Wszystkie wpisy, których autorem jest admin

Gillette Razors: BabyFace Texture screen

Post pobrano z: Gillette Razors: BabyFace Texture screen

Media
Gillette

Beard fashion was bad for Gillette and for babies, whose only language of communication is touch. Research proved that soft warm contact is essential for development. We convinced dads to sacrifice their beards by launching the first-ever skin to surface haptics campaign. Haptic technology uses electrostatic forces to manipulate the friction between finger and screen. Our tablets featured in maternity wards, birth classes and baby-fairs enabling expecting parents to contrast the scratch of a beard stubble vs. a clean-shaven face, just as a baby would.

Advertising Agency:Acw Grey, Tel Aviv, Israel
Advertiser:P&G
Chief Creative Officer:Tal Riven
Creative Director:Moti Rubinstein
Copywriter:Shay Chikotay
Art Director:Oren Alster
Ux:Oren Alster
Ui Designer:Oren Alster
Svp Account Director:Shai Almagor
Regional Communication Planning Director:Gilad Kat
Mediacom Client Director:Shimi Hamias
Head Of Planning:Dana Wolfsfeld
Head Of Production:Gal Yaakov
Photographer:Ariel Van Straten
Ceo:Greg Topel
Tanvas:Greg Topel, Jamaal Hollins, Mondher Cherif
Texture Design:Jamaal Hollins
Chief Scientist:Mondher Cherif
Producer:Israel Revach

Overriding Default Button Styles

Post pobrano z: Overriding Default Button Styles

There are a variety of „buttons” in HTML. You’ve got:

<button>Button</button>
<input type="button" value="Button">

Plus, for better or worse, people like having links that are styled to match the look of other true buttons on the site

<a href="#0" class="button">Button</a>

One challenge is getting all those elements to look and layout exactly the same. We’ll cover that a few ways.

Another challenge is getting people to use them correctly

This is a bit surprising to me — but I hear it often enough to worry about it — is that more and more developers are using <div>s for buttons. As in, they just reach for whatever generic, styling-free HTML is handy and build it up as needed. Andy Bell explains why a real button is better:

So, <button> elements are a pain in the butt to style right? That doesn’t mean you should attach your JavaScript events to a <div> or an <a href="#"> though. You see, when you use a <button>, you get keyboard events for free. You’re also helping screen reader users out because it’ll announce the element correctly.

And here’s Andy again helping you out with a chunk of CSS that’ll get you a cleanly styled button:

See the Pen Button Pal — some basic button styles by Andy Bell (@hankchizljaw) on CodePen.

It’s that styling that just might be the mental roadblock

It’s a bit understandable. Buttons are weird! They have a good amount of default styling (that come from the „User Agent Stylesheet”) that varies from browser to browser and means you have work to do to get them exactly how you want.

See all the weirdness there?

  • Without any styling, the button is kinda little and has that native border/border-radius/box-shadow thing going on.
  • Just by setting the font-size, we lose all those defaults, but it’s got a new default look, one with a border and square corners, a gradient background, and no box-shadow. This is essentially -webkit-appearance: button;.
  • Buttons have their own font-family, so don’t inherit from the cascade unless you tell it to.

Here’s Chrome’s user agent stylesheet for buttons:

Firefox behaves a bit differently. See in the video above how setting border: 0; removed the border in Chrome, but also the background? Not the case in Firefox:

I only point this out to say, I get it, buttons are truly weird things in browsers. Factor in a dozen other browsers, mobile, and the idea that we want to style all those different elements to look exactly the same (see the opening of the article), and I have a modicum of empathy for people wanting to avoid this.

