. Optimized specifically for Photoshop CS3 and above, this Photoshop effect helps you enjoy a phenomenal pen sketch look without all the fuss. Use this ink sketch Photoshop action on posters, collages, and more for different effects.

15. ModernArt Photoshop Action (ATN)

ModernArt Photoshop Action

Highlight your family photos with this charming sketch effect action for Photoshop. The ModernArt action comes with one Photoshop action to quickly convert your work. Save the original background or upload your own textures for more variety. Try this photo to illustration converter!

GraphicRiver: Best Source for Photoshop Effects (Get One at a Time)

Are you looking for great action sketches for single purchase? GraphicRiver is the best digital market to buy single-use graphics and creative assets. It’s part of the Envato Market suite of online marketplaces that cater to many creative digital asset needs.

best pencil sketches from Graphicriver
The best photo sketch effects for single purchase are on GraphicRiver

While Envato Elements is a fantastic option, if you prefer to buy just one drawing filter (instead of getting unlimited access to hundreds of digital assets), check out the selection from our Envato Market below.

10 Best Sketch Photoshop Actions From GraphicRiver

Now, get ready to check out some of the best photo sketches for single purchase we have on GraphicRiver. Now it’s very easy to convert a photo to a pencil sketch in Photoshop and save a lot of time with these incredible photo effects.

1. Engraved Photo Sketch Effect (ABR, PAT)

Engraved Photo Sketch Effect

Let’s start with this fantastic photo to illustration converter. This ink sketch Photoshop action will turn your images into engraved works of art. Use this pics to sketch converter to give your photos a sophisticated, eye-catching look. 

It’s one of our best pencil sketches, and it works better with portraits, but you can try it on any other kind of picture.

2. Sketch Effect PS Drawing Filter (ATN)

Sketch Effect PS Drawing Filter

Here’s a pics to sketch converter that will turn your images into a fine drawing with a couple of clicks. It’s especially good in the architectural and design fields, but you can use this Photoshop effect on any other type of project. Don’t hesitate to check this ink sketch Photoshop action!

3. Mixed Ink Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Mixed Ink Sketch Photoshop Action

Use a photo to pen and ink drawing photo filter like this to help update your space! This ink sketch Photoshop action combines ink and pencil textures for an abstract, modern painting. This photo to illustration converter has been tested on dozens of photos with quality results and creates stunning images you’ll want to hang up. Try it out!

4. Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action

Discover the beauty of hatching and crosshatching pencil marks with this sketch Photoshop action. Convert a photo to a drawing with a two-step process. First, create a new layer dedicated to the pencil details, and then brush over your image. Press the action and presto! You’ve got a stunning result. This is one of the best photo sketch actions we have to offer!

5. Scribble Pen Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Scribble Pen Sketch Photoshop Action

Some artists are so talented that they can create epic drawings with pens! Now you can too with this incredible photo to pen and ink drawing effect. Dedicate a new layer to the areas where you want the most details, and then play the action. Within a matter of moments, you’ll get a cool drawing like the one above with this sketch art Photoshop action.

6. Pencil Sketch vs Camera Photo Effect Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

 Pencil Sketch vs Camera Photo Effect Photoshop Action

Easily change your landscapes into dramatic pencil sketches with this realistic pencil sketch Photoshop action. This photo effect simulates a person holding a torn drawing over a real-life scene. Inspired by the photo artist Ben Heine, this action creates a high-quality image we’re sure you’ll love. This is one of the best pencil sketches out there.

7. Art Pen Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Art Pen Photoshop Action

Make your photography even more beautiful with this photo to illustration converter. A photo to pen and ink drawing effect designed to combine two traditional textures into one, this action is highly effective. Play around with different looks by jumping into the folders section and experimenting with texture. Check this drawing filter out!

8. Pencil Print Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pencil Print Photoshop Action

Design epic prints with traditional pencil textures and convert any photo to a pencil sketch with Photoshop. This new photo filter brings you phenomenal results with simple instructions. As with most actions, you’ll need to follow the initial steps of preparing your photo before playing the photo to sketch converter. Pair this design with posters, prints, and more. 

9. Construct Photoshop Action (ATN, PAT)

Construct Photoshop Action

Construct a clean and dynamic composition with this helpful PS drawing action. Specifically made for design images and architecture-friendly content, this photo filter is super simple to master. Try out the colored pencil effect by itself or add more color to match your brand and convert a photo to pencil sketch with Photoshop.

10. Vintage Sketch 2 Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Vintage Sketch 2 Photoshop Action

Mix and match vintage styles and textures with beautiful color presets with this sketch effect action for Photoshop. This amazing photo effect is inspired by vintage drawings and even places your photo on weathered paper. Customize your result by playing with different brushes to make your work unique with this photo to hand drawing converter.

Learn More About Sketch Effect Actions

Learning how to convert photos to drawings and how to create your own sketch effect actions in Photoshop can be a little challenging at first. But don’t worry. We’ve got you covered. Check this tutorial we’ve made for you on this topic.

Also, don’t forget to follow along with us over on our Envato Tuts+ YouTube channel! We’ve got many more interesting and useful videos for you.

Show Us Your Sketch Effects!

Tried any of these pics to sketch converters? Let us know! Tell us your favorite Photoshop sketch effects in the comments below.

Or make your own! Convert any photo to a sketch using the following tutorials:

Conclusion

This has been a collection of premium resources perfect for the avid designer and photographer. For more cool Photoshop sketch actions and great PS drawing effects, check out Envato Elements and GraphicRiver, or enlist the help of our talented professionals at Envato Studio. Happy designing!

25 Best Photo to Pencil Drawing Effect Actions for Photoshop

Post pobrano z: 25 Best Photo to Pencil Drawing Effect Actions for Photoshop

Learn how to make photo drawing effects using Photoshop actions! Check out this awesome resource list below.

How do you draw a person? A building? Or the sky? These simple questions open the floodgates to different design and art theories, but often people get intimidated by them.

That’s why you should always take advantage of different mediums to explore your creative thoughts. Photoshop line drawing actions can deliver promising, expert-level results by transforming any photo into a realistic pencil drawing.

Drawing Effect Photoshop Action
Get this stunning action to convert photos to sketch in Photoshop in a few clicks

Explore varying textures and more, with exciting actions perfect for any art enthusiast. Enjoy this selection of amazing hand-picked sketch art Photoshop actions from Envato Elements and fantastic PS drawing effects from GraphicRiver, and see how easily you can convert a photo to a sketch.

Envato Elements: Get the Best Photoshop Effects (With Unlimited Use) 

To get you started on the art of converting your photos to hand-drawn sketches, Envato Elements has a great, all-inclusive offer you can’t ignore.

Sign up for Envato Elements and get access to thousands of creative graphics and templates (with unlimited use), from stunning Photoshop actions to professional resume designs and more. All for one low monthly fee.

best pencil sketches from Envato Elements
Envato Elements has the best pencil sketches and photo effects for you 

Envato Elements saves you both the time and energy needed when you’re designing from scratch. That’s a key benefit you can’t miss from our offer.

15 Best Photoshop Sketch Filters to Download From Envato Elements

To show you what I’m talking about, I’ve gathered 15 of the best drawing filters and actions for sketches from Envato Elements. You’ll be able to convert a picture to a drawing in just a few clicks!

1. Sketch Art Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN)

Sketch Art Potoshop Action

For a little texture, this is a great photo to sketch converter. I went with this pretty Sketch Art action for Adobe Photoshop. Easily make your photos into gifts, packages, or souvenirs with this quick and effective action.

2. Concept Sketch – Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Concept Sketch - Photoshop Action

This sketch effect action for Photoshop will convert any picture to a drawing in seconds. Use this PS drawing action for any kind of engineering or architectural design and save yourself hours of work!

3. Sketch Action Photoshop effect (ATN)

Sketch Action Photoshop effect

This is a great Photoshop sketch filter to download from Envato Elements. Try this PS drawing action to convert a picture to a drawing in a matter of clicks, and get a very realistic result. 

4. Da Vinci Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Da Vinci Sketch Photoshop Action

This is one of our best pencil sketch effects. This drawing filter will give you artworks in the style of the great Renaissance painter, Leonardo da Vinci. The photo to hand drawing converter works best with portraits and inanimate objects and other photos.

5. Vintage Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Vintage Sketch Photoshop Action

Ever wanted to convert any photo to a sketch? You can do it quickly with this photo to sketch converter and give your portraits a unique vintage look. Get this Photoshop sketch filter and download it from Envato Elements to impress your friends.

6. Pencil Sketch – Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

This is a fantastic Photoshop line drawing action for any logo. You can convert any photo to a pencil sketch in Photoshop very easily. Apply this photo filter as many times as you wish, and get a different result every time. Don’t miss out on this action sketch and turn any photo into a pen and ink drawing.

7. Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN)

Sketch Photoshop Action

Dedicate a special portrait to your furry friend with this amazing photo filter. This features a Photoshop line drawing action, with accompanying brush textures to complete the look! It’s been tested on Photoshop CS3 and above, so make sure to try it out with recent versions!