Never hurts to consult Normalize

Normalize does a good amount:

/**
 * 1. Change the font styles in all browsers.
 * 2. Remove the margin in Firefox and Safari.
 */

button,
input,
optgroup,
select,
textarea {
  font-family: inherit; /* 1 */
  font-size: 100%; /* 1 */
  line-height: 1.15; /* 1 */
  margin: 0; /* 2 */
}

/**
 * Show the overflow in IE.
 * 1. Show the overflow in Edge.
 */

button,
input { /* 1 */
  overflow: visible;
}

/**
 * Remove the inheritance of text transform in Edge, Firefox, and IE.
 * 1. Remove the inheritance of text transform in Firefox.
 */

button,
select { /* 1 */
  text-transform: none;
}

/**
 * Correct the inability to style clickable types in iOS and Safari.
 */

button,
[type="button"],
[type="reset"],
[type="submit"] {
  -webkit-appearance: button;
}

I was a tiny bit surprised to see WTF, Forms? not cover buttons, only because of how much weirdness there is. But the form elements that project whips into shape are even more notoriously difficult!

A Style-Testing Kinda Thingy

I feel like the answer to this is basically a big ol’ block of CSS. That’s what Andy provided, and you could very likely come to one on your own by just being a little heavier handed than the usual of setting style rules with your buttons.

Still, I felt compelled to make a little tester machine thingy so you can toggle styles on and off and see how they all go together in whatever browser you happen to be in:

See the Pen Consistent button styles by Chris Coyier (@chriscoyier) on CodePen.

A11y

The biggest point here is to use the correct native elements, as you get a bunch of functionality and accessibility for free. But you might as well get the styling right, too!

While we’re talking buttons, I’m gonna use the same quote I used in our When To Use The Button Element post from MDN:

Warning: Be careful when marking up links with the button role. Buttons are expected to be triggered using the Space key, while links are expected to be triggered through the Enter key. In other words, when links are used to behave like buttons, adding role="button" alone is not sufficient. It will also be necessary to add a key event handler that listens for the Space key in order to be consistent with native buttons.

You don’t need role="button" on <button> because they are already buttons, but if you’re going to make any other element button-like, you have more work to do to mimic the functionality.

Plus, don’t forget about :hover and :focus styles! Once you’ve wrangled in the styles for the default state, this shouldn’t be so hard, but you definitely need them!

button:hover,
button:focus {
    background: #0053ba;
}

button:focus {
    outline: 1px solid #fff;
    outline-offset: -4px;
}

button:active {
    transform: scale(0.99);
}

The post Overriding Default Button Styles appeared first on CSS-Tricks.

How to Make Cool Photoshop Text Effects Fast With Actions

Post pobrano z: How to Make Cool Photoshop Text Effects Fast With Actions

Final product image
What You’ll Be Creating

Learn how to create Photoshop text effects in this beginner’s tutorial. You’ll be shown how to create a Photoshop action for your text effect and more.

This text effect that we are going to create is part of Super Bundle Styles. This is a collection of 146 unique styles and is the first bundle of the series.

Super Bundle Styles
Super Bundle Styles

Tutorial Assets

The following assets were used during this tutorial:

  • Soviet Program font
  • Image inside the zip file attached to this tutorial (optional)

1. How to Create the Text Effect

Step 1

Create a new 850 x 500 px 72 dpi document and name it Glass Text Effect. Then place an image that you’d like to use as the background.

I’m going to use an abstract image that I created. This image is attached to this tutorial.

Creating a new document

Step 2

Go to Window > Character to open the Character panel. Then change the font to Soviet Program, the text size to 130 pt, and the color to white #ffffff, and turn Faux Bold On.

After that, pick the Horizontal Type Tool (T) and write GLASS.

Character panel options

Step 3

Select the text layer and change the Fill Opacity to 0%. Then go to Layer > Layer Style > Blending Options to open the Layer Style panel.

Blending Options panel

Step 4

To create this text effect, we need two layers. So let’s first create a border with a simple shadow.

Add a Drop Shadow with these settings:

  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Color: #000000
  • Opacity: 100%
  • Use Global Light: Off
  • Angle: 120°
  • Distance: 5 px
  • Spread: 21%
  • Size: 9 px
  • Contour: Linear
  • Anti-aliased: Off
  • Noise: 0%
  • Layer Knocks Out Drop Shadow: On
Drop shadow settings

Step 5

Add a Stroke with these settings:

  • Size: 4 px
  • Position: Outside
  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 78%
  • Overprint: Off
  • Fill Type: Gradient
  • Reverse: Off
  • Align with Layer: On
  • Style: Linear
  • Angle: 75°
  • Dither: Off
  • Scale: 100%

Click on the gradient bar to create a new gradient. 

Note that we have to add stops above (Opacity) and below (Colors) the gradient bar.

Let’s first add stops for opacity:

  • Stop 1: Location: 0% Opacity: 0%
  • Stop 2: Location: 4% Opacity: 100%
  • Stop 3: Location: 26% Opacity: 0%
  • Stop 4: Location: 43% Opacity: 100%
  • Stop 5: Location: 64% Opacity: 0%
  • Stop 6: Location: 85% Opacity: 100%
  • Stop 7: Location: 100% Opacity: 0%

Then add stops for the colors below the gradient bar with these settings:

  • Stop 1: Location: 0% Color: #ffffff
  • Stop 2: Location: 6% Color: #ffffff
  • Stop 3: Location: 7% Color: #194962
  • Stop 4: Location: 41% Color: #ffffff
  • Stop 5: Location: 42% Color: #194962
  • Stop 6: Location: 84% Color: #e0e0e0
  • Stop 7: Location: 85% Color: #194962

Then name it Glass Gradient and click on New to add this gradient to the presets, we are going to use it later.

Stroke and gradient settings

Step 6

Now add a Bevel & Emboss with these settings:

  • Style: Stroke Emboss
  • Technique: Smooth
  • Depth: 1000%
  • Direction: Down
  • Size: 1 px
  • Soften: 0 px
  • Use Global Light: Off
  • Angle: 86°
  • Altitude: 21°
  • Gloss Contour: Cove – Shallow
  • Highlight Mode: Screen
  • Highlight Color: #ffffff
  • Highlight Opacity: 75%
  • Shadow Mode: Multiply
  • Shadow Color: #000000
  • Shadow Opacity: 29%

Then activate the Contour option of Bevel & Emboss with these settings:

  • Contour: Linear
  • Anti-aliased: Off
  • Range: 50%
Bevel  Emboss Settings

Step 7

Now add an Inner Glow with these settings:

  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 75%
  • Noise: 0%
  • Color: #fdfdfd
  • Technique: Softer
  • Source: Edge
  • Choke: 0%
  • Size: 2 px
  • Contour: Linear 
  • Anti-aliased: Off
  • Range: 50%
  • Jitter: 0%
Inner Glow settings

Step 8

Add an Outer Glow with these settings:

  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 72%
  • Noise: 0%
  • Color: #b0f1ff
  • Technique: Softer
  • Spread: 91%
  • Size: 4 px
  • Contour: Linear
  • Anti-aliased: On
  • Range: 100%
  • Jitter: 0%

After that, click OK.

Outer Glow settings

Step 9

Press Control-J to duplicate the text layer, and then rename this copy Glass 2. After that, Double-Click the layer Glass 2 to open the Layer Style panel.

Add a Gradient Overlay with these settings:

  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Dither: Off
  • Opacity: 100%
  • Reverse: Off
  • Style: Linear
  • Align with Layer: On
  • Angle: 90°
  • Scale: 100%

Click on the gradient bar and create a new gradient with these settings:

  • Stop 1: Location: 0% Color: #40006e
  • Stop 2: Location: 51% Color: #b900ce
  • Stop 3: Location: 100% Color: #40006e
Gradient Overlay settings

Step 10

Now add a Color Overlay with these settings:

  • Blend Mode: Color
  • Color: #ff003c
  • Opacity: 100%

The Color Overlay will make it easier for you to change the color of the text effect later.

Color Overlay settings

Step 11

Now let’s make the text effect look glossy. 