8. Graphitum – Charcoal Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Graphitum - Charcoal Sketch Photoshop Action

Charcoal is another great medium many artists enjoy. And now you can convert a photo to a pencil sketch with Photoshop. Explore these dramatic tones with this fun action sketch. Included in this pack is one main Photoshop action with access to ten colorful presets for more options. Check it out!

9. Tech Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Tech Sketch Photoshop Action

Design the tech you’ve always wanted with this brilliant Photoshop action to help you convert photos to drawings. Try it out on amazing car concepts and more for fantastic tech-inspired drawings. Save countless hours with this simple Photoshop line drawing action packed with well-organized layers.

10. Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action

No matter your subject, Photoshop effects create jaw-dropping images that will wow your audience. And this pencil sketch action is no different. Create a realistic pencil sketch with Photoshop actions that you can easily apply color effects to. Keep it monochromatic for a traditional look, or just add color. 

11. Architectum – Sketch Draft Photoshop Action (ATN)

Architectum - Sketch Draft Photoshop Action

Need a new way to display your product photos? Try this wicked sketch Photoshop action. Featuring a fantastic, realistic look, this photo effect creates drawings that look as if they just left your drafting table. Simply pick the photo you want, and then play the action for great effects to convert a picture to a drawing!

12. Architectum 2 – Sketch Tools Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Architectum 2 - Sketch Tools Photoshop Action

A sequel to the original Architectum action, this is a photo to hand drawing converter you don’t want to miss! Add varying straight and diagonal lines for more dynamic energy in your work. Apply this realistic pencil sketch Photoshop action to objects, places, or transportation. Check it out!

13. Archi Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Archi Sketch Photoshop Action

Architects are known for bringing their work to life with traditional pencil sketches. Now you can get the same look with your favorite architectural imagery and convert a photo to a drawing. Perfect for exteriors, interiors, and other types of building design, this sketch art Photoshop action is highly effective and easy to use.

14. Pen Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pen Sketch Photoshop Action

Get clean crosshatching lines with this realistic pencil sketch Photoshop action. Optimized specifically for Photoshop CS3 and above, this Photoshop effect helps you enjoy a phenomenal pen sketch look without all the fuss. Use this ink sketch Photoshop action on posters, collages, and more for different effects.

15. ModernArt Photoshop Action (ATN)

ModernArt Photoshop Action

Highlight your family photos with this charming sketch effect action for Photoshop. The ModernArt action comes with one Photoshop action to quickly convert your work. Save the original background or upload your own textures for more variety. Try this photo to illustration converter!

GraphicRiver: Best Source for Photoshop Effects (Get One at a Time)

Are you looking for great action sketches for single purchase? GraphicRiver is the best digital market to buy single-use graphics and creative assets. It’s part of the Envato Market suite of online marketplaces that cater to many creative digital asset needs.

best pencil sketches from Graphicriver
The best photo sketch effects for single purchase are on GraphicRiver

While Envato Elements is a fantastic option, if you prefer to buy just one drawing filter (instead of getting unlimited access to hundreds of digital assets), check out the selection from our Envato Market below.

10 Best Sketch Photoshop Actions From GraphicRiver

Now, get ready to check out some of the best photo sketches for single purchase we have on GraphicRiver. Now it’s very easy to convert a photo to a pencil sketch in Photoshop and save a lot of time with these incredible photo effects.

1. Engraved Photo Sketch Effect (ABR, PAT)

Engraved Photo Sketch Effect

Let’s start with this fantastic photo to illustration converter. This ink sketch Photoshop action will turn your images into engraved works of art. Use this pics to sketch converter to give your photos a sophisticated, eye-catching look. 

It’s one of our best pencil sketches, and it works better with portraits, but you can try it on any other kind of picture.

2. Sketch Effect PS Drawing Filter (ATN)

Sketch Effect PS Drawing Filter

Here’s a pics to sketch converter that will turn your images into a fine drawing with a couple of clicks. It’s especially good in the architectural and design fields, but you can use this Photoshop effect on any other type of project. Don’t hesitate to check this ink sketch Photoshop action!

3. Mixed Ink Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Mixed Ink Sketch Photoshop Action

Use a photo to pen and ink drawing photo filter like this to help update your space! This ink sketch Photoshop action combines ink and pencil textures for an abstract, modern painting. This photo to illustration converter has been tested on dozens of photos with quality results and creates stunning images you’ll want to hang up. Try it out!

4. Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action

Discover the beauty of hatching and crosshatching pencil marks with this sketch Photoshop action. Convert a photo to a drawing with a two-step process. First, create a new layer dedicated to the pencil details, and then brush over your image. Press the action and presto! You’ve got a stunning result. This is one of the best photo sketch actions we have to offer!

5. Scribble Pen Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Scribble Pen Sketch Photoshop Action

Some artists are so talented that they can create epic drawings with pens! Now you can too with this incredible photo to pen and ink drawing effect. Dedicate a new layer to the areas where you want the most details, and then play the action. Within a matter of moments, you’ll get a cool drawing like the one above with this sketch art Photoshop action.

6. Pencil Sketch vs Camera Photo Effect Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

 Pencil Sketch vs Camera Photo Effect Photoshop Action

Easily change your landscapes into dramatic pencil sketches with this realistic pencil sketch Photoshop action. This photo effect simulates a person holding a torn drawing over a real-life scene. Inspired by the photo artist Ben Heine, this action creates a high-quality image we’re sure you’ll love. This is one of the best pencil sketches out there.

7. Art Pen Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Art Pen Photoshop Action

Make your photography even more beautiful with this photo to illustration converter. A photo to pen and ink drawing effect designed to combine two traditional textures into one, this action is highly effective. Play around with different looks by jumping into the folders section and experimenting with texture. Check this drawing filter out!

8. Pencil Print Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pencil Print Photoshop Action

Design epic prints with traditional pencil textures and convert any photo to a pencil sketch with Photoshop. This new photo filter brings you phenomenal results with simple instructions. As with most actions, you’ll need to follow the initial steps of preparing your photo before playing the photo to sketch converter. Pair this design with posters, prints, and more. 

9. Construct Photoshop Action (ATN, PAT)

Construct Photoshop Action

Construct a clean and dynamic composition with this helpful PS drawing action. Specifically made for design images and architecture-friendly content, this photo filter is super simple to master. Try out the colored pencil effect by itself or add more color to match your brand and convert a photo to pencil sketch with Photoshop.

10. Vintage Sketch 2 Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Vintage Sketch 2 Photoshop Action

Mix and match vintage styles and textures with beautiful color presets with this sketch effect action for Photoshop. This amazing photo effect is inspired by vintage drawings and even places your photo on weathered paper. Customize your result by playing with different brushes to make your work unique with this photo to hand drawing converter.

Learn More About Sketch Effect Actions

Learning how to convert photos to drawings and how to create your own sketch effect actions in Photoshop can be a little challenging at first. But don’t worry. We’ve got you covered. Check this tutorial we’ve made for you on this topic.

Also, don’t forget to follow along with us over on our Envato Tuts+ YouTube channel! We’ve got many more interesting and useful videos for you.

Show Us Your Sketch Effects!

Tried any of these pics to sketch converters? Let us know! Tell us your favorite Photoshop sketch effects in the comments below.

Or make your own! Convert any photo to a sketch using the following tutorials:

Conclusion

This has been a collection of premium resources perfect for the avid designer and photographer. For more cool Photoshop sketch actions and great PS drawing effects, check out Envato Elements and GraphicRiver, or enlist the help of our talented professionals at Envato Studio. Happy designing!

25 Best Photo to Pencil Drawing Effect Actions for Photoshop

Post pobrano z: 25 Best Photo to Pencil Drawing Effect Actions for Photoshop

Learn how to make photo drawing effects using Photoshop actions! Check out this awesome resource list below.

How do you draw a person? A building? Or the sky? These simple questions open the floodgates to different design and art theories, but often people get intimidated by them.

That’s why you should always take advantage of different mediums to explore your creative thoughts. Photoshop line drawing actions can deliver promising, expert-level results by transforming any photo into a realistic pencil drawing.

Drawing Effect Photoshop Action
Get this stunning action to convert photos to sketch in Photoshop in a few clicks

Explore varying textures and more, with exciting actions perfect for any art enthusiast. Enjoy this selection of amazing hand-picked sketch art Photoshop actions from Envato Elements and fantastic PS drawing effects from GraphicRiver, and see how easily you can convert a photo to a sketch.

Envato Elements: Get the Best Photoshop Effects (With Unlimited Use) 

To get you started on the art of converting your photos to hand-drawn sketches, Envato Elements has a great, all-inclusive offer you can’t ignore.

Sign up for Envato Elements and get access to thousands of creative graphics and templates (with unlimited use), from stunning Photoshop actions to professional resume designs and more. All for one low monthly fee.

best pencil sketches from Envato Elements
Envato Elements has the best pencil sketches and photo effects for you 

Envato Elements saves you both the time and energy needed when you’re designing from scratch. That’s a key benefit you can’t miss from our offer.

15 Best Photoshop Sketch Filters to Download From Envato Elements

To show you what I’m talking about, I’ve gathered 15 of the best drawing filters and actions for sketches from Envato Elements. You’ll be able to convert a picture to a drawing in just a few clicks!

1. Sketch Art Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN)

Sketch Art Potoshop Action

For a little texture, this is a great photo to sketch converter. I went with this pretty Sketch Art action for Adobe Photoshop. Easily make your photos into gifts, packages, or souvenirs with this quick and effective action.

2. Concept Sketch – Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Concept Sketch - Photoshop Action

This sketch effect action for Photoshop will convert any picture to a drawing in seconds. Use this PS drawing action for any kind of engineering or architectural design and save yourself hours of work!

3. Sketch Action Photoshop effect (ATN)

Sketch Action Photoshop effect

This is a great Photoshop sketch filter to download from Envato Elements. Try this PS drawing action to convert a picture to a drawing in a matter of clicks, and get a very realistic result. 

4. Da Vinci Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Da Vinci Sketch Photoshop Action

This is one of our best pencil sketch effects. This drawing filter will give you artworks in the style of the great Renaissance painter, Leonardo da Vinci. The photo to hand drawing converter works best with portraits and inanimate objects and other photos.

5. Vintage Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Vintage Sketch Photoshop Action

Ever wanted to convert any photo to a sketch? You can do it quickly with this photo to sketch converter and give your portraits a unique vintage look. Get this Photoshop sketch filter and download it from Envato Elements to impress your friends.

6. Pencil Sketch – Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

This is a fantastic Photoshop line drawing action for any logo. You can convert any photo to a pencil sketch in Photoshop very easily. Apply this photo filter as many times as you wish, and get a different result every time. Don’t miss out on this action sketch and turn any photo into a pen and ink drawing.

7. Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN)

Sketch Photoshop Action

Dedicate a special portrait to your furry friend with this amazing photo filter. This features a Photoshop line drawing action, with accompanying brush textures to complete the look! It’s been tested on Photoshop CS3 and above, so make sure to try it out with recent versions!

8. Graphitum – Charcoal Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Graphitum - Charcoal Sketch Photoshop Action

Charcoal is another great medium many artists enjoy. And now you can convert a photo to a pencil sketch with Photoshop. Explore these dramatic tones with this fun action sketch. Included in this pack is one main Photoshop action with access to ten colorful presets for more options. Check it out!

9. Tech Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Tech Sketch Photoshop Action

Design the tech you’ve always wanted with this brilliant Photoshop action to help you convert photos to drawings. Try it out on amazing car concepts and more for fantastic tech-inspired drawings. Save countless hours with this simple Photoshop line drawing action packed with well-organized layers.

10. Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action

No matter your subject, Photoshop effects create jaw-dropping images that will wow your audience. And this pencil sketch action is no different. Create a realistic pencil sketch with Photoshop actions that you can easily apply color effects to. Keep it monochromatic for a traditional look, or just add color. 

11. Architectum – Sketch Draft Photoshop Action (ATN)

Architectum - Sketch Draft Photoshop Action

Need a new way to display your product photos? Try this wicked sketch Photoshop action. Featuring a fantastic, realistic look, this photo effect creates drawings that look as if they just left your drafting table. Simply pick the photo you want, and then play the action for great effects to convert a picture to a drawing!

12. Architectum 2 – Sketch Tools Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Architectum 2 - Sketch Tools Photoshop Action

A sequel to the original Architectum action, this is a photo to hand drawing converter you don’t want to miss! Add varying straight and diagonal lines for more dynamic energy in your work. Apply this realistic pencil sketch Photoshop action to objects, places, or transportation. Check it out!

13. Archi Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Archi Sketch Photoshop Action

Architects are known for bringing their work to life with traditional pencil sketches. Now you can get the same look with your favorite architectural imagery and convert a photo to a drawing. Perfect for exteriors, interiors, and other types of building design, this sketch art Photoshop action is highly effective and easy to use.

14. Pen Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pen Sketch Photoshop Action

Get clean crosshatching lines with this realistic pencil sketch Photoshop action. Optimized specifically for Photoshop CS3 and above, this Photoshop effect helps you enjoy a phenomenal pen sketch look without all the fuss. Use this ink sketch Photoshop action on posters, collages, and more for different effects.

15. ModernArt Photoshop Action (ATN)

ModernArt Photoshop Action

Highlight your family photos with this charming sketch effect action for Photoshop. The ModernArt action comes with one Photoshop action to quickly convert your work. Save the original background or upload your own textures for more variety. Try this photo to illustration converter!

GraphicRiver: Best Source for Photoshop Effects (Get One at a Time)

Are you looking for great action sketches for single purchase? GraphicRiver is the best digital market to buy single-use graphics and creative assets. It’s part of the Envato Market suite of online marketplaces that cater to many creative digital asset needs.

best pencil sketches from Graphicriver
The best photo sketch effects for single purchase are on GraphicRiver

While Envato Elements is a fantastic option, if you prefer to buy just one drawing filter (instead of getting unlimited access to hundreds of digital assets), check out the selection from our Envato Market below.

10 Best Sketch Photoshop Actions From GraphicRiver

Now, get ready to check out some of the best photo sketches for single purchase we have on GraphicRiver. Now it’s very easy to convert a photo to a pencil sketch in Photoshop and save a lot of time with these incredible photo effects.

1. Engraved Photo Sketch Effect (ABR, PAT)

Engraved Photo Sketch Effect

Let’s start with this fantastic photo to illustration converter. This ink sketch Photoshop action will turn your images into engraved works of art. Use this pics to sketch converter to give your photos a sophisticated, eye-catching look. 

It’s one of our best pencil sketches, and it works better with portraits, but you can try it on any other kind of picture.

2. Sketch Effect PS Drawing Filter (ATN)

Sketch Effect PS Drawing Filter

Here’s a pics to sketch converter that will turn your images into a fine drawing with a couple of clicks. It’s especially good in the architectural and design fields, but you can use this Photoshop effect on any other type of project. Don’t hesitate to check this ink sketch Photoshop action!

3. Mixed Ink Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Mixed Ink Sketch Photoshop Action

Use a photo to pen and ink drawing photo filter like this to help update your space! This ink sketch Photoshop action combines ink and pencil textures for an abstract, modern painting. This photo to illustration converter has been tested on dozens of photos with quality results and creates stunning images you’ll want to hang up. Try it out!

4. Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pencil Sketch Photoshop Action

Discover the beauty of hatching and crosshatching pencil marks with this sketch Photoshop action. Convert a photo to a drawing with a two-step process. First, create a new layer dedicated to the pencil details, and then brush over your image. Press the action and presto! You’ve got a stunning result. This is one of the best photo sketch actions we have to offer!

5. Scribble Pen Sketch Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Scribble Pen Sketch Photoshop Action

Some artists are so talented that they can create epic drawings with pens! Now you can too with this incredible photo to pen and ink drawing effect. Dedicate a new layer to the areas where you want the most details, and then play the action. Within a matter of moments, you’ll get a cool drawing like the one above with this sketch art Photoshop action.

6. Pencil Sketch vs Camera Photo Effect Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

 Pencil Sketch vs Camera Photo Effect Photoshop Action

Easily change your landscapes into dramatic pencil sketches with this realistic pencil sketch Photoshop action. This photo effect simulates a person holding a torn drawing over a real-life scene. Inspired by the photo artist Ben Heine, this action creates a high-quality image we’re sure you’ll love. This is one of the best pencil sketches out there.

7. Art Pen Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Art Pen Photoshop Action

Make your photography even more beautiful with this photo to illustration converter. A photo to pen and ink drawing effect designed to combine two traditional textures into one, this action is highly effective. Play around with different looks by jumping into the folders section and experimenting with texture. Check this drawing filter out!

8. Pencil Print Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Pencil Print Photoshop Action

Design epic prints with traditional pencil textures and convert any photo to a pencil sketch with Photoshop. This new photo filter brings you phenomenal results with simple instructions. As with most actions, you’ll need to follow the initial steps of preparing your photo before playing the photo to sketch converter. Pair this design with posters, prints, and more. 

9. Construct Photoshop Action (ATN, PAT)

Construct Photoshop Action

Construct a clean and dynamic composition with this helpful PS drawing action. Specifically made for design images and architecture-friendly content, this photo filter is super simple to master. Try out the colored pencil effect by itself or add more color to match your brand and convert a photo to pencil sketch with Photoshop.

10. Vintage Sketch 2 Photoshop Action (ABR, ATN, PAT)

Vintage Sketch 2 Photoshop Action

Mix and match vintage styles and textures with beautiful color presets with this sketch effect action for Photoshop. This amazing photo effect is inspired by vintage drawings and even places your photo on weathered paper. Customize your result by playing with different brushes to make your work unique with this photo to hand drawing converter.