Add a Bevel & Emboss with these settings:

  • Style: Inner Bevel
  • Technique: Smooth
  • Depth: 317 %
  • Direction: Up
  • Size: 43 px
  • Soften: 0 px
  • Use Global Light: Off
  • Angle: 90°
  • Altitude: 37°
  • Gloss Contour: Rolling Slope – Descending
  • Highlight Mode: Screen
  • Highlight Color: #ffffff
  • Highlight Opacity: 16%
  • Shadow Mode: Multiply 
  • Shadow Color: #000000
  • Shadow Opacity: 4%
Bevel  Emboss settings

Step 12

Add an Inner Shadow with these settings:

  • Blend Mode: Vivid Light
  • Color: #baf3ff
  • Opacity: 100%
  • Use Global Light: Off
  • Angle: 120°
  • Distance: 0 px
  • Choke: 0%
  • Size: 18 px
  • Contour: Linear 
  • Anti-aliased: Off
  • Noise: 0%
Inner Shadow settings

Step 13

Add a Stroke with these settings:

  • Size: 3 px
  • Position: Center
  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 78%
  • Overprint: Off
  • Fill Type: Gradient
  • Gradient: Glass Gradient (the one we created)
  • Reverse: Off
  • Style: Linear
  • Align with Layer: On
  • Angle: 78°
  • Dither: Off
  • Scale: 150%
Stroke settings

Step 14

Add an Inner Glow with these settings:

  • Blend Mode: Normal
  • Opacity: 100%
  • Noise: 0%
  • Color: #000000
  • Technique: Softer
  • Source: Edge
  • Choke: 59%
  • Size: 3 px
  • Contour: Linear
  • Anti-aliased: On
  • Range: 100%
  • Jitter: 0%
Inner Glow settings

Step 15

Add a Drop Shadow with these settings:

  • Blend Mode: Multiply
  • Color: #0076a2
  • Opacity: 71%
  • Use Global Light: Off
  • Angle: 120°
  • Distance: 3 px
  • Spread: 7 %
  • Size: 2 px
  • Contour: Linear
  • Anti-aliased: Off
  • Noise: 0%
  • Layer Knocks Out Drop Shadow: On

After that, click OK.

Drop Shadow settings

2. How to Create the Action

Now that we have the styles complete, we are going to create an action to make it easier to apply the effect to anything we want.

Step 1

Select the first text layer (glass) on the Layers panel, and then go to Window > Styles to open the Styles panel. 

After that, click on the little Create New Style icon on the Styles panel, name it Glass – A, and click OK.

Saving the first style

Do the same for the second text layer (glass 2), naming it Glass – B.

Saving the second style

Step 2

Go to Window > Actions to open the Actions panel. Then click on Create new set, name it Glass Text Effect, and click OK.

Creating the Action set

Step 3

Before we start recording the new action, go to the Layers panel and click to select the first text layer.

Then go back to the Actions panel, and click on the Create New Action icon. Name it Red Glass Text Effect, and click on Record.

Creating the action

Step 4

Go to the Styles panel and click on the Glass – A style.

Applying the first style

Step 5

Now press Control-J to duplicate the layer, and rename it glass TOP. 

After that, go to the Styles panel again and click on the Glass – B style. And finally, go to the Actions panel and click on the Stop Recording icon.

Applying the second style and completing the action

And We’re Done!

To apply the effect to some text, you have to select the Red Glass Text Effect action in the Actions panel and then click on Play.

The action will automatically duplicate the layer and apply both styles correctly.

Final result

In this tutorial, you learned how to create a glass effect using a simple gradient. You also learned how to use two layers to create a single text effect. Then you learned how to create an action to apply the effect to anything you want with a single click.