Learn More About Sketch Effect Actions

Learning how to convert photos to drawings and how to create your own sketch effect actions in Photoshop can be a little challenging at first. But don’t worry. We’ve got you covered. Check this tutorial we’ve made for you on this topic.

Also, don’t forget to follow along with us over on our Envato Tuts+ YouTube channel! We’ve got many more interesting and useful videos for you.

Show Us Your Sketch Effects!

Tried any of these pics to sketch converters? Let us know! Tell us your favorite Photoshop sketch effects in the comments below.

Or make your own! Convert any photo to a sketch using the following tutorials:

Conclusion

This has been a collection of premium resources perfect for the avid designer and photographer. For more cool Photoshop sketch actions and great PS drawing effects, check out Envato Elements and GraphicRiver, or enlist the help of our talented professionals at Envato Studio. Happy designing!

Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop

Post pobrano z: Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop

Final product image
What You’ll Be Creating

Flames are particularly hard to render in Photoshop, but in this tutorial, I’ll show you how to use a photograph of fire to set the text to the match. We’ll render the look on a nice dark background with a gorgeous text effect to complete the image.

This is the second of our five-part series on Photoshop Typography. Don’t forget to check our previous tutorial: Create a Spectacular Grass Text Effect.

Follow along with us over on our Envato Tuts+ YouTube channel:

What You Will learn in This Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop Tutorial

  • How to create a grunge distressed background in Photoshop
  • How to create a text glow effect in Photoshop
  • How to add the flames to the image

Tutorial Assets

To complete the tutorial, you will need the following assets:

1. How to Create a Background

Step 1

Press Control-N to create a new document and use the following settings: 1900 x 1200 px; 300 dpi.

creating a new document in Photoshop

Step 2

Pick the Gradient Tool (or just press G) and use the following colors: #5c3d09 and #1f1409.

setting up the gradient

Step 3

Select the Radial gradient type and create a background with our gradient. Notice that the gradient is not centered vertically but sits toward the top. In this image, we want the top of the text to be on fire, so the top part of the image should be a bit more lit up.

creating a gradient background in Photoshop

Step 4

As in the grass text tutorial, once again we’re going to have a textured background. But rather than starting from scratch, I just copied the background from the previous tutorial, merged all the layers, and desaturated to get what you see below.

Creating a grunge texture

Step 5

Now we set the Blending Mode to Overlay to blend the texture into the background and voila!

changing the blending mode of the texture

Step 6


Just to add a bit more texture, though, let’s create a new layer by hitting Shift-Control-N and then Fill this new layer with this brown color: #66500f.

creating and filling a new layer

Step 7

Then go to Filter > Texture > Texturizer and use the Canvas Texture with 80% Scaling and Relief set to 4.

adding a texturezi filter to the layer in photoshop

Step 8

Once you have your texturized layer, set the Blending Mode of the layer to Overlay. This adds some extra fine detail to our texture, which is good because we’re working on such a big canvas.

changing the blending mode of the overlay

Step 9

Next, we’re going to apply a layer to slightly desaturate the bottom half of the image. This is so that the top looks like it has a warmer glow where the flames are, while the bottom looks a little colder. Create a new layer and Fill it with the color #4b4f3b. Then set the Blending Mode to Color and Opacity to 45%.

creating a new color layer

Step 10

Then add a Mask with a gradient to mask out the top and fade down.

adding a gradient mask to the layer

2. How to Create a Text Glow Effect in Photoshop

Step 1

Let’s add some text using Trajan font with #cb9328 color, and then set the Blending Mode to Linear Dodge with an Opacity of 8%.

creating a text layer and changing the opacity and blending mode

What we’re going to be doing with our text is making it look as if the top half of the text is coming out of the background and is red hot with flames flickering off. This means we’re going to run a lot of effects and apply layer masks to them so that only the top half shows, while the bottom half reverts to faded-out text as we have currently.

result of the manipulations

Step 2

So first create a new layer group to put all the text layers in—because there will be a lot of them. Then duplicate the text layer using Control-J and set the color of the duplicate text to #5e3f1c and set the Blending Mode to Overlay and the Opacity to 70%.

creating a duplicate of the text layer

Step 3

Duplicate the text again and set the latest duplicate color to #cb9328, and then set the Blending Mode to Linear Dodge and the Opacity to 30%.

creating second duplicate of the layer

Step 4

Now let’s add a layer mask and draw a gradient so that the latest text layer fades out as shown below, and beneath you can see the reddish colored combination of the bottom two text layer.

adding a fade effect with a gradient layer mask

Step 5

Create another duplicate of the text layer, and put this layer on the bottom of the group. Set the color to #000000 and then go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur, and it will ask you to rasterize the text. Click Yes and then set the Radius to about 4 px.

creating a new layer with gaussian blur effect

Step 6

Then Control-Click on any of the text layers and go back to the black layer, and after that hit the Delete button, so you are just left with a sort of a shadow. Then duplicate this layer and merge it with the first by hitting Control-E, so the effect is heavier. You should have something that looks like the screenshot below.

creating a shadow text effect from the layer

Step 7

Once again, add a gradient layer mask so the shadow quickly fades out as shown. This makes it look as if the text is coming out of the page.

creating a fade effect for the shadow layer

Step 8

Now duplicate our black layer again and, using the Smudge Tool and a soft brush, you want to just smudge the shadow around so it looks like burn marks.

creating a burn mask effect

Step 9

Now it’s time to make the top part of our text glow. So first of all, duplicate the text layer again and place this layer at the very top, and use the #dc9a08 color code. 

creating a glow text effect

Step 10

Then go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the Radius to 8 px.

adding a gaussian blur effect to the glow text layer

Step 11

Grab a large, soft eraser brush, and just erase away parts at the bottom so it’s kind of uneven.

deleting the parts of the glow text layer

Step 12

Set the glow layer Blending Mode to Soft Light. You might want to repeat the process, erasing even more so the top part is even glowier.

changing the blending mode of the glow overlay

Step 13

Now duplicate the text layer yet again, and place this at the very top. This one should be again the same yellow color (#dc9a08). Right Click on the layer and select Rasterize Type.

rasterizing the type layer in photoshop

Step 14

Then Control-Click the layer and go to Select > Modify > Contract and use a value of 1 px. Then press Delete to delete everything except that 1 px outline.

deleting the part of the text layer

Step 15

Set the Blending Mode of this layer to Overlay, and you should have something like the image below.

setting the blending mode of the layer to overlay

Step 16

Add a layer mask to the 1 px glow layer to fade it out down the bottom, as we’ve been doing with the other layers. Then duplicate the layer, and run a Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur set to 1 px. Then duplicate this layer again and blur it by 2 px. Then duplicate the layer again and blur it by 4 px.

creating a blurred duplicates of the layer

Step 17

Then Control-Click any of the text layers, press Control-Shift-I to invert the selection, and go through each of the glow layers and press Delete to remove any of the blur that has strayed out of the boundary of the text.

deleting the parts of the glow text layers duplicates

Step 18

Next we duplicate all four of the glow layers and merge them together. Grab the Smudge Tool and run over the text, smudging it up to look like heat waves coming off the text, as shown.

creating a heat waves effect using the smudge tool

Step 19

Now set this latest layer Blending Mode to Overlay.

changing the blending mode to overlay

Step 20

Now we’ve pretty much finished our text. I went through and duplicated some of the glow layers to make it look even fierier. Feel free to experiment with getting a real red-hot glow look by doing so.

creating duplicates of the layers

Step 21

Next, in keeping with the last wallpaper, I’ve gone and added a quote underneath my main text. This provides a nice embellishment to the page. Try to use colors that fit in with the background and text layer so it doesn’t stand out too much because we really want this to be a secondary element to the main text. I’ve used Pt Sans as my font and laid it out just like in the previous Grass Text tutorial.

creating a new text layer

3. How to Create a Text Glow Effect in Photoshop

Step 1

Finally, with all our preparation done, it’s time to add the actual flames! For this, we need some images of fire set against a plain black background. We need to open the flame image in Photoshop and then go to the Channels tab and then find the channel with the highest contrast, which for images of fire should be the Red Channel, and click on it. This will make your image appear black and white, and because we’re on the highest contrast layer, it will seem really bright white.

selecting the red channel of the flame image

Step 2

Now Control-Click this channel and it will select all the pixels in that channel. After that, go back to the RGB channel and copy the selected pixels by hitting Control-C. 

creating a copy of the flame image

Step 3

And now we can easily paste the flame into our main image by pressing Control-V. This is actually a really useful technique for copying something translucent like fire off a flat background.

pasting the flame images

Step 4

Create duplicates of all the three flames, so you have the original files untouched, and then make the original flames Invisible.

creating duplicates of the original layers

Step 5

Select the first copy of the flame and hit Control-T and resize and rotate, and then add it to your first letter.

creating the first flame element

Step 6

After that, add the second and third copies of the flames to the letter. Transform and rotate it as you like.

finishing the flame effect of the first letter

Step 7

Create more duplicates of the flame layers and add them to each letter. Applying the fire is really as easy as moving the flames over the text. Also, feel free to stretch the fire elements to create a more realistic look.

creating the duplicates of the flames

Step 8

Select all the flame layers and then Right Click > Merge Layers. After that, change the Blending Mode of the flame layers to Screen so that any remaining black parts are totally gone, and it’s even more transparent.

merging the layers

Step 9

Remove the unwanted elements of your flames with the Eraser Tool.

removing the parts of the flames

Step 10

Create a duplicate of the flames layer and then go to Filters > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the radius to about 3 px.

adding the gaussian blur effect

Step 11

After that, change the Opacity of the layer to 25%.

changing the flames glow overlay blending mode

So we’re pretty much there! This is how the composition looks:

Dramatic text composition

Step 12

Finally, we’ll add the last highlight. Create a new layer above all the others and draw in a white to black radial gradient as shown. Set the Blending Mode to Overlay and the Opacity to 40%.

creating a gradient overlay

Awesome Work, You’re Now Done!

And there we have it, a text on fire effect! If you’re interested in creating flames from scratch in Photoshop, you might also like to check out this classic tutorial that coincidentally uses the same typeface!

final result

Looking for a fire overlay for a photo or want to create more effects like this? Check these awesome Photoshop resources:

Fire Overlays

This awesome pack of 20 fire photo overlays is perfect for creating the glowing and hot effect in Photoshop. The pack contains 20 hi-resolution transparent PNG files.

Fire overlays

50 Digital Fire Overlays

Another amazing pack of digital fire overlays with a really great resolution of 5000 px in a JPEG file format. All you need to do is drop the fire overlay onto your image and change the blending mode to screen.

50 digital fire overlays

Fire Photoshop Action

This product allows you to set any picture on fire! All you need to do is brush over your photo and then hit the play button. Give this amazing fire Photoshop action a try!

Fire photoshop action

15 Bonfire Photo Overlays

This set of 15 bonfire photo overlays is a great tool to improve your photos with high-quality flames. These overlays are extremely easy to use, and it will help you to create the cool atmosphere of a camping bonfire.

15 bonfire photo overlays

Fire Styles

Want to create a fire effect for your text? This collection of fire text styles for Photoshop is the best choice! It contains 18 realistic fire styles with a final number of 11 text effects. Save your time and create realistic fire text effects in a few simple clicks!

Fire styles

Want to learn more Photoshop fire effects? Check these awesome tutorials:

Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop

Post pobrano z: Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop

Final product image
What You’ll Be Creating

Flames are particularly hard to render in Photoshop, but in this tutorial, I’ll show you how to use a photograph of fire to set the text to the match. We’ll render the look on a nice dark background with a gorgeous text effect to complete the image.

This is the second of our five-part series on Photoshop Typography. Don’t forget to check our previous tutorial: Create a Spectacular Grass Text Effect.

Follow along with us over on our Envato Tuts+ YouTube channel:

What You Will learn in This Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop Tutorial

  • How to create a grunge distressed background in Photoshop
  • How to create a text glow effect in Photoshop
  • How to add the flames to the image

Tutorial Assets

To complete the tutorial, you will need the following assets:

1. How to Create a Background

Step 1

Press Control-N to create a new document and use the following settings: 1900 x 1200 px; 300 dpi.

creating a new document in Photoshop

Step 2

Pick the Gradient Tool (or just press G) and use the following colors: #5c3d09 and #1f1409.

setting up the gradient

Step 3

Select the Radial gradient type and create a background with our gradient. Notice that the gradient is not centered vertically but sits toward the top. In this image, we want the top of the text to be on fire, so the top part of the image should be a bit more lit up.

creating a gradient background in Photoshop

Step 4

As in the grass text tutorial, once again we’re going to have a textured background. But rather than starting from scratch, I just copied the background from the previous tutorial, merged all the layers, and desaturated to get what you see below.

Creating a grunge texture

Step 5

Now we set the Blending Mode to Overlay to blend the texture into the background and voila!

changing the blending mode of the texture

Step 6


Just to add a bit more texture, though, let’s create a new layer by hitting Shift-Control-N and then Fill this new layer with this brown color: #66500f.

creating and filling a new layer

Step 7

Then go to Filter > Texture > Texturizer and use the Canvas Texture with 80% Scaling and Relief set to 4.

adding a texturezi filter to the layer in photoshop

Step 8

Once you have your texturized layer, set the Blending Mode of the layer to Overlay. This adds some extra fine detail to our texture, which is good because we’re working on such a big canvas.

changing the blending mode of the overlay

Step 9

Next, we’re going to apply a layer to slightly desaturate the bottom half of the image. This is so that the top looks like it has a warmer glow where the flames are, while the bottom looks a little colder. Create a new layer and Fill it with the color #4b4f3b. Then set the Blending Mode to Color and Opacity to 45%.

creating a new color layer

Step 10

Then add a Mask with a gradient to mask out the top and fade down.

adding a gradient mask to the layer

2. How to Create a Text Glow Effect in Photoshop

Step 1

Let’s add some text using Trajan font with #cb9328 color, and then set the Blending Mode to Linear Dodge with an Opacity of 8%.

creating a text layer and changing the opacity and blending mode

What we’re going to be doing with our text is making it look as if the top half of the text is coming out of the background and is red hot with flames flickering off. This means we’re going to run a lot of effects and apply layer masks to them so that only the top half shows, while the bottom half reverts to faded-out text as we have currently.

result of the manipulations

Step 2

So first create a new layer group to put all the text layers in—because there will be a lot of them. Then duplicate the text layer using Control-J and set the color of the duplicate text to #5e3f1c and set the Blending Mode to Overlay and the Opacity to 70%.

creating a duplicate of the text layer

Step 3

Duplicate the text again and set the latest duplicate color to #cb9328, and then set the Blending Mode to Linear Dodge and the Opacity to 30%.

creating second duplicate of the layer

Step 4

Now let’s add a layer mask and draw a gradient so that the latest text layer fades out as shown below, and beneath you can see the reddish colored combination of the bottom two text layer.

adding a fade effect with a gradient layer mask

Step 5

Create another duplicate of the text layer, and put this layer on the bottom of the group. Set the color to #000000 and then go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur, and it will ask you to rasterize the text. Click Yes and then set the Radius to about 4 px.

creating a new layer with gaussian blur effect

Step 6

Then Control-Click on any of the text layers and go back to the black layer, and after that hit the Delete button, so you are just left with a sort of a shadow. Then duplicate this layer and merge it with the first by hitting Control-E, so the effect is heavier. You should have something that looks like the screenshot below.

creating a shadow text effect from the layer

Step 7

Once again, add a gradient layer mask so the shadow quickly fades out as shown. This makes it look as if the text is coming out of the page.

creating a fade effect for the shadow layer

Step 8

Now duplicate our black layer again and, using the Smudge Tool and a soft brush, you want to just smudge the shadow around so it looks like burn marks.

creating a burn mask effect

Step 9

Now it’s time to make the top part of our text glow. So first of all, duplicate the text layer again and place this layer at the very top, and use the #dc9a08 color code. 

creating a glow text effect

Step 10

Then go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the Radius to 8 px.

adding a gaussian blur effect to the glow text layer

Step 11

Grab a large, soft eraser brush, and just erase away parts at the bottom so it’s kind of uneven.

deleting the parts of the glow text layer

Step 12

Set the glow layer Blending Mode to Soft Light. You might want to repeat the process, erasing even more so the top part is even glowier.

changing the blending mode of the glow overlay

Step 13

Now duplicate the text layer yet again, and place this at the very top. This one should be again the same yellow color (#dc9a08). Right Click on the layer and select Rasterize Type.

rasterizing the type layer in photoshop

Step 14

Then Control-Click the layer and go to Select > Modify > Contract and use a value of 1 px. Then press Delete to delete everything except that 1 px outline.

deleting the part of the text layer

Step 15

Set the Blending Mode of this layer to Overlay, and you should have something like the image below.

setting the blending mode of the layer to overlay

Step 16

Add a layer mask to the 1 px glow layer to fade it out down the bottom, as we’ve been doing with the other layers. Then duplicate the layer, and run a Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur set to 1 px. Then duplicate this layer again and blur it by 2 px. Then duplicate the layer again and blur it by 4 px.

creating a blurred duplicates of the layer

Step 17

Then Control-Click any of the text layers, press Control-Shift-I to invert the selection, and go through each of the glow layers and press Delete to remove any of the blur that has strayed out of the boundary of the text.

deleting the parts of the glow text layers duplicates

Step 18

Next we duplicate all four of the glow layers and merge them together. Grab the Smudge Tool and run over the text, smudging it up to look like heat waves coming off the text, as shown.

creating a heat waves effect using the smudge tool

Step 19

Now set this latest layer Blending Mode to Overlay.

changing the blending mode to overlay

Step 20

Now we’ve pretty much finished our text. I went through and duplicated some of the glow layers to make it look even fierier. Feel free to experiment with getting a real red-hot glow look by doing so.