Super Bundle Styles
Super Bundle Styles

Singapore Children’s Society: Unmute Daniel x Shazam

Post pobrano z: Singapore Children’s Society: Unmute Daniel x Shazam

Online
Singapore Children’s Society

1 in 9 adolescents is a victim of cyberbullying. Nearly half of them have never reported it. Unlike physical bullying that leaves behind scars and bruises, online bullying is much harder to spot. Daniel represents every child who has been silenced through technology. By creating digital billboards that project soundwaves inaudible for the human ear, Shazam recognized the &ldquo;silence&rdquo; and helped Daniel and other victims to speak up.

Advertising Agency:MullenLowe, Singapore
Executive Creative Directors:Erick Rosa, Ang Sheng Jin, Daniel Kee
Associate Creative Director:Sergey Mastobaev
Copywriter:Raul Palhares
Art Director:Sergey Mastobaev
Account managers:Meredith Quah, Samuel Christian
Technical Director:Adam Etline
Ux Designer:Aditi Khumbat
Editor:Adam Snyder
Motion Graphics Designer:Adam Snyder

Pepsi: Pepsi Vintage Chatbot

Post pobrano z: Pepsi: Pepsi Vintage Chatbot

Online
Pepsi

With the Pepsi Vintage chatbot, users can take a trip down memory lane to see how the Pepsi can looked in the year they were born! Launched through out the Middle East this unique Pepsi chatbot also let users create their customized Pepsi cans with their name’s on it. You could also buy online or buy in store once you browse through the vintage Pepsi cans. Users can search for „Pepsi Vintage Chatbot” on Messenger or visit https://m.me/PepsiVintageChatbot to interact it! The chatbot was built by alivenow, a leading digital agency with a focus on tech.

Advertising Agency:Alivenow, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Creative Directors:Adhvith Dhuddu, Siddharth Satyanath
Copywriters:Adhvith Dhuddu, Siddharth Satyanath
Art Director:Nithin CA
Illustrator:Nithin CA
Copywriter:Mohammad Faiz Ali
Additional Credits:Satrajit Duttagupta, Abhinav Kumar

How to Draw & Paint a Galaxy Afro Portrait in Adobe Photoshop

Post pobrano z: How to Draw & Paint a Galaxy Afro Portrait in Adobe Photoshop

Final product image
What You’ll Be Creating

Afros are beautiful—and so is space! Let’s put them together in this galaxy-inspired portrait tutorial for Adobe Photoshop.

In this tutorial, we’re going to draw in Adobe Photoshop, from start to finish. You should have a basic understanding of Photoshop—for example, creating new documents, selecting content, and creating new layers should be familiar to you.

Looking for Photoshop resources? Why not pop over to GraphicRiver for Photoshop Brushes and more!

1. How to Create the Sketch

Step 1

First, start by creating a New Document. For this illustration, I’m going to work at 8 inches by 10 inches, at 300 dpi. 

Image of New Document Window

Step 2

When sketching, I always draw on a New Layer—separate from the Background. This helps keep these two aspects independent.  

Start with basic shapes to help establish your subject. I like to use Photoshop’s basic Hard Round Brush when drawing my initial sketches. 

Note the variable transparency in my lines—this is because my Opacity Jitter and Flow Jitter are set to Pen Pressure. You can find these settings in your Brush panel (located under Windows > Brush), and we will discuss them further, after creating a Custom Brush, in this tutorial.

Example of Initial Sketch

Step 3

I often like to draw on top of my initial sketch, using it as a guide—on a New Layer. 

When drawing afro textured hair, I like to focus on soft, round shapes. No two afros are exactly the same, so looking at reference is a strong idea! In this case, I wanted the hair to have some weight, as well as thickness.

Example of Refined Sketch

2. How to Create a Custom Brush

Step 1

Before we get too far into this illustration, let’s take a look at our Brushes. 

I often use Photoshop’s default Brushes when I draw and paint, but for this illustration, I’d like to use a Custom Brush. I could probably get away with using a Soft Round Brush for the afro, but I know I’m going to want a little extra texture in there. So let’s create a basic textured brush together.