creating duplicates of the layers

Step 21

Next, in keeping with the last wallpaper, I’ve gone and added a quote underneath my main text. This provides a nice embellishment to the page. Try to use colors that fit in with the background and text layer so it doesn’t stand out too much because we really want this to be a secondary element to the main text. I’ve used Pt Sans as my font and laid it out just like in the previous Grass Text tutorial.

creating a new text layer

3. How to Create a Text Glow Effect in Photoshop

Step 1

Finally, with all our preparation done, it’s time to add the actual flames! For this, we need some images of fire set against a plain black background. We need to open the flame image in Photoshop and then go to the Channels tab and then find the channel with the highest contrast, which for images of fire should be the Red Channel, and click on it. This will make your image appear black and white, and because we’re on the highest contrast layer, it will seem really bright white.

selecting the red channel of the flame image

Step 2

Now Control-Click this channel and it will select all the pixels in that channel. After that, go back to the RGB channel and copy the selected pixels by hitting Control-C. 

creating a copy of the flame image

Step 3

And now we can easily paste the flame into our main image by pressing Control-V. This is actually a really useful technique for copying something translucent like fire off a flat background.

pasting the flame images

Step 4

Create duplicates of all the three flames, so you have the original files untouched, and then make the original flames Invisible.

creating duplicates of the original layers

Step 5

Select the first copy of the flame and hit Control-T and resize and rotate, and then add it to your first letter.

creating the first flame element

Step 6

After that, add the second and third copies of the flames to the letter. Transform and rotate it as you like.

finishing the flame effect of the first letter

Step 7

Create more duplicates of the flame layers and add them to each letter. Applying the fire is really as easy as moving the flames over the text. Also, feel free to stretch the fire elements to create a more realistic look.

creating the duplicates of the flames

Step 8

Select all the flame layers and then Right Click > Merge Layers. After that, change the Blending Mode of the flame layers to Screen so that any remaining black parts are totally gone, and it’s even more transparent.

merging the layers

Step 9

Remove the unwanted elements of your flames with the Eraser Tool.

removing the parts of the flames

Step 10

Create a duplicate of the flames layer and then go to Filters > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the radius to about 3 px.

adding the gaussian blur effect

Step 11

After that, change the Opacity of the layer to 25%.

changing the flames glow overlay blending mode

So we’re pretty much there! This is how the composition looks:

Dramatic text composition

Step 12

Finally, we’ll add the last highlight. Create a new layer above all the others and draw in a white to black radial gradient as shown. Set the Blending Mode to Overlay and the Opacity to 40%.

creating a gradient overlay

Awesome Work, You’re Now Done!

And there we have it, a text on fire effect! If you’re interested in creating flames from scratch in Photoshop, you might also like to check out this classic tutorial that coincidentally uses the same typeface!

final result

Looking for a fire overlay for a photo or want to create more effects like this? Check these awesome Photoshop resources:

Fire Overlays

This awesome pack of 20 fire photo overlays is perfect for creating the glowing and hot effect in Photoshop. The pack contains 20 hi-resolution transparent PNG files.

Fire overlays

50 Digital Fire Overlays

Another amazing pack of digital fire overlays with a really great resolution of 5000 px in a JPEG file format. All you need to do is drop the fire overlay onto your image and change the blending mode to screen.

50 digital fire overlays

Fire Photoshop Action

This product allows you to set any picture on fire! All you need to do is brush over your photo and then hit the play button. Give this amazing fire Photoshop action a try!

Fire photoshop action

15 Bonfire Photo Overlays

This set of 15 bonfire photo overlays is a great tool to improve your photos with high-quality flames. These overlays are extremely easy to use, and it will help you to create the cool atmosphere of a camping bonfire.

15 bonfire photo overlays

Fire Styles

Want to create a fire effect for your text? This collection of fire text styles for Photoshop is the best choice! It contains 18 realistic fire styles with a final number of 11 text effects. Save your time and create realistic fire text effects in a few simple clicks!

Fire styles

Want to learn more Photoshop fire effects? Check these awesome tutorials:

Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop

Post pobrano z: Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop

Final product image
What You’ll Be Creating

Flames are particularly hard to render in Photoshop, but in this tutorial, I’ll show you how to use a photograph of fire to set the text to the match. We’ll render the look on a nice dark background with a gorgeous text effect to complete the image.

This is the second of our five-part series on Photoshop Typography. Don’t forget to check our previous tutorial: Create a Spectacular Grass Text Effect.

Follow along with us over on our Envato Tuts+ YouTube channel:

What You Will learn in This Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop Tutorial

  • How to create a grunge distressed background in Photoshop
  • How to create a text glow effect in Photoshop
  • How to add the flames to the image

Tutorial Assets

To complete the tutorial, you will need the following assets:

1. How to Create a Background

Step 1

Press Control-N to create a new document and use the following settings: 1900 x 1200 px; 300 dpi.

creating a new document in Photoshop

Step 2

Pick the Gradient Tool (or just press G) and use the following colors: #5c3d09 and #1f1409.

setting up the gradient

Step 3

Select the Radial gradient type and create a background with our gradient. Notice that the gradient is not centered vertically but sits toward the top. In this image, we want the top of the text to be on fire, so the top part of the image should be a bit more lit up.

creating a gradient background in Photoshop

Step 4

As in the grass text tutorial, once again we’re going to have a textured background. But rather than starting from scratch, I just copied the background from the previous tutorial, merged all the layers, and desaturated to get what you see below.

Creating a grunge texture

Step 5

Now we set the Blending Mode to Overlay to blend the texture into the background and voila!

changing the blending mode of the texture

Step 6


Just to add a bit more texture, though, let’s create a new layer by hitting Shift-Control-N and then Fill this new layer with this brown color: #66500f.

creating and filling a new layer

Step 7

Then go to Filter > Texture > Texturizer and use the Canvas Texture with 80% Scaling and Relief set to 4.

adding a texturezi filter to the layer in photoshop

Step 8

Once you have your texturized layer, set the Blending Mode of the layer to Overlay. This adds some extra fine detail to our texture, which is good because we’re working on such a big canvas.

changing the blending mode of the overlay

Step 9

Next, we’re going to apply a layer to slightly desaturate the bottom half of the image. This is so that the top looks like it has a warmer glow where the flames are, while the bottom looks a little colder. Create a new layer and Fill it with the color #4b4f3b. Then set the Blending Mode to Color and Opacity to 45%.

creating a new color layer

Step 10

Then add a Mask with a gradient to mask out the top and fade down.

adding a gradient mask to the layer

2. How to Create a Text Glow Effect in Photoshop

Step 1

Let’s add some text using Trajan font with #cb9328 color, and then set the Blending Mode to Linear Dodge with an Opacity of 8%.

creating a text layer and changing the opacity and blending mode

What we’re going to be doing with our text is making it look as if the top half of the text is coming out of the background and is red hot with flames flickering off. This means we’re going to run a lot of effects and apply layer masks to them so that only the top half shows, while the bottom half reverts to faded-out text as we have currently.

result of the manipulations

Step 2

So first create a new layer group to put all the text layers in—because there will be a lot of them. Then duplicate the text layer using Control-J and set the color of the duplicate text to #5e3f1c and set the Blending Mode to Overlay and the Opacity to 70%.

creating a duplicate of the text layer

Step 3

Duplicate the text again and set the latest duplicate color to #cb9328, and then set the Blending Mode to Linear Dodge and the Opacity to 30%.

creating second duplicate of the layer

Step 4

Now let’s add a layer mask and draw a gradient so that the latest text layer fades out as shown below, and beneath you can see the reddish colored combination of the bottom two text layer.

adding a fade effect with a gradient layer mask

Step 5

Create another duplicate of the text layer, and put this layer on the bottom of the group. Set the color to #000000 and then go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur, and it will ask you to rasterize the text. Click Yes and then set the Radius to about 4 px.

creating a new layer with gaussian blur effect

Step 6

Then Control-Click on any of the text layers and go back to the black layer, and after that hit the Delete button, so you are just left with a sort of a shadow. Then duplicate this layer and merge it with the first by hitting Control-E, so the effect is heavier. You should have something that looks like the screenshot below.

creating a shadow text effect from the layer

Step 7

Once again, add a gradient layer mask so the shadow quickly fades out as shown. This makes it look as if the text is coming out of the page.

creating a fade effect for the shadow layer

Step 8

Now duplicate our black layer again and, using the Smudge Tool and a soft brush, you want to just smudge the shadow around so it looks like burn marks.

creating a burn mask effect

Step 9

Now it’s time to make the top part of our text glow. So first of all, duplicate the text layer again and place this layer at the very top, and use the #dc9a08 color code. 

creating a glow text effect

Step 10

Then go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the Radius to 8 px.

adding a gaussian blur effect to the glow text layer

Step 11

Grab a large, soft eraser brush, and just erase away parts at the bottom so it’s kind of uneven.

deleting the parts of the glow text layer

Step 12

Set the glow layer Blending Mode to Soft Light. You might want to repeat the process, erasing even more so the top part is even glowier.