Please keep in mind that creating Custom Brushes is potentially a tutorial all its own. There is a lot that can be done and customized! 

First, we’ll need to create a second New Document. I chose to work at 100 pixels wide by 100 pixels high.

Then, create a black circle on a New Layer. I used the Ellipse Tool to do so (hold down the Shift key while using the Ellipse Tool to create a perfect circle). 

Then I chose Rasterize Layer so it would no longer be a vector-based Layer. To do this, Right Click and select Rasterize Layer.

Example illustrating how to Rasterize a Layer

Step 2

Now, we need to add some texture to our circle. First, make sure to Lock Transparent Pixels in your Layers panel, so the Filters we apply stay within the circle. I applied both the Sponge and Film Grain Filters via the Filters Gallery to add some texture (you can find these via Filter > Filter Gallery). 

Example of applied Filter and Locking Transparent Pixels

Step 3

Next, I adjusted the Exposure (found via Image > Adjustments > Exposure) and hand drew some imperfections, both inside and around the circumference of the circle (remember to turn off Lock Transparent Pixels to do so, because we no longer want to stay inside the boundaries of our circle). 

My goal was to lighten the circle and make the primary contours look more organic (instead of a clean, perfect circle).

Example of modified circle

Step 4

Keep in mind that yours won’t look exactly like mine—and that’s fine! The goal is to create a brush with some texture and variation. 

Finally, apply a Gaussian Blur to the circle (I chose around 2.5%) and clean up any stray markings that you don’t want included in your Brush. You can find Gaussian Blur under Filters > Blur > Gaussian Blur.

Example of Blur applied to the circle

Step 5

To turn this circle into a Brush Preset, go to Edit > Define Brush Preset. You will then be prompted to give your Brush a name—any name will do! I normally choose a name that will help me remember what I created and/or what purpose I intended.

Example illustrating the creation of a Brush Preset

3. How to Add Initial Color and Values

Step 1

Now that we’ve created our Custom Brush, let’s go ahead and start working with color.

Personally, I like to apply base colors on top of my lines, in a New Layer with the Blending Mode set to Multiply. 

I chose a brown color, a little darker in value than the skin tone, as my base. For the eyes, accessories, and clothing, I decided to start with a purple color.

Example of initial Base Colors

Step 2

If you haven’t already, make sure to Save your work! I regularly Flatten my Layers when I’m painting; it’s a personal preference, but it’s also why I tend to save regularly and save multiple versions of my work. 

In this case, once I’m happy with my initial color choices, I Flatten my artwork Layers, keeping the Background independent.

I also chose a new Background Color via the Color Picker in the Tools panel. In this case, I know I want to go with something dark and space-like, so I chose a dark, cool gray.

Example with Background color added

Step 3

I’m happy with my color choices, but I decided I might like to give everything a purple hue, since the character is going to be set in space.

I created a New Layer and set the Blending Mode to Hue. Setting the Opacity to 32% gives it a slight hue, rather than an entirely purple hue. I used the same purple that I used in other parts of the illustration.

Example showing a purple hue added to illustration

Step 4

Now, let’s experiment with our light source.

Create a New Layer on top of your artwork Layers and set it to Clipping Mask (Right Click on the Layer and choose Clipping Mask from the available options). This way, when we apply color, it will be confined to the area the artwork occupies (we’ll automatically „stay in the lines”). 

I experimented with a light purple here, with the Layer’s Blending Mode set to Multiply.

Example of initial values added with Clipping Mask

Step 5

With my initial colors and values selected, it’s time to start blending and refining the artwork. 

When painting the face, I tend to stick to a Soft Round Brush, especially in the rounder parts of the face. When there’s a harsher shadow, I will often start with a Hard Round Brush and then blend using a Soft Round Brush. 

Some artists may prefer painting on top of their work on a New Layer—and this may be what you prefer, especially if you’re leery about making mistakes. 