changing the blending mode of the glow overlay

Step 13

Now duplicate the text layer yet again, and place this at the very top. This one should be again the same yellow color (#dc9a08). Right Click on the layer and select Rasterize Type.

rasterizing the type layer in photoshop

Step 14

Then Control-Click the layer and go to Select > Modify > Contract and use a value of 1 px. Then press Delete to delete everything except that 1 px outline.

deleting the part of the text layer

Step 15

Set the Blending Mode of this layer to Overlay, and you should have something like the image below.

setting the blending mode of the layer to overlay

Step 16

Add a layer mask to the 1 px glow layer to fade it out down the bottom, as we’ve been doing with the other layers. Then duplicate the layer, and run a Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur set to 1 px. Then duplicate this layer again and blur it by 2 px. Then duplicate the layer again and blur it by 4 px.

creating a blurred duplicates of the layer

Step 17

Then Control-Click any of the text layers, press Control-Shift-I to invert the selection, and go through each of the glow layers and press Delete to remove any of the blur that has strayed out of the boundary of the text.

deleting the parts of the glow text layers duplicates

Step 18

Next we duplicate all four of the glow layers and merge them together. Grab the Smudge Tool and run over the text, smudging it up to look like heat waves coming off the text, as shown.

creating a heat waves effect using the smudge tool

Step 19

Now set this latest layer Blending Mode to Overlay.

changing the blending mode to overlay

Step 20

Now we’ve pretty much finished our text. I went through and duplicated some of the glow layers to make it look even fierier. Feel free to experiment with getting a real red-hot glow look by doing so.

creating duplicates of the layers

Step 21

Next, in keeping with the last wallpaper, I’ve gone and added a quote underneath my main text. This provides a nice embellishment to the page. Try to use colors that fit in with the background and text layer so it doesn’t stand out too much because we really want this to be a secondary element to the main text. I’ve used Pt Sans as my font and laid it out just like in the previous Grass Text tutorial.

creating a new text layer

3. How to Create a Text Glow Effect in Photoshop

Step 1

Finally, with all our preparation done, it’s time to add the actual flames! For this, we need some images of fire set against a plain black background. We need to open the flame image in Photoshop and then go to the Channels tab and then find the channel with the highest contrast, which for images of fire should be the Red Channel, and click on it. This will make your image appear black and white, and because we’re on the highest contrast layer, it will seem really bright white.

selecting the red channel of the flame image

Step 2

Now Control-Click this channel and it will select all the pixels in that channel. After that, go back to the RGB channel and copy the selected pixels by hitting Control-C. 

creating a copy of the flame image

Step 3

And now we can easily paste the flame into our main image by pressing Control-V. This is actually a really useful technique for copying something translucent like fire off a flat background.

pasting the flame images

Step 4

Create duplicates of all the three flames, so you have the original files untouched, and then make the original flames Invisible.

creating duplicates of the original layers

Step 5

Select the first copy of the flame and hit Control-T and resize and rotate, and then add it to your first letter.

creating the first flame element

Step 6

After that, add the second and third copies of the flames to the letter. Transform and rotate it as you like.

finishing the flame effect of the first letter

Step 7

Create more duplicates of the flame layers and add them to each letter. Applying the fire is really as easy as moving the flames over the text. Also, feel free to stretch the fire elements to create a more realistic look.

creating the duplicates of the flames

Step 8

Select all the flame layers and then Right Click > Merge Layers. After that, change the Blending Mode of the flame layers to Screen so that any remaining black parts are totally gone, and it’s even more transparent.

merging the layers

Step 9

Remove the unwanted elements of your flames with the Eraser Tool.

removing the parts of the flames

Step 10

Create a duplicate of the flames layer and then go to Filters > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the radius to about 3 px.

adding the gaussian blur effect

Step 11

After that, change the Opacity of the layer to 25%.

changing the flames glow overlay blending mode

So we’re pretty much there! This is how the composition looks:

Dramatic text composition

Step 12

Finally, we’ll add the last highlight. Create a new layer above all the others and draw in a white to black radial gradient as shown. Set the Blending Mode to Overlay and the Opacity to 40%.

creating a gradient overlay

Awesome Work, You’re Now Done!

And there we have it, a text on fire effect! If you’re interested in creating flames from scratch in Photoshop, you might also like to check out this classic tutorial that coincidentally uses the same typeface!

final result

Looking for a fire overlay for a photo or want to create more effects like this? Check these awesome Photoshop resources:

Fire Overlays

This awesome pack of 20 fire photo overlays is perfect for creating the glowing and hot effect in Photoshop. The pack contains 20 hi-resolution transparent PNG files.

Fire overlays

50 Digital Fire Overlays

Another amazing pack of digital fire overlays with a really great resolution of 5000 px in a JPEG file format. All you need to do is drop the fire overlay onto your image and change the blending mode to screen.

50 digital fire overlays

Fire Photoshop Action

This product allows you to set any picture on fire! All you need to do is brush over your photo and then hit the play button. Give this amazing fire Photoshop action a try!

Fire photoshop action

15 Bonfire Photo Overlays

This set of 15 bonfire photo overlays is a great tool to improve your photos with high-quality flames. These overlays are extremely easy to use, and it will help you to create the cool atmosphere of a camping bonfire.

15 bonfire photo overlays

Fire Styles

Want to create a fire effect for your text? This collection of fire text styles for Photoshop is the best choice! It contains 18 realistic fire styles with a final number of 11 text effects. Save your time and create realistic fire text effects in a few simple clicks!

Fire styles

Want to learn more Photoshop fire effects? Check these awesome tutorials:

Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop

Post pobrano z: Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop

Final product image
What You’ll Be Creating

Flames are particularly hard to render in Photoshop, but in this tutorial, I’ll show you how to use a photograph of fire to set the text to the match. We’ll render the look on a nice dark background with a gorgeous text effect to complete the image.

This is the second of our five-part series on Photoshop Typography. Don’t forget to check our previous tutorial: Create a Spectacular Grass Text Effect.

Follow along with us over on our Envato Tuts+ YouTube channel:

What You Will learn in This Dramatic Text on Fire Effect in Photoshop Tutorial

  • How to create a grunge distressed background in Photoshop
  • How to create a text glow effect in Photoshop
  • How to add the flames to the image

Tutorial Assets

To complete the tutorial, you will need the following assets:

1. How to Create a Background

Step 1

Press Control-N to create a new document and use the following settings: 1900 x 1200 px; 300 dpi.

creating a new document in Photoshop

Step 2

Pick the Gradient Tool (or just press G) and use the following colors: #5c3d09 and #1f1409.

setting up the gradient

Step 3

Select the Radial gradient type and create a background with our gradient. Notice that the gradient is not centered vertically but sits toward the top. In this image, we want the top of the text to be on fire, so the top part of the image should be a bit more lit up.

creating a gradient background in Photoshop

Step 4

As in the grass text tutorial, once again we’re going to have a textured background. But rather than starting from scratch, I just copied the background from the previous tutorial, merged all the layers, and desaturated to get what you see below.

Creating a grunge texture

Step 5

Now we set the Blending Mode to Overlay to blend the texture into the background and voila!

changing the blending mode of the texture

Step 6


Just to add a bit more texture, though, let’s create a new layer by hitting Shift-Control-N and then Fill this new layer with this brown color: #66500f.

creating and filling a new layer

Step 7

Then go to Filter > Texture > Texturizer and use the Canvas Texture with 80% Scaling and Relief set to 4.

adding a texturezi filter to the layer in photoshop

Step 8

Once you have your texturized layer, set the Blending Mode of the layer to Overlay. This adds some extra fine detail to our texture, which is good because we’re working on such a big canvas.

changing the blending mode of the overlay

Step 9

Next, we’re going to apply a layer to slightly desaturate the bottom half of the image. This is so that the top looks like it has a warmer glow where the flames are, while the bottom looks a little colder. Create a new layer and Fill it with the color #4b4f3b. Then set the Blending Mode to Color and Opacity to 45%.

creating a new color layer

Step 10

Then add a Mask with a gradient to mask out the top and fade down.

adding a gradient mask to the layer

2. How to Create a Text Glow Effect in Photoshop

Step 1

Let’s add some text using Trajan font with #cb9328 color, and then set the Blending Mode to Linear Dodge with an Opacity of 8%.

creating a text layer and changing the opacity and blending mode

What we’re going to be doing with our text is making it look as if the top half of the text is coming out of the background and is red hot with flames flickering off. This means we’re going to run a lot of effects and apply layer masks to them so that only the top half shows, while the bottom half reverts to faded-out text as we have currently.

result of the manipulations

Step 2

So first create a new layer group to put all the text layers in—because there will be a lot of them. Then duplicate the text layer using Control-J and set the color of the duplicate text to #5e3f1c and set the Blending Mode to Overlay and the Opacity to 70%.

creating a duplicate of the text layer

Step 3

Duplicate the text again and set the latest duplicate color to #cb9328, and then set the Blending Mode to Linear Dodge and the Opacity to 30%.