Close up of illustration showing use of different Brushes

Step 6

In my opinion, it is very important to keep an eye on your Brush Settings. If you’re not getting the results you want with your Brush Strokes, adjusting these settings would likely be a step in the right direction.

For example, I almost always draw with the Opacity Jitter and Flow Jitter set to Pen Pressure. Opacity is generally the amount of transparency, and Flow can be considered how much color „comes out”. 

You can find these settings in your Brush panel (located under Windows > Brush).

Example of Brush Settings in the Brush Panel

Step 7

You can also experiment with the Opacity and Flow in your Options panel when you have the Paint Brush selected. 

So, for example, when I want a smooth transition on the face area, I might lower my Opacity and Flow considerably—versus when I’m drawing hard lines and I know I want a bold, hard contour.

Example illustrating soft and hard values in the illustration

Here is an example of overlapping Brush Strokes with varied Opacity and Flow, to further illustrate this concept in an isolated example.

Example Brush Strokes

Step 8

Personally, I like to add highlights and additional shadows later in my process, following the same techniques described. For example, for the eye area, I used a New Layer with a Blending Mode set to Multiply. 

Example showing additional value added

Step 9

Now let’s take what we’ve learned and apply this to our Custom Brush. We’re going to use it for my favorite part—the afro! 

I would recommend keeping the Brush Spacing between 5% to 10% for this Brush and the purpose of this tutorial. Again, you can open the Brush panel by going to Window > Brush.

Brush Spacing is the space between your Defined Brush. Remember the circle we created as the basis of our Custom Brush? Turn the Brush Spacing up high, and it’ll start to resemble the circle we originally created.

Example of Brush Spacing

However, we don’t want to draw a line of fuzzy circles—we want a relatively fluid stroke that has some texture to it. Here is an example of the texture we can create with this Custom Brush versus a standard Hard Round Brush.

Two Sample Circles drawn with different Brushes

Personally, when I’m painting afro textured hair, I like to apply color in a circular motion. I often think about clouds in terms of shape, as my guide. 

In progress example of painting the afro hair

4. How to Create Your Galaxy Background

Step 1

However, we’re not going for clouds in this tutorial—we’re going to work with galaxy colors! Now that I have the basics of my portrait figured out, I’m going to skip to the background. I want the background to feature similar, galaxy-inspired patterns and colors.

You may want to Hide your artwork Layer(s) so you can focus on the Background, for now. You can do this by toggling visibility on and off.

First, create a New Layer above the Background Layer and Fill it with black. This is going to be the start of our starry sky.

Example illustrating toggling Layers and creating new ones

Step 2

We’re going to apply a Filter to this New Layer. There are many ways you could approach this—the goal is simply to create a background full of stars. For this tutorial, we’re going to use the Sponge Filter in the Filter Gallery (found via Filters > Filter Gallery)

Example of the Filter Gallery and settings

Step 3

Next, apply a Gaussian Blur (found via Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur). I chose to apply a radius of 3.5 pixels. 

Example of Gaussian Blur settings

Step 4

Then, we need to adjust the Curves. Go to Image > Adjustments > Curves, to open this panel. 

Our goal is to manipulate the Input points so they are close together. 

Example of Curves and Input values

Step 5

Next, let’s Create a New Layer, on top of the one we were just working on. We’re going to apply a Cloud Filter to this layer, using the colors black and white.

Set this Cloud Layer’s Blending Mode to Color Dodge. 

Example showing the new layer added with Cloud Filter set to Color Dodge

Step 6

Now, for the fun part! We need to create a New Layer between the Cloud Layer (set to Color Dodge) and the Star Layer (the one right above the Background Layer). Set this New Layer’s Opacity to 15%. 

Once you’ve created this Layer, take a Soft Round Brush and choose any color you’d like. I chose to start with a light blue color, because I know this is one I’d like in my galaxy. 

As you paint, you’ll notice it starts to look like clouds of color in the stars!  

Example that shows color added to the galaxy background

Step 7

You can add additional Layers of color here, if desired. Try adding different colors, using a Soft Round Brush. In this case, I stuck to blue, purple, and violet hues until I had pretty splashes of color.

It’s also a good idea to turn your Artwork layer back on, so you can get an idea of how your galaxy visually relates to the artwork. 

Artwork on top of the galaxy background

5. How to Paint Galaxy Colors in the Hair

Step 1

We’re going to apply these galaxy colors we’ve created to the hair, using a Clipping Mask and Blending Modes.

First, create a New Layer above your artwork and set it as a Clipping Mask (as described earlier in this tutorial). I like to use a Hard Round Brush to fill in the area I want to work with—in this case, the hair area.  

Color placed on top of the illustration in a Clipping Mask

Step 2

Once you’re happy with the area you’ve defined, set the Layer’s Blending Mode to Color. Make sure to toggle Lock Transparent Pixels on, so we are confined to the area we’ve just established when we’re drawing.

Now, using a Soft Round Brush, start applying colors inspired by the galaxy in the background. You’ll notice that it changes the color of the hair.

Example of Layers Blending Mode changed to Color

Step 3

At this point, I like to draw on top of my work and add small refinements. For example, using the same Custom Brush from earlier, I added some lighter blues and variations in the hair. 

Refinements added to the hair area of the illustration

6. How to Add Finishing Touches

Step 1

I also wanted to put sparkles in the hair, to push the galaxy aesthetic further. I started by drawing simple shapes—little dots and crosses—where I wanted to see stars.

Initial creation of hair sparkles

Step 2

Then, I Duplicated this Layer and added a Gaussian Blur to it, to give them a glow. 

Lower the Opacity of the original Layer to 20%, and then create a New Layer on top of both of the Layers of sparkles. I drew small dots in the center of each sparkle, on this Layer, to push them further.

Progress image of sparkles added to the hair area

Step 3

Finally, it’s time for some finishing touches. For the eyes and earrings, I used a Hard Round Brush to add some extra details and shine. My light source is coming from the viewer’s left, so I made sure to keep that in mind.

I also added a cute star shape to her cheek! Notice how it looks soft against the skin—this can be achieved by lowering the Opacity of the layer you’re drawing on.

I also thought a touch of galaxy-inspired eye shadow would help push things further! I did so using the same technique we used earlier, when adding colors to the hair. Create a New Layer, set the Blending Mode to Color, and add color using a Soft Round Brush. If the color seems too intense, try lowing the Opacity.

Close up of finishing touches added to the illustration

Step 4

One last thing and we’re done! Using a Soft Round Eraser, I removed some of the base of the artwork, so the character blends into the starry background.

Close up of the bottom of the portrait blended into the background

Awesome Work!

We’ve drawn a lovely, galaxy-themed portrait. As a woman of color with afro textured hair myself, I’d love to rock this look—but until I can get in touch with my inner space princess, painting this out-of-this-world style will have to do!

Good luck experimenting with your own galaxy-themed portraits!

Finished Galaxy Afro Portrait

Grid Level 2 and Subgrid

Post pobrano z: Grid Level 2 and Subgrid

I find the concept of subgrid a little hard to wrap my mind around.

I do understand the idea that we want to use nested semantic markup as we like and have elements participate in one grid so we don’t have to flatten our markup just for layout reasons. But that is largely handled by display: contents;.

Rachel Andrew explains it in a way that finally clicked for me:

I have an item spanning three column tracks of the grid, it is also a Grid Container with three column tracks – however these do not line up with the tracks of the parent…

If the nested grid columns were to be defined as a subgrid, we would use the subgrid value of grid-template-columns on that child element. The child would then use the three column tracks that it spanned, and its children would lay out on those tracks.

It’s not that the parent disappears, it’s that it shares grid lines with the parent so that getting internal elements to line up with everything else happens naturally.

Direct Link to Article — Permalink

The post Grid Level 2 and Subgrid appeared first on CSS-Tricks.