creating second duplicate of the layer

Step 4

Now let’s add a layer mask and draw a gradient so that the latest text layer fades out as shown below, and beneath you can see the reddish colored combination of the bottom two text layer.

adding a fade effect with a gradient layer mask

Step 5

Create another duplicate of the text layer, and put this layer on the bottom of the group. Set the color to #000000 and then go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur, and it will ask you to rasterize the text. Click Yes and then set the Radius to about 4 px.

creating a new layer with gaussian blur effect

Step 6

Then Control-Click on any of the text layers and go back to the black layer, and after that hit the Delete button, so you are just left with a sort of a shadow. Then duplicate this layer and merge it with the first by hitting Control-E, so the effect is heavier. You should have something that looks like the screenshot below.

creating a shadow text effect from the layer

Step 7

Once again, add a gradient layer mask so the shadow quickly fades out as shown. This makes it look as if the text is coming out of the page.

creating a fade effect for the shadow layer

Step 8

Now duplicate our black layer again and, using the Smudge Tool and a soft brush, you want to just smudge the shadow around so it looks like burn marks.

creating a burn mask effect

Step 9

Now it’s time to make the top part of our text glow. So first of all, duplicate the text layer again and place this layer at the very top, and use the #dc9a08 color code. 

creating a glow text effect

Step 10

Then go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the Radius to 8 px.

adding a gaussian blur effect to the glow text layer

Step 11

Grab a large, soft eraser brush, and just erase away parts at the bottom so it’s kind of uneven.

deleting the parts of the glow text layer

Step 12

Set the glow layer Blending Mode to Soft Light. You might want to repeat the process, erasing even more so the top part is even glowier.

changing the blending mode of the glow overlay

Step 13

Now duplicate the text layer yet again, and place this at the very top. This one should be again the same yellow color (#dc9a08). Right Click on the layer and select Rasterize Type.

rasterizing the type layer in photoshop

Step 14

Then Control-Click the layer and go to Select > Modify > Contract and use a value of 1 px. Then press Delete to delete everything except that 1 px outline.

deleting the part of the text layer

Step 15

Set the Blending Mode of this layer to Overlay, and you should have something like the image below.

setting the blending mode of the layer to overlay

Step 16

Add a layer mask to the 1 px glow layer to fade it out down the bottom, as we’ve been doing with the other layers. Then duplicate the layer, and run a Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur set to 1 px. Then duplicate this layer again and blur it by 2 px. Then duplicate the layer again and blur it by 4 px.

creating a blurred duplicates of the layer

Step 17

Then Control-Click any of the text layers, press Control-Shift-I to invert the selection, and go through each of the glow layers and press Delete to remove any of the blur that has strayed out of the boundary of the text.

deleting the parts of the glow text layers duplicates

Step 18

Next we duplicate all four of the glow layers and merge them together. Grab the Smudge Tool and run over the text, smudging it up to look like heat waves coming off the text, as shown.

creating a heat waves effect using the smudge tool

Step 19

Now set this latest layer Blending Mode to Overlay.

changing the blending mode to overlay

Step 20

Now we’ve pretty much finished our text. I went through and duplicated some of the glow layers to make it look even fierier. Feel free to experiment with getting a real red-hot glow look by doing so.

creating duplicates of the layers

Step 21

Next, in keeping with the last wallpaper, I’ve gone and added a quote underneath my main text. This provides a nice embellishment to the page. Try to use colors that fit in with the background and text layer so it doesn’t stand out too much because we really want this to be a secondary element to the main text. I’ve used Pt Sans as my font and laid it out just like in the previous Grass Text tutorial.

creating a new text layer

3. How to Create a Text Glow Effect in Photoshop

Step 1

Finally, with all our preparation done, it’s time to add the actual flames! For this, we need some images of fire set against a plain black background. We need to open the flame image in Photoshop and then go to the Channels tab and then find the channel with the highest contrast, which for images of fire should be the Red Channel, and click on it. This will make your image appear black and white, and because we’re on the highest contrast layer, it will seem really bright white.

selecting the red channel of the flame image

Step 2

Now Control-Click this channel and it will select all the pixels in that channel. After that, go back to the RGB channel and copy the selected pixels by hitting Control-C. 

creating a copy of the flame image

Step 3

And now we can easily paste the flame into our main image by pressing Control-V. This is actually a really useful technique for copying something translucent like fire off a flat background.

pasting the flame images

Step 4

Create duplicates of all the three flames, so you have the original files untouched, and then make the original flames Invisible.

creating duplicates of the original layers

Step 5

Select the first copy of the flame and hit Control-T and resize and rotate, and then add it to your first letter.

creating the first flame element

Step 6

After that, add the second and third copies of the flames to the letter. Transform and rotate it as you like.

finishing the flame effect of the first letter

Step 7

Create more duplicates of the flame layers and add them to each letter. Applying the fire is really as easy as moving the flames over the text. Also, feel free to stretch the fire elements to create a more realistic look.

creating the duplicates of the flames

Step 8

Select all the flame layers and then Right Click > Merge Layers. After that, change the Blending Mode of the flame layers to Screen so that any remaining black parts are totally gone, and it’s even more transparent.

merging the layers

Step 9

Remove the unwanted elements of your flames with the Eraser Tool.

removing the parts of the flames

Step 10

Create a duplicate of the flames layer and then go to Filters > Blur > Gaussian Blur and set the radius to about 3 px.

adding the gaussian blur effect

Step 11

After that, change the Opacity of the layer to 25%.

changing the flames glow overlay blending mode

So we’re pretty much there! This is how the composition looks:

Dramatic text composition

Step 12

Finally, we’ll add the last highlight. Create a new layer above all the others and draw in a white to black radial gradient as shown. Set the Blending Mode to Overlay and the Opacity to 40%.

creating a gradient overlay

Awesome Work, You’re Now Done!

And there we have it, a text on fire effect! If you’re interested in creating flames from scratch in Photoshop, you might also like to check out this classic tutorial that coincidentally uses the same typeface!

final result

Looking for a fire overlay for a photo or want to create more effects like this? Check these awesome Photoshop resources:

Fire Overlays

This awesome pack of 20 fire photo overlays is perfect for creating the glowing and hot effect in Photoshop. The pack contains 20 hi-resolution transparent PNG files.

Fire overlays

50 Digital Fire Overlays

Another amazing pack of digital fire overlays with a really great resolution of 5000 px in a JPEG file format. All you need to do is drop the fire overlay onto your image and change the blending mode to screen.

50 digital fire overlays

Fire Photoshop Action

This product allows you to set any picture on fire! All you need to do is brush over your photo and then hit the play button. Give this amazing fire Photoshop action a try!

Fire photoshop action

15 Bonfire Photo Overlays

This set of 15 bonfire photo overlays is a great tool to improve your photos with high-quality flames. These overlays are extremely easy to use, and it will help you to create the cool atmosphere of a camping bonfire.

15 bonfire photo overlays

Fire Styles

Want to create a fire effect for your text? This collection of fire text styles for Photoshop is the best choice! It contains 18 realistic fire styles with a final number of 11 text effects. Save your time and create realistic fire text effects in a few simple clicks!

Fire styles

Want to learn more Photoshop fire effects? Check these awesome tutorials:

Core Web Vitals

Post pobrano z: Core Web Vitals

Core Web Vitals is what Google is calling a a new collection of three web performance metrics:

  1. LCP: Largest Contentful Paint
  2. FID: First Input Delay
  3. CLS: Cumulative Layout Shift

These are all measurable. They aren’t in Lighthouse (e.g. the Audits tab in Chrome DevTools) just yet, but sounds like that’s coming up soon. For now, an open source library will get you the numbers. There is also a browser extension (that feels pretty alpha as you have to install it manually).

That’s all good to me. I like seeing web performance metrics evolve into more meaningful numbers. I’ve spent a lot of time in my days just doing stuff like reducing requests and shrinking assets, which is useful, but kind of a side attack to web performance. These metrics are what really matter because they are what users actually see and experience.

The bigger news came today though in that they are straight up telling us: Core Web Vitals matter for your SEO:

Today, we’re building on this work and providing an early look at an upcoming Search ranking change that incorporates these page experience metrics. We will introduce a new signal that combines Core Web Vitals with our existing signals for page experience to provide a holistic picture of the quality of a user’s experience on a web page.

Straight up, these numbers matter for SEO (or they will soon).

And they didn’t bury the other lede either:

As part of this update, we’ll also incorporate the page experience metrics into our ranking criteria for the Top Stories feature in Search on mobile, and remove the AMP requirement from Top Stories eligibility.

AMP won’t be required for the SERP carousel thing, which was the #1 driver of AMP adoption. I can’t wait to see my first non-AMP page up there! I know some features will be unavailable, like the ability to swipe between stories (because that relies on things like the Google AMP cache), but whatever, bring it on. Let AMP just be a thing people use because they want to, and not because they have to.

The post Core Web Vitals appeared first on CSS-Tricks